We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tower Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hazelwood House(Loddiswell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
101
38
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
38
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusselsthe pubwine listqueens armsbeer festivalspecials boardsunday roastsea basshidden gembeautiful villagedelightful stafffrench chefquick pintlovely tablecandle lit tablesthe room was nicehogs pudding
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We visited the Tower pub yesterday to celebrate my parents 53rd wedding anniversary and we were so pleased that we did. The welcome that we received from the young barman was so friendly and the choice of food on the lunchtime menu was excellent. Some of us chose to have the stovie which was delicious, as were the thai fish cakes. The pub has a large amount of character and the staff and food make this a special place to visit. We will definatly come back again when we are in the area.
It is up a narrow lane that is very tight, but it is possible to park in the village and walk up the short lane to it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma-Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Just the place for a Great Lunch, Friendly Staff with Good Service.
Will return next time in South Devon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We visited the Tower Inn on Halloween lunchtime and found it nicely decorated, presumably in anticipation of a busy evening ahead. We had good memories of a lovely evening meal a few years ago. However on this occasion we left disappointed. The blackboard proclaimed 'field mushroom soup' as the soup of the day. Well I ordered it and although pleasant enough it certainly wasn't mushroom! My husband had sandwiches and the bread was so thick he could hardly taste the filling. Plus he had some very limp salad with it that had certainly seen better days. Also he was given a dirty fork to eat it with and his pint of beer was cloudy with bits in it. We would have mentioned these things but nobody even came and asked if everything was OK even though the pub was virtually empty, so all in all I'm not sure if we'll bother going back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We booked in Tower Inn at the last moment, we have been travelling around Dorset & Devon and wanted to extend our week's holiday by 1 more night. We were not disappointed. The location of the accomodation has changed from 23 years ago, instead of above the pub, it was to the side, the room was nicely decorated and bed comfortable, brought back a lot of memories. Rooms now have en-suites.

We decided to have an evening meal at the Tower Inn instead of driving to another pub which we intended to do before we arrived, the meal was excellent, the beer also very good. The staff looked after us very well. The breakfast was also excellent and substantial. Thank you Tower Inn.

A couple of points, careful when driving into the Tower Inn, a little tight! Easier to drive out. Small overcharge on the evening meal, but this didn't spoil our experience. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you can, room 1 at front of property overlooks the village, but understand the bedrooms at the back face over the garden, would have liked to have seen the view from these.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Eating in a group of eleven for an anniversary party we were exceptionally well pampered by the friendly staff. From the excellent draught beer to the well presented, tasty food, I find it hard to find fault with this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews