We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in a peaceful location not far...”
other travellers have booked this property
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Sitting Room Morning Sunshine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Sitting Room
Morning Sunshine
Woodburner Warmth (plus central heating!)
Path to the Garden
Bedroom 2
Your village (this picture taken 50 yards from 3 Gabberwell Cottages)
Looking Out
Play in the Attic
A Nearby Walk
Gabberwell Cottages
Detail from one of the bathrooms - a walk in wetroom
The Pub (600 yards stroll from the Cottage - or has a car park if it's raining!)
Window detail
A Stroll away
Garden
Bedroom 3
Morning sunshine
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Recreation on the Water
View of Garden from the Private Parking Area
world class coast and breathtaking walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucinda F
1 review
“Delightful cottage in a peaceful location not far from the beach.”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really appreciated the very attractive décor, soft colours and pretty fabrics/linen, not to mention the thoughtful welcome tray, super comfortable beds and the very effective wood-burner.
It was the perfect stay and the perfect location for a much needed break. We would really like to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward very much to you visiting us again in the future! Thank you again.
John and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerak48
2 reviews
“Lovely Accommodation and area”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Super equipped cottage. Very efficient booking process and excellent communication with owners.
Had a lovely weeks holiday. Ideal location for walking which suited our two Dogs and kids! Also short drives to other beaches. Narrow roads in and out of the village took a little getting used to but hardly saw a car on them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
We're really pleased you had a lovely weeks holiday, and that you found the location was ideal for family and your pets! It's really kind of you to write a review, thank you so much. Hope you may visit again one day! John and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great corner of Devon”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cosy cottage in lovely village, within walking distance of beautiful quiet beaches on the Erme Estuary and short driving distance to other lovely beaches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your review. Succinct and beautifully-worded summary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpilcher2...
Fareham
2 reviews
“Ideal place to chill out and relax”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Cottage has all that you need in a rural location. Adequate room for two car off road parking. Lovely walk to the beach (which is just over a mile) through the countryside and woods. Nicely located for visiting the local places of attraction

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed the location and found the cottage to your liking. We really appreciate your kind comments, and thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review.
Kind regards, John and Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pet friendly cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gabberwell cottage is situated in the lovely village of Kingston and is
1 mile from Wonwell beach. The Cottage itself was more than adequate for the 2 of us and our 2 small dogs​ and also had its own parking and garden.
There are walks to Westcombe beach and Wonwell, we only went to Wonwell and found that a steep climb back so drove the other times we went however the beach was great for the dogs!

There is also a dog friendly pub in the village which was a bonus. The only downside, but the reason why the village is unspoilt, is that it is a little way off the beaten track and so be prepared for those narrow Devon roads having said that we enjoyed our stay and would rent again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Many thanks for your review, we are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and would rent again. We agree that Wonwell beach is lovely, but recommend that next time, you must try also to include Westcombe Beach and Ayrmer Bay and some of the other exquisite little coves and shores on the stunning South West coast path, all within walking distance of the cottage. We know what you mean about the narrow winding Devon lanes and being well away from the main roads. This is, as you say, part of their tranquil charm and appeal, and one of the reasons why it's frequently possible to stroll peacefully around in Kingston and nearby villages without ever seeing even a single moving vehicle!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljo57
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cosy cottage in fab location”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent 5 nights at 3 Gabberwell Cottages over new year and had a fantastic break.

The cottage is super cosy and very well equipped. The kids particularly loved the attic room. The village is a perfect location from which to walk to several nearby beaches and The Dolphin Inn is a good place for decent pub grub and local ales.

Communication from the owner, John, was prompt, courteous and clear with loads of info provided about things to do in the area.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break, and were able to launch the new year in the most positive manner possible, by taking full advantage of this beautiful part of the world, with its gorgeous coastal and woodland scenery, picture-postcard historic villages and stunning natural beaches. We very much hope you will be returning in the not too distant future. With Best wishes, John and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had a good Christmas, and we wish you and your family a very happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing