We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely cottage, great location in a superb part...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
A stylish bijou hideaway cottage, flooded with light through floor-to-ceiling windows With its own sunny private garden and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
87 reviews
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
A stylish bijou hideaway cottage, flooded with light through floor-to-ceiling windows
With its own sunny private garden and barbecue
A woodburner keeps things snug on the coldest winter evenings
While crisp cottons ensure a blissful night's sleep whatever the season
A complimentary basket of local goods awaits your arrival
Everywhere you look, oak and slate add a touch of luxury
Original contemporary art adorns the walls
There's a compact but fully equipped kitchen
A comfy leather sofa positively invites lounging
Find your own private hideaway in our 13 acres of pasture, orchards, and gardens
From the end of the garden there are views southeast to the sea at Beesands
Meet the piglets!
Enjoy close encounters of the horsey kind
The famous Devon Coast Path offers miles of wonderful walks
Where the views are never the same two days in a row
There's a magical air about the place at the beginning and end of the day
Beesands looks wonderful in winter sunshine
Enjoy woodland walks under ancient elms
The Cotmore chickens range far and wide, to bring you fresh eggs for breakfast
Misty autumn morning view from Rose Cottage
October sunrise at Cotmore Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derek D
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location in a superb part of Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Even if the weather had not been so perfect, we would still have loved this part of Devon. So much to do and see, we were spoilt for choice but we enjoyed a mixture of cycling (well - cycling down the hills and walking up the next one!!), walking and exploring the beaches, countryside and eateries. All very good. Our favourite eating place with it’s idyllic spot to sit out and enjoy a drink first was the Tradesman’s Arms at Stokenham.

As for Rose Cottage, perfect for us and we loved it, inside and out, so comfy and private. Outside, the garden is just super and the bank of flowers and shrubs/trees etc was a work of art and of course the views were superb. We would love to come back one day

Thank you so much Piers and Sue for making us so welcome and of course our two cats, who seemed to love to visit you too!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Rose Cottage, the garden, the friendly and helpful owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orientgir...
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Second time we have stayed at Rose Cottage and still loved it. Very peaceful. Owners Piers and Sue very friendly and helpful. Jack the dog very friendly also to our chocolate labrador Meg! There is a basket with goodies on arrival which is so lovely and thoughtful. You can get your own freshly laid eggs in the morning which taste wonderful - and bright yellow yolk which makes a nice change. We know the area very well so only go to the places we like - Dartmouth, Kingsbridge, South Pool - a lovely pub there that serves great food - Slapton and Torcross and Beesands. The storms have spoilt some of the South Hams but it is still a great place to visit. I thoroughly recommend Rose Cottage for a peaceful holiday that has all the amenities you need. We will definitely go back for a third time!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It's all lovely.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian P
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We're definitely coming back for a third time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Rose Cottage in March. It was our second visit to Rose Cottage and so we planned to have a spring break to recharge our batteries. We took plenty of books for rainy days, and went for lots of walks in the local area, including the coast and Kingsbridge, It's ideally situated for a very relaxing holiday and the farm is in a lovely location.
There's the benefit of the log burner on cool evenings and you have everything you need with the excellent welcome pack of local goods. Thanks Piers, we'll be back again soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and amenities at the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian42...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the Barn at Cotmore Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay, spacious, well equipped and a great location. The welcome pack is luxurious and the bacon, sausages and eggs from the farm are the best we ever tasted. The visitor book is a mine of information about the area with lots of recommendations of places to visit or eat at. We hope to go again and will expect Piers to arrange the same wonderful weather we had this time!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger t
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming well furnished cottage in a delightful area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well presented , spotless and comfortable, with every convenience present. The local produce welcome pack was a surprise and delicious , the eggs being produced on the farm by the free range chickens. The enclosed garden is a sun trap having views across the fields to the sea. The owners were very welcoming and are always "on hand" if any help is needed. The local walks down traditional Devon lanes are a joy and not to be missed. The local pubs serve traditional beer and very god food specialising in fish caught locally in Start Bay. The larger surrounding towns such as Dartmouth , Kingsbridge and Totnes are well worth a visit. Thanks to Piers and Sue for a lovely holiday

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable cottage on farm with horses, rare breed chickens and pigs plus Jack the dog. Eggs, bacon & sausages - delicious! Hosts Piers & Sue very helpful when needed and Bonnie, our chocolate Labrador was welcomed everywhere we went locally. My sister recommended Rose Cottage and we were so glad she did. This was a little known area of Devon for us and it was a joy. Enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders in the garden. Truly a haven. Be aware that some of the roads are very narrow!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location & the good quality facilities in the cottage
Liked least: We cannot say there was anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12T2014
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for two.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very friendly hosts on site, available if needed but not at all intrusive. Very quiet and tranquil location. The cottage has a sun-trap patio, overlooking rolling Devon hills - perfect to relax in before and after exploring the local area. Accommodation was spacious and contained everything needed for a self-catering holiday. The eggs from the farm's chickens were the best we have tasted - we would return for those alone!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing