We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Maha-Bharat Indian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Kingsbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Devons best authentic Bengali & Indian cuisine. Our multi award winning Indian restaurant offers authentic, high quality Bengali and Indian cuisine in the heart of Kingsbridge in South Hams. Our secret lies within the alchemy of quality herbs and spices cooked with the finest range of meats and vegetables. We also offer a takeaway/collection service and delivery within 7 mile radius of Kingsbridge. Established since 1992!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing meal here two weeks ago, the food was the best curry I've had in a long time! Staff so friendly and obliging . I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone. The fish curry in particular ! Thanks once again to the helpful staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrdexter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    47
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Indian Restaurant in Devon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We ordered a take away meal for delivery and almost 2 hours later, after 3 calls to chase it, it finally arrived (regrettably we did at this point pay for it). The food was terrible. The vegetarian samosas contained meat, the vegetarian biryani contained prawns, the Chicken Tikka Masala was florescent red (not just Tandoori Red even if they had got the order wrong), and the lamb madras was the worst I have ever tasted (and I've tasted quite a few). On the plus side the papadoms were fine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is by far one of the best Indian resaurants I have visited, food very good staff were also very good the decor was superb wished it was our local Indian resaurant.
Margaret

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have eaten here on many occasions the food is superb the service is excellent and the staff make u feel so welcome

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take Away Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We regularly have a take-away at the end of a busy week and can honestly say that the food is really good from this restaurant plus there is plenty of it.
My only criticism would be that on the last 4 occasions we have had something missing from our order which is only discovered by the time we get home (either rice or naan) which is disappointing when you then have to cook your own (its a 18 mile around trip just to go back to get a portion or two of plain rice!)
A little more time dedicated to double checking the orders before they are released would make a real difference.
That said, we will learn to check our bag first before leaving and will be back...many more times!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Im_Sticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maha-Bharat Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Kingsbridge, Devon
Kingsbridge, Devon
 

Been to Maha-Bharat Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing