We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Hotel(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Hotel(Bigbury-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burgh Island Hotel(Burgh Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hazelwood House(Loddiswell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
127
23
11
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
23
11
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshope covetoilet blockexcellent campsiteclean facilitiesfresh croissantsevery morninglovely sitecamping tripunder canvascamp shopsummer holidaystail endhighly recommend this sitefacilities includinggreat campingpain au chocolatesee you next year
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The site is fantastic and the location is great. facilities a little dated as you have to queue because there is only one family shower room, Would be better with more !

Easy access for travel to Hope Cove and other villages.

The site is well Run and Phil the owner is great however !

When we went the weather was very hot, picking up a couple of bottles of wine I put them wrapped in a bag in the chest freezer for ice blocks to cool while I had a shower. Shower finished I returned to collect the bottles and they were gone. walked to the shop thinking they had been taken (stolen) and collected 2 more bottles from the shop. I just mentioned in passing about the missing bottles to find the owners wife appear, tear me of a strip embarrassingly in front of a packed shop, and she then dropped the bottles at my feet and walked away.

This impression will stay with me forever and to say that I was embarrassed and upset is nothing.

Will NOT be returning.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank reedy10006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are seriously suspicious of this review for 2 reasons-
1. we have no recollection whatsoever of the incident.
2. the review is 11 months out of date.
However, our freezers are provided free of charge for the freezing of ice blocks only and are clearly marked as such. On the rare occasion that fresh produce such as raw fish or alcohol are placed in them and we notice them as we are cleaning, they are removed. Fresh raw meat and fish contaminate other guests ice blocks and liquids can explode causing a terrible mess to others property. Any alcohol placed in the freezers would be too easily accessible to young people, under 18, of which we have many staying at Karrageen at any time.
we are very pleased that you found the site fantastic and very surprised that you found the facilities dated. Our toilet block was completely refurbished and a second unisex shower room added to the already plentiful facilities during the winter of 2011/12.
Hence, again, our suspicions of this particular reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a great 10 days in Devon camping on this site. Had a lovely pitch near the bottom which provided some much needed shade in temperatures that hit 30c.

The campsite is very clean and tidy and the owners take a lot of time and effort making it look nice for everyone. The showers are great and not to hot and you hardly ever have to wait - the 20p shower charge also means that people do not spend hours having a wash!

Room Tip: Bottom pitches a bit of walk to toilets but much quieter
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank abigail270101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us again! Thanks for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent Campsite! Fantastic location, very spacious and family friendly campsite with many private/cosy pitches all brilliantly kept. Some of the best campsite shower blocks I've seen, but then a 4 min shower is 40p. Although it's at the upper price scale, £26.60/night for 2 adults with a med tent.(including showers)

The only downside was the welcome/grumpiness of the lady in reception. A welcome should be nothing but polite and warm, no exceptions.

This aside an excellent campsite in a stunning location.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Darren, I am so pleased that you enjoyed our campsite.
I have to admit that I am not at my best when customers arrive at 10,.15pm at night with no warning that they are running late and they are only travelling from Exeter which is just one hours drive from us. Our latest check in time, which is clearly advertised is 9.00pm. This is not only for our sake, as we run the site personally and work long hours in the summer, but also for the comfort of others already camped on the park.
A small family run campsite is not the same as a hotel where you can easily arrive at any time of the day or night knowing that night staff are there to receive you and that you can go to your room safe in the knowledge that you are not disturbing other guests in other rooms.
So I am sorry if you found me to be a little grumpy but I would probably be the same again unless you had a valid reason for being late, and not just being inconsiderate.
We did, however, let you pitch so it is rather a shame that you feel the need to vent your frustrations through a review site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great time @this camping park in devon.
Everything was ok, a great location within nature.
thanks Phil for the service and we ´ll be for sure back soon.
Nice weather and nice food, this was a perfect holiday

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Geert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, Owner at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. It would be lovely to see you all again another year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting overlooking fields and sea (from afar) and clean, modern facilities make this brilliantly small campsite a great place to explore Salcombe (try the Victoria Inn near the quay for supper) Family shower room a great idea and showers clean and warm. Bonus feature was delicious home-cooked pastries u can order for breakfast. Only down side was reception not open as long or as late as some other places

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazzyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews