We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munchybox Cafe

Munchybox Cafe
Ranked #28 of 61 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We found this gem and wondered why so quiet but after tasting the food for the whole family i just had to share to spread the word.Best for miles. Smiles all round in the Crowthers. Keep it up munchybox. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bradtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exellent food, great staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myself and my parents have been here several times over the last year or so when we visit Kingsbridge from Plymouth. Always a delight to eat here. The staff are just lovely, incredibly efficient and friendly. The food is outstandingly good value, well cooked and generous portions. I don't normally eat dessert of a lunchtime but the desserts here are irresistible! I recently had the seasonal crumble which came with a delightful little mug of custard - again, generous portions and incredible value. The café is very clean with a lovely welcoming atmosphere. I look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SARAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“value for money. great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love the Munchybox! We go in here quite often for a meal. Plenty of choice on the menu. traditional classics such as lasange and cottage pie, all day breakfast, and a wide selection of desserts.

Prices are very reasonable for the food you receive. The portions are great. Not stingy. Think the potato on my cottage pie might have been 'smash' but that would be my only slight moan. Service is always quick and friendly.

Like the decor. American diner style. Very fetching.

I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ythal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munchybox_Cafe, Owner at Munchybox Cafe, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi, thanks for such a positive review, it is much appreciated when people take the time to come and type up their reviews and feedback.

As regards the mashed potatoes, we can assure you they are not "smash" or anything other than potatoes grown just up the road at Lidstones Farms Galmpton. Perhaps one of the chefs got a bit over enthusiastic with the potato masher on the day you ate there, we have noted it and will keep an eye on it.

Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Ordered a takeaway evening meal. Friendly Staff, and in general food was good, especially the delicious burgers. Alongside our burgers we ordered nachos. I am a big fan of nachos in general, but i was a little dissapointed; they used cheese flavoured chips (personally i think the chips should be plain/salted) and there wasn't much cheese. On the plus side each portion came with three dips, guacamole, salsa and cream. The guacamole was good and so was the salsa, but the cream would have been nicer if it was sour cream.

In summary, the food was good (in price as well) and it seems like a really nice cafe. With regards to the nachos I would definitely be prepared to pay a bit more if it meant the few improvements above.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munchybox_Cafe, Owner at Munchybox Cafe, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Jacob, thank you for the general thumbs up.

Re, the 'cheese' nachos, you'll be pleased to know our nacho's are now plain (seasoned only), there is a full ladle of freshly melted cheese on every portion served, I can't think why you received "not much cheese" sorry about that.

The cream is in fact Creme fraiche, a slightly less sour but more acidic/tart version of sour cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is a must for Kingsbridge visitors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Quite by chance my Wife and I visited Munchybox cafe this afternoon.
We had their "Roast of the day". The meal, Pork with crackling, beautiful fresh vegetables
together with excellent gravy and apple sauce, was the best roast meal we have eaten
away from home. It was an absolutely first class meal.
The Cafe was spotlessly clean, staff were friendly and very attentive. We felt very welcome.
This was an inexpensive meal of quality.
We will most certainly return.
We have no hesitation in recommending this excellent venue.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roywillis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munchybox Cafe also viewed

Kingsbridge, Devon
 
Kingsbridge, Devon
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to Munchybox Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing