We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* owners, quality and scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pollardscombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollardscombe Farm
Ranked #21 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“5* owners, quality and scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and I have stayed at this stunning retreat a couple of times now and both times we could not have asked for more. We stayed in the main farmhouse as B&B guests and were greeted by Lisa, who is the most kind and hospitable lady I think I have ever met. During both stays, she went above and beyond to make sure we had everything that we needed and more! The rooms were made up to an immaculate standard with all the amenities we could have wanted. On one of the evenings, Alan (Lisa's husband) even gave us a lift to the local pub so we could have a few glasses of wine with our delicious meal. The house is surrounded by the beautiful Devonshire countryside with some great beaches nearby - we enjoyed seeing the shire horses and the cattle too!

All in all, this was a fantastic stay and we will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay in the lovely Owlecombe cottage. This was our third visit to this cottage and at least our seventh stay at Pollardscombe Farm B & B. We have always enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend staying here. Lisa and Alan go out of their way to make you welcome. Lisa even provides a welcome pack consisting of a homemade cake, fresh eggs and milk and juice. For peace and quiet in delightful surroundings and amazing hosts this place is difficult to beat. We will certainly return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed last weekend at Pollardscombe Farm and it was everything we needed! Really cosy and warm, and the couple that ran it made us feel really at home and were incredibly helpful throughout our stay. We also had the best cooked breakfast each morning with locally sourced produce - some of this came straight from the B&B's own farm!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We went to this farmhouse by chance. We googled and we found it. The best discovery ever. This farmhouse is a gem and it is run by a wonderful couple, Lisa and Alan, who bent over backwards to make your stay memorable. Our children loved it. Alan showed them around and Lisa spoiled them.

Rooms: spacious, immaculate with a five-star bathroom (bathrobe + slippers). Astonishing attention to every detail. Cole & Lewis Soap. Water, fruits and tee/coffee always available - at night, you will find fresh milk on the landing for you!!!

Breakfast: copious and delicious (porridge, home-made sausages, scrambled eggs, black pudding, scones, granola, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, home-made jams - oranges and raspberry). Coffee is very good as so is tea.

Tea: in the afternoon, when you are back from your sightseeing, a fresh pot of tea waits for you, along with fresh scones and other food temptations.

Given the quality on offer, the price is very reasonable!!

Two other suggestions:

For a quick snack, better go to the Queen's arm (a family run pub with a good, albeit limited, menu).

For a very good dinner (mainly fish), go straight to the Cricket-Inn (Beesands).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Once found, this farmhouse in deepest Devon, just on the outskirsts of Slapton near Dartmouth, is a real gem!
The views are of typical Devon and the bedrooms are large and very comfortable, the Devonshire cream tea and home-made cakes that Lisa provides are scrumptious.
This holiday is really very relaxing with lots to to nearby, we recommend the round robin trip of ferry-steam train-bus-boat to Paignton and back to Dartmouth.
You must try theTower Inn at Slapton and The Cricket Inn at Beesands if you like seafood, the lobster was superb!
Thanks Lisa and Alan for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just got back from a lovely stay at Pollardscombe Farm. Have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but we wanted to share our positive experience, to make sure others don't overlook this hidden gem! We stayed in the Rose Room: lovely accommodation, exceptionally comfortable and charming. Breakfast is very high quality, homecooked and lovingly presented- Lisa really goes out of her way to make it special. If you are lucky enough she may even have some duck eggs straight from the farm for you to try.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Without doubt a wonderful place! We stayed in the converted Dairy Parlour (19/9 to 26/9/11) with our 6 month old daughter. The accommodation was immaculately clean, it was beautifully renovated and really was home from home. It was spacious and was well furnished and equipped (for adults and for baby!), it really did have everything we needed. My husband was delighted at how large and comfortable the King-size bed was as he is 6'4". We had the best cooked breakfast we have ever had in the farm house as a treat one of the mornings we were there. Lisa does everything she can to make visitors feel welcome, fresh eggs and a lovely homemade cake were there to greet us on our arrival! Both Lisa and her husband Alan are very genuine, hardworking and friendly. I did a farm walk with Alan one morning and he is passionate about his animals and his way of life. We were very impressed with everything and had such a lovely week we are going back next year. My parents have stayed in Owlacombe Cottage which is also on the farm, my mother, who is very fussy described it as 'gorgeous'. We have done a huge amount of travelling around the British Isles in the 10 years we spent together before our daughter was born and I can honestly say that Pollardscombe Farm is one of our top 3 places! We can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingsbridge hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#1 of 34 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#18 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burton Farmhouse
Burton Farmhouse
#30 of 34 in Kingsbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#5 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#14 of 34 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tilly Cottage
Tilly Cottage
#32 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollardscombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollardscombe Farm

Property: Pollardscombe Farm
Address: Slapton, Kingsbridge TQ7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pollardscombe Farm is a peaceful retreat for those wishing to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It is convenient for many countryside and coastal walks as well as being close to stunning beaches. Dartmouth, Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Dartmoor are all within easy reach for visits. The quiet village of Slapton is approximately one mile away. There are two traditional pubs, a Thirteenth Century church and a village store stocking most day to day requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollardscombe Farm Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing