We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abso-blooming-lutely Delightful”
Review of Kelly House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kelly House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abso-blooming-lutely Delightful”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It's gorgeous, the hosts are delightful, the restoration is remarkable and frankly, if you're in this area and don't try to book a room then I can't help you and no-one can help you with your mental illness. Beautiful rooms, stunning views and even Rusty the dog makes a stranger feel welcome. Absolutely outstanding. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: There is no point in recommending one room above another. They are all fantastic. Whichever room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Milk_Tray_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were greeted on arrival by our hosts Sophie and Chris who helped carry our bags up to our enormous bedroom with its huge, comfy four-poster bed. There are chests of drawers and a large wardrobe to accommodate your clothes, and a palatial modern bathroom en-suite, with a very large bath and an excellent shower -- oodles of hot water! The room we stayed in had underfloor heating and was lovely and cosy and warm. Having seen our room we went downstairs to the lounge for a lovely cup of tea and home-made cake with Sophie and Chris, who answered all our questions about the house and its history. The Kelly family have been there since the Norman Conquest! The food was delicious and whilst my husband tucked in to the 'full English breakfast' I enjoyed gourmet porridge served with rum-soaked raisins, dark brown sugar and double cream. We really enjoyed our stay and can unreservedly recommend Kelly House. Thank you Sophie and Chris!

Room Tip: We liked the novelty of sleeping in a four-poster bed -- which was very large and comfortable -- and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katkal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and my partner visited Kelly House for 3 nights. We were greated by a very friendly family who then had tea and cake with us. They explained the area and what we could do and eat, as well as answer it all our questions about the house. I would thoroughly recommend this stay to anyone, no words can explain how helpful the owners were and how comfy and beautiful our room was (gold room).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank ab992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were lucky to stumble across Kelly House. This is a very special place to stay, made particularly memorable by the amazing surroundings and the warm hospitality offered by Sophie, Chris and Warin. Tea and cakes on arrival; excellent breakfast menu; lovely big double aspect room with splendid views towards Bodmin (we were in the Gold Room) and great service from the owners (pub meals booked; recommendations for food in Tavistock provided; coffee and cake laid out in the drawing room one morning when we got back from visiting the church next door). We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KikkM, Manager at Kelly House B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for your review - it's nice to know when we get things right!

We very much hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area. We hope our level of service continues, and that the next time you come to Kelly House you will see the gradual improvements we are continually making to the building!

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, unfortunately arriving quite late on the first night. However upon arrival we were offered sandwiches, cake and tea which kind of sums up the experience for me. Nothing was too much trouble and the customer service they give there is outstanding. We stayed in the gold room and the bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent and the breakfast was scrummy. If you want to stay somewhere with character then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank row78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KikkM, Manager at Kelly House B&B, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hello, and thank you for the lovely review!

We like to look after our guests at Kelly House, and responses like this make it all worthwhile. We all hope to see you again when you are in the area again, and wish you all the best for your travels!

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Where to start? This beautiful stately home boasts three lovely B & B rooms, complete with plush ensuites (best shower I have EVER had) and underfloor heating. The house and grounds are absolutely stunning, a mix of the old and new. The welcome we received was warm and generous, and Sophia even gave us a tour of the Bluebell wood and granary. The food is wonderful, you must try the Kelly House porridge. Thank you so much to Sophia, Chris and family for a fantastic couple of days, I will definitely be coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KikkM, Manager at Kelly House B&B, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review - I'm glad we are able to make our guests feel welcome, and hope this will continue for all our visitors to Kelly!

I am also very happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts - we like our food here, and it's nice to have guests who can enjoy the little luxuries every now and again!

We hope to see you again in the future. In the meanwhile, enjoy the fantastic summer weather!

Kindest regards,

Chris
Manager,
Kelly House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

How often are you going to get the chance to stay in a Grade 1 listed building full of character and history. The rooms are massive and the breakfast superb. I think one of my fellow guests summed it up when he spent the first evening looking awestruck saying "I can't believe how wonderfull the House is". Will definately come back again to stay with these excellent hosts.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyhourSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KikkM, Manager at Kelly House B&B, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your review - it is nice to know that our guests haven enjoyed their stay!

We like to think that the house and surroundings are a relaxing retreat for our guests, and are very glad we were able to provide a little something extra.

I hope we will see you and your fellow travellers again soon!

Kind regards,

Chris
Manager,
Kelly House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
2.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
3.1 mi away
Frankaborough Farm Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly House B&B

Property: Kelly House B&B
Address: Kelly, Lifton PL16 0HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelly House is a Georgian family home offering B&B accommodation to discerning guests in the tranquil Devon countryside. Three superior King-sized Double bedrooms, with en-suite bath and shower facilities, beautiful reception rooms and grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelly House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly House B&B Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing