We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kerala Delicacies

Kerala Delicacies
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Curry king is now known as " KERALA DELICACIES" under same management.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I'd had a long day after a flight back from Europe and 4.5 hour journey on the train from Gatwick... and had been dreaming of a curry supper. I had heard of the Kerala restaurant in Kingsbridge as it's a hidden gem... just next to the Reel Cinema. To my surprise the menu was quite different from your normal curry house .. e.g. I've never seen a 'Dosa' on the menu.. (an Indian stuffed pancake) .. The food arrived and whilst expectedly spiced it wasn't greasy.. The flavours were clean and fresh... And didn't sit heavily on my tum.. I really enjoyed my meal.. Especially as it had a different take on Indian cuisine as the chef comes from Southern India, rather than the more usual Northern Indian fair. Well done and thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dargirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    45
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge Devon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A real jewel in Kingsbridge. Excellent food, lovely ambiance, so glad we tried it. Definitely be back again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best South Indian experience this side of the Home Counties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

With the most welcoming and attentive, but totally unobtrusive customer service, this is truly an Indian restaurant which is a "must" visit.

The well thought-out menu provides a range of authentic Southern Indian delicacies which are constructed from the very best and freshest ingredients. Hugely important is their attention to detail and the restaurant is immaculate throughout.

We find ourselves returning again and again to experience every delight on the menu. Incredibly good value for money, portions are wonderfully generous but not overwhelming.

Owners Manoj and Maya John are gifted in every aspect of their operation - nothing is too much trouble - and their genuineness and integrity make the opportunity to dine in their establishment something to look forward to with enthusiasm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skerrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightfully Different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have never been a great fan of Indian food in general, but Kerala has opened my eyes to a whole new level of Indian cuisine. And I am now converted! Delicious, delicate and freshly cooked with great care. The food is authentic, attractively presented and all served in a friendly atmosphere. And reasonably priced as well! Highly recommended but suggest booking a table in advance to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Excellent and different take away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Can only vouch for take away, menu short but different, a couple of excellent and different dishes to standard Indian dishes, healthy doses of coconut, tamarind and black pepper with pork dishes also present.
Didn't leave you feeling uncomfortably full after eating as much lighter and fresher with less ghee.
Certainly a good take away

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodychester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kerala Delicacies also viewed

 

Been to Kerala Delicacies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing