We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing short break”
other travellers have booked this property
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Second Dining Room with Fireplace Main Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Hand Built Kitchen And Stove
Second Dining Room with Fireplace
Main Living Room
Living Room Leading On To Patio
Dining Room One/Snug And Stove
Dining Room One/Snug
Double Bedroom Two
Double Bedroom Two
Twin Bedroom Three
Bunk Bed Room Four
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Looking Out Onto The Garden
Master Bedroom One En-Suite
Annexe Bedroom Five
Rosemary Cottage Front Elevation
View From The Garden Across To The Village Cricket Pitch In The Distance
View From The Master Bedroom Across The Gardens
View Up To The Rear Elevation Of Cottage From The Cottage From The Garden
View Down The Gardens
The Pergola - Perfect For Contemplation Time!
View Down The Garden Through The Lilac Tree
View Of The Patio From The Kitchen, Leading Out To The Gardens
Part Of The Annexe
View Of The Gardens From The Master Bedroom
View Across The Gardens To The Ancient Village Church
Garden In July 2016
Back garden looking up to the main house - July 2016
Patio Area - July 2016
Jasmine Clad Summer House In The Back Garden - July 2016
View From The Master Bedroom - July 2016
View Of The Village Church From The Back Garden - July 2016
View Up To The Main House From The Back Garden - July 2016
Main Patio - July 2016
Back Garden - July 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Instow, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Westies7
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing short break”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our party of 4 adults & 3 dogs had a wonderful 3 night stay in this lovely, clean & welcoming cottage, and found the owners very helpful & communicative in the run up to our break. There is lots of information provided about places to visit which is useful if looking for something to do. We couldn't find a visitors' book though, which was a shame as often guests leave some ideas or suggestions worth investigation.
The cottage is in very easy reach of the Tarka trail, which was our main reason for our break. There is a bus stop at the end of the road so we took the bus to Barnstaple & walked the 8 miles back, then the next day went to Torrington to do the same. Wore us and the dogs out rather nicely! Great to then come back to a beautiful secure garden to enjoy the late afternoon sunshine. Also enjoyed watching the beautiful sunsets behind the church from the bedroom window...stunning!
We had everything we needed in the cottage, with a welcome pack including some milk as well as some rather nice scones with cream & jam...a very nice touch.

Unfortunately I hadn't noticed the comments in the reviews about the steep stairs with no handrail before we booked the cottage so, although I understand the reasons for this, it would maybe be an idea to add this to the description as could be a big issue for those like myself with limited mobility. Thankfully I was feeling fit for the time we were there, otherwise I would have asked to use the annexe (usually only for use by parties of more than 8), but I'm sure the helpful owners would have had no problem with this.
One other suggestion would be to put a bedside lamp in the 2nd double room so that if you want to read in bed you don't then need to get up to switch off the light. Just a simple thing but very helpful.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay in Rosemary Cottage & would definitely recommend, so thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We've noted your comment regarding another bedside lamp and will get that fixed. The annexe is of course free to use for all guests, and we encourage everybody to make themselves feel at home by exploring all of the property, not just the main cottage. The annexe is ideal for those with limited mobility as it's accessible from level ground, and felt that this was a good option for those that might struggle with the short flight of stairs in the main building, when we planned the layout. We are very sorry if the message didn't filter down that you were welcome to use it. We would love you to return at any time. Best wishes
Andrea and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage in a great location .”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely week, house was clean , tidy and lovely .In a great location , close by to all attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write your fabulous review. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
What a wonderful review - thank you so much. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Rosemary Cottage and you are welcome back any time. Best wishes
Andrea & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plippy67
Herts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Retreat for New Year Break”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There were 10 of us for a New Year break plus 2 dogs so we used the cottage at capacity! There was everything we needed for the perfect relaxing break. Our cars were parked up after arriving and we walked everywhere including into Bideford and Instow - wearing the dogs and us out! Perfect start to 2017 - hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
So glad you had a lovely New Year in Rosemary Cottage. Part of the reason we fell in love with it all those years ago now was that you could walk everywhere but still feel that you were away from it all too. You are welcome back any time. Many thanks and best wishes
Tony and Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseAnn...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Christmas break”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Once again a fabulous stay at this beautiful cottage.

The owners had placed a full sized Christmas tree to make our stay even more enjoyable with our small children.

They have upgraded their TV since we were last there & the house & garden was very clean and tidy throughout, as always.

The cottage is always a pleasure to stay in & we looking forward to visiting it again in 2017.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
You are always very welcome at Rosemary Cottage. Thanks again
Tony and Andrea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T
1 review
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We are a family of 4 with two young children and stayed at Rosemary Cottage in Westleigh in early October.
We loved every second of our trip and thought the very safe and beautifully maintained garden that was fenced in on all sides, a lovely patio and stair gates on the two children's bedrooms made it absolutely ideal for us. The furnishings were all superb with lots of comfy chairs and a really well stocked kitchen. The little touches like buckets and spades for the children, BBQ, books, DVDs and so on made it extra special. The area and village itself are a delight and I would highly recommend Rosemary Cottage to families with children, with maybe grandparents too as there is loads of space. 5 stars.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a super review. Our own children spent many years enjoying Rosemary Cottage - so we are delighted yours have too. Thanks for the lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CazzyBnow
1 review
“A wonderful place by the sea.”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just had a wonderful stay at Rosemary Cottage. Accommodation was beautifully comfortable and well presented with fantastic views over the gardens and beyond. Peaceful location within easy walking distance of pubs, restaurants and lovely beach in Instow. My family and I would highly recommend Rosemary Cottage for a wonderful holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
What a super review. We are so glad you love it as much as we do. Thanks for taking the time to let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing