We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday cottage in idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
This is us
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is us
We overlook the village Green
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This is us
We overlook the village Green
This is us from the back
The View from the front of the house
Our large lawn at the rear; Secured all round
The nearest beach approx 1km away
The nearest Beach 1 Km away
Slapton Ley Nature reserve 1 Km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous holiday cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for a week (2adults, 3 kids and grandparents for part of the week) at Island House and would definitely recommend it. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed for our family holiday. The location is perfect for exploring the area. Great coastal walks, beautiful beaches, friendly pubs and delicious food are all on your doorstep. We were reluctant to leave and would love to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your generous words. I'm glad that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen S
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage very spacious everything there we needed for 8 guests. Village green opposite great for bird watching. Set in a buitiful area local pub served great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your great review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during the winter months due to work commitments in the nearby area. We could not have wished for a better house to stay in. It was perfect!

The house itself is to a very high standard and has a lovely homely feel. Four large bedrooms and an upstairs toilet on the first floor, and a bathroom, living room and kitchen/dining room. The kitchen was great with a very good cooker/oven. All kitchen utilities (pots/pans etc) were there which was handy.

The only slight issue (if that!) was the TV signal wasn't great and very intermittent but that is the general case for rural areas. But the wifi was good.

During the winter months, we used the heating which was very efficient and kept the cottage warm and comfortable despite the cold outside. Despite the longer nights of winter - the views across the valley from the upstairs rooms were beautiful.

The house had enough parking space for about 2/3 cars which was great whilst we worked in the area. The house was located about 4 doors from the pub "The Tradesman" which did very good food (I would recommend the steak and ale pie!) and a little further on was another pub, "The Church House".

Clive, the owner, was brilliant and extremely accommodating for our needs and any queries whilst we were letting for a longer period.

I would most definitely recommend the house to anyone looking to stay in the area. It felt like a home away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking such care on our home from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for all ages”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous week at Island House (2 adults, 6 teenagers). The house was extremely spacious and easily fit all eight of us. Brilliant views out of the front of the house and perfect location with a wonderful pub to eat at a few doors down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We do like to hear that people have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne B
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Everything was super about this gorgeous cottage. Spotlessly clean, equipped with everything we might need, and perfectly situated for access to the village, beach and exploring lots of beautiful places. Great that we could park right outside too. We had one query while we were there, which was dealt with immediately with no bother to us. I was sorry to leave at the end of the week and hope to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thanks for your review. We appreciate people taking the time to say say such nice things about Island House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenlond...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, very comfortable and spacious, home from home”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage! Very spacious with lots of home comforts and a view over the village green. Comfortable beds, clean new decor, and well equipped kitchen. Wish we could have stayed longer. The village has a couple of nice pubs and the beach at Torcross is a short walk away down a pretty footpath. There's a great farm shop very nearby too!

The owner is really helpful and friendly and recommended us lots to do in the area and the house comes with a useful handbook with all the info you could need. We stayed with our baby and the house even has a highchair which is very handy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing