We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cash cow :-)” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burton Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burton Farmhouse
Ranked #30 of 34 Kingsbridge B&B and Inns
bratislava
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cash cow :-)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We've recently staid in Burton Farmhouse and I left feeling that this place is one big cash cow. We've staid with our toddler and when booked, I was offered a room for GBP 100. Although this is more then I'd normally like to pay for a B&B - the website sold it and I thought that this will be quite a special place.

However, I was disappointed. We were given a family room with a bunk bed and a double bed - which was INCREDIBLY squeaky and soft and every time my husband moved - I moved with him. The room was very clean and although it was part furnished with antique furniture, the overall feeling was that it was very dated rather then special. There was no shower in the bathroom, just the bath. We did find the rubber shower attachment later on, so squatting down were able to have a shower - and spill water all over the bathroom carpet (one of those).

We've booked a dinner but it was extremely overpriced for what it was - GBP 21 for 2 courses or GBP 25 for three. My chicken was dry, the stuffing tasted strange, the cabbage was too sour and the home-grown veggies needed more seasoning and flavour altogether. Crumble was all right but there is not much that can go wrong with it. Husband's chocolate cake was dry. Breakfast was ok.

On leaving, I was presented with a bill for the room of GBP 140 - which was subsequently reduced to GBP 100. Would I want to pay 140 for that room? Hell no! Was I happy to pay gbp 100? No way! Will I be back? No. Am I recommending this place? No! Unless you have unlimited valet and don;t mind spending a lot of money for not much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Looking for a nice place to stay for a weekend break I found Burton Farmhouse with all it's accreditation and promises. Now I should start by saying I am a very seasoned traveller who stays in many B&B's all over the UK for business. Well basically how this B&B got it's awards I will never know! We were meant to be in there very best room but frankly it was very small, dark and unloved from the point of presentation. We waited when we arrived a good ten minutes to get seen, to then not really welcomed as such. Breakfast was nice but all the time we were there we got the sense that taking your money was the first aim, which given the cost of the room for two of us £100 plus was so, so disappointing. So firstly my advice look elsewhere as it is only just reaching three star in my book and VERY expensive!
Visit Britain please re-visit and get the rating right this time!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIKEOURQUALITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Really surprised by other reviews as we had the best wedding and a lot of our guests can't wait to go back and stay!
Throughout our whole wedding arrangements and day, we were looked after and nothing was too much trouble. We got to see all the rooms, cottages etc during our planning months and every request was sorted out. When rooms were cold, the heating was sorted out and our day was really special.
The food was excellent and one guest even got a midnight snack after giving a cheeky request. We were quite particular with our food requirements and everything was catered for.
Our guests stayed in the cottages and the rooms in the farm and they were great. All guests were happy with their stay. We had a great wedding and would definitely recommend Burton farm to anyone for any occasion.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smith0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We rented one of the 3 cottages called the creamery at Burton Farmhouse which was not in the farm itself but in the village. We were told it was 1 bedroom with a sofa bed, BUT the sofa bed was in the conservatory with clear plastic roof and no blind on the roof. (very noisy when raining and very bright). The website did not describe the Creamery cottage with a conservatory nor was it on the website. We had our 5 year old son with us so we all ended up in one room. There was a connecting door to the middle cottage (living area/kitchen) which was not insulated and both renters could hear each other easily. We ended up putting cushions against it to block the noise. The cottage was nicely presented but badly described and the website made Burton Farmhouse more glitzy than it was. No information or greetings when we arrived or effort when we left or apology. Not impressed!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weldora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingsbridge hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Burton farmhouse is not a welcoming friendly place to stay. The staff are young and inexperienced, not trained properly, not their fault. The service was dreadfull on our arrival, at dinner , and on our unforseen early departure. The atmosphere was uncareing, and not concerned for our comfort or wellbeing.Overpriced, and in no way worth its 4 star or price. Many health and safety issues within the farmhous. Items listed on the menu not available, no real choice, awful. The patron advertised the major American credit card, but we were told they didnt accept it.??? Was this another fawlty towers, but worse?? We left south devon with bad feelings, will not return there in a hurry, unfortunately. We do not recommend the Burton Farmhouse South Devon at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnytorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provinces
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

To begin on a positive note, the quality of food at breakfast was good. I know that single accommodation is rarely the best but this was awful. My room was just over seven feet square and would not pass current legislation for H.M. prisons or retirement homes. Into a three feet extension they had shoehorned a W.C. ,miniscule handbasin and shower. Most of the garden was taken up with a marquee, presumably to acquire a share of the lucrative wedding market. Inside the marquee were large round tables, wedding decorations and a 'glitter ball' suspended from the ceiling. THIS was where breakfast was served, NOT in the restaurant. This meant there were no tables for guests wishing to dine alone or as a couple. I was left with the impression that the owners were preoccupied with maximising income for themselves, rather than aiming to provide the highest possible standards for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProvincesAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scot
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We attended a wedding at Burton Farmhouse and we were really looking forward to staying at the Farmhouse as we had read good reports about it on trip advisor. We were in for a shock.

We arrived on 30 July for four days. The room was average however the bed was terribe, it was so uncomfortable. Beds are not that expensive these days and they are badly needed at Burton Farmhouse.

We booked a table in the restaurant on our first night. We went down to dinner, no-one was around so we sat at a table in the restaurant. Fifteen minutes later and we had not seen anyone so I had to go and ring the front door to attract a waitress. The food was OK however there was no atmosphere. We never ate in the restaurant again.

Breakfast was no better. We were given Coffee, however the waitress failed to tell us we had to help ourselves to cereal and juice or make our own toast. Another guest told us. We didn't mind however the staff could have told us.

Throughout our stay our room was never serviced before 2.30 in the afternoon. The bathroom was not cleaned from the day we arrived until we checked out, we had to wipe it over ourselves.

The pictures of the farmhouse on the website do not match the farmhouse itself.

I could go on and on however all I will say is that we were very dissappointed with the Farmhouse and the staff and we could not get out of there quick enough. At £72 per night for B & B, would I go back, definately not.

This place is never a 4 star, more a 1 or 2 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsbridge
0.9 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Tower Inn
The Tower Inn
#6 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ring O'Bells
Ring O'Bells
#27 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tilly Cottage
Tilly Cottage
#32 of 34 in Kingsbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
5.3 mi away
Up The Creek
Up The Creek
#14 of 34 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
5.3 mi away
Seaflowers
Seaflowers
#1 of 34 in Kingsbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton Farmhouse

Property: Burton Farmhouse
Address: Burton Farm Nr Hope Cove, Kingsbridge TQ7 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burton Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burton Farmhouse is a large family run B&B in the Devonshire countryside located within the beautiful South Hams. Close by are the small estuary towns of Salcombe and Hope Cove which offer stunning beaches, sailing, windsurfing and coastal walks. The 15th Century Farmhouse can be found in the old fishing village of Galmpton, within the south Huish Valley, in An Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty The property is a traditional stone farmhouse offering spacious rooms and all the facilities you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Originally owed by the Earl of Devonshire, Burton Farmhouse is set in 325 acres of working farmland. Two pedigree flocks of sheep and cereals are farmed on the farm which has been in the Rossiter family for over 100 years. We offer a variety of en suite rooms with different facilities and also offer a separate downstairs annex for elderly guests or those with mobility problems. In the annex all rooms are en-suite have call bells and hand rails and guests have the use of a large walk in shower room with shower seat. Please specify upon booking if you would like one of the ground floor rooms. We are happy to accept long term lets in these rooms for anyone looking for a period of respite. You will also find a small lounge bar which is available to guests during summer evenings or by prior arrangement. In the garden you will find a spacious patio with tables and chairs and a large grassy area with play area to keep the children busy while you put your feet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Burton Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Farmhouse Kingsbridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing