We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in the South Hams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Charleton Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Charleton Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven in the South Hams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just returned from a week at West Charleton Grange and what a find this gem is. All you require is there and if it's not, the hosts Hazel & John will go out of their way to get it. The 6 cottages are immaculate, spotlessly clean and well equipped. (I know beause I was shown some of the others)
Thoughtful items include baby proof gates at the top of stairs and not only Freesat but also DVD players and a selection of books as well
The indoor swimming pool was excellent and I thought just the right temperature. Didn't get to use the tennis court, table tennis or the barbeque. The information packs have loads of information about the local area together with suggestions for dining or places to visit.
Excellent walking on the nearby S Devon coast path and there is excellent bird-watching in the area (found a cirl bunting!!) The Millbrook at South Pool is well worth a visit as is the Pigs Nose at East Prawle
I cannot recommend this place high enough; it would be ideal for children as it is well away from any traffic at all and is equally well supplied with toys and childrens books. It is not particularly cheap but you get what you pay for. This is the top end of the market and long may it remain so. Praises to Hazel, John & Sam (not forgetting Otto & Clyde)
I will definitely be back next year (already sorted)

Room Tip: Colby is nearer the playground and has a nice terrace Tickell, Twisden & Pypard have slightly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The three of us really enjoyed our October half term break at Pypard Cottage. Hazel and John, the hosts are perfect. They are laid back and relaxed, have good suggestions on where to go and run a good ship! When we arrived at our cottage we found a lovely vase of flowers and a bottle of wine to welcome us - we were able to settle in before we met our hosts which is something we all appreciated.

Our cottage was lovely but it was a little cramped downstairs whilst the living room was big it was a real shame that you could not take in the spectacular view that was on offer from the very comfortable sofas. The cottages next door to ours had bay-type windows and we were envious that we were not in one of those!

The pool and the outdoor activities were excellent and enjoyed on a daily basis - my son is 9 and whilst the wendy house and garden did not tempt him, the pool, basketball net and table tennis certainly did. The grounds are immaculate and you really feel like you are away from everything as it is quiet and even though the complex was almost fully occupied it was rare to see anyone else so you felt like you had the place to yourself.

Staying here is expensive and so expectations are high and for the most part, Charleton does deliver but there were some things that irked me. There was a lovely kitchen but basics such as salt and pepper were not provided - annoying as I expected there to be, did not take any, then had to go out and buy it - you really do have to bring everything if you are intending to self cater. A basket of wood is provided (and you can help yourself to the wood shed when you run out) but only 2 firelighters are supplied for a weeks stay in October (when it was cold!!). If you are a novice firestarter like me, you need firelighters! Soap (very lovely soap too) is the only thing provided in the bathrooms whereas I was expecting shower gels and shampoo etc. I felt like it was all a bit bare minimum and I guess because I expected all of the things I have mentioned to be there (given the standard and description of the cottage) I was annoyed that I then had to go out and get it all. Small things I know but still annoying!

We did so much in our week here and saw so many beautiful places - Charleton is perfectly placed for exploring the area as everything is reached very quickly and easily. Kingsbridge, the local town has everything you need food wise - lots of lovely independent shops and a great deli called mange tout.

Would love to come back to the area again.

Room Tip: go for a cottage with a bay window - get one bigger than you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blakeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We've just come back from a fantastic week in Devon staying here - in the West Wing. You knew you had arrived somewhere great when you're greeted by the owner - Hazel - who says that your Waitrose food delivery arrived before us but not to worry as everything had been put away in the 'cottage' for us and she had signed for the delivery. One less thing to have to worry about. But then that is typical of this place. Like the phone call the day before we arrived to make sure that we had everything we needed.

The West Wing - and actually the whole property - is a really lovely blend for adults and children alike. The accommodation is gorgeous and rally well appointed to make you feel like you were at a luxury place. Lovely furniture and soft furnishings, power showers, etc, etc. But there is also loads to do for children, including swimming pool, a 'short' tennis court, swings and slides and even a 'Den' where my 2.5 year old discovered lots of toy cars and things to play with. They even recommended a fabulous baby sitter so we could go out one night for dinner and not have to worry.

If I was going to fault this place - and you'd have to try really really hard to find something - I just wish the pool had been a couple of degrees warmer so that my son could have spent even longer in the pool. But that's minor. We very much hope to be back next year. Thanks Hazel for a great family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here with three generations and all had a fantastic time. They have thought of everything which makes it easy to just turn up and start your holiday. Kitchen is well equipped (including food for 1st 24 hours if required), and there is loads of toys (indoor and outdoor) for the kids. Lovely walks in the gardens and beyond.

Something for everyone

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpeates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Heading home to Wales after a perfect week in Granary Cottage at West Charleton Grange. Although tiny it was a gem of a place, with everything you could possibly need thoughtfully provided. Hazel was the perfect host, friendly and knowledgable; our two year old had her first real beach visit (Blackpool Sands) on Hazel's recommendation, and loved it!
Travel cot, high chair and stair gate all provided, and the beautiful grounds are perfect for playing. But the icing on the cake was the indoor pool, ideal for rainy days and almost always deserted.
I would recommend West Charleton Grange to anyone who wants a little bit of luxury in the beautiful South Devon countryside; nicely tucked away but also close to lots of wonderful beaches with plenty to do.
We hope to return soon and stay in one of the larger cottages which looked even more special than ours, spacious and luxurious. In fact I could quite happily live there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just spent a lovely family holiday in Twysden Cottage. It's a 3 bedroom cottage with the bedrooms on the ground floor and the living space upstairs so you can enjoy the beautiful views from the living room window. The bedrooms are compact but good and the upstairs is light, airy and open plan. The kitchen is very well equipped plus high chair and travel cot provided. You are a short drive to a number of great beaches but the best part of the holiday was when it rained we could walk to the indoor pool, which the kids loved. The shared out door space is fabulous with a den, wendy house, shed full of trikes etc. Free Wi Fi was a bonus which is great for browsing the web but not quite up to streaming BBC iPlayer. All in all a great find of a place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed in one of the 6 self-catering cottages at West Charlton Grange for 4 nights over New Years Eve and would highly recommend it.

Colby Cottage (sleeps 4 - double and twin) was stylishly decorated, had a wood burning fire, both bedrooms had en-suites and kitted out with all your home comforts and more! Was also kiddy friendly with highchairs, bed guards, cutlery/crockery sets provided as well as a built-in stair gate (although our 2 and a half year old could open this so more suited for a younger child). There was an indoor pool in the grounds, and every time we used it we had it to ourselves which was lovely.

Long beach walks, country pubs and generally taking in lots of fresh air filled our time as well as having fun on the grounds and making use of the play area/wendy house/bikes/scooters etc provided.

The owners were fantastic, providing lots of local information and enabling me to have a supermarket order delivered within an hour of arrival so we didn't have to spend any of our holiday in the supermarket. We also took up the offer of having one of the team, Sam, provide us with a 4 course meal which we enjoyed in the cottage on New Years Eve - it only required us to serve some courses straight from the fridge or to heat other courses through. A great way to make a night in the cottage extra special and perfect for any celebration! Lovely stay, hope to be back again soon. Highly recommend a visit to West Charlton Grange.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
2.5 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#1 of 34 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Charleton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Charleton Grange

Property: West Charleton Grange
Address: Church Lane | West Charleton, Kingsbridge TQ7 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
West Charleton Grange Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing