We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights on Easter Sunday and Monday. We had booked via a kgb deal and were not sure what to expect...we were put at ease as soon as we arrived. The fabric of the building is terrific, with oodles of age and character. It is ideally situated to enjoy the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and the South West area generally.

The staff (and management) are, to a person, polite, courteous, helpful and very professional. We stayed in the Darliston Room, which, although it is on the front and is therefore closest to the road, does have secondary glazing and is very well appointed and comfortable. The atmosphere throughout the inn is very friendly and the food alone is worth a visit. All meals were excellent and the service was faultless. This village inn shows wonderful attention to detail (e.g. bone china mugs in the bedrooms, fairtrade coffee, etc.) and obviously makes a genuine attempt to be 'green'. It should be held up as an example of just how to own, run and maintain a Country House Hotel / Village Inn.

Room Tip: Just discuss your requirements with the management; I believe that they would be genuinely intereste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    58
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
213
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The staff were VERY helpful and polite, on arrival we were a little peckish and although the chef was out, the Barman prepaired us some sandwich'es that were superb.
However when we went to our room ..... it was cold and very tired. In places the wallpaper was peeling the curtains smelt musty the door handle to the the bathroom had been replaced (BOTCHED) there were screw holes left unpluged.
The shower is a Mira electric device, to get any hot water from it you had to restrict the flow so much, it was just a drible.

The whole room is in need of a total face lift.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Hello and thanks for your review. We're sorry that you have mixed feelings about your stay at Lifton Hall. We'd obviously prefer for you to go away completely happy!

We take on board what you say about the room you stayed in - with a couple of exceptions - and thank you for pointing out the things that matter to guests using our facilities. It's only by getting these reviews that we can improve things for everyone. However, it's always better to receive any negative comments in person so we can try and rectify them at the time.

We have a rolling programme of improvements and the room you were in is next on the list to be revamped (honest) and we will be attending to many of the points you raise in your review.

Thanks once again for taking the time to leave comments, and we hope it hasn't put you off completely - all our other rooms are lovely!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed in the Caledonian room which was a large double aspect room with views over the garden and the moors in the distance. Everything was clean with a large bathroom with a bath and shower over. (we prefer a bath to a shower only so was perfect for us). Robert greeted us on arrival and made us very welcome then and throughout our stay.The week we stayed featured the Tuesday quiz night which was very competitive and great fun.
The food was good and the hand cut chips were to die for!
We loved the visit and will definitely be returning in the future.
P.S. had a complimentary home made mince pie one evening....mmmmmm.:)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillyflower60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed here for three nights, a really warm, friendly welcome from all of the staff. Ate in the bar twice, food absolutely delicious. Enjoyed the home made marmalade and jam at breakfast so much we bought some to take home! Room really comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Churchill room, very comfortable bed and lovely comfy sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carryonholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My Partner and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend for a colleagues wedding in the area. We arrived late (11pm) on the Friday evening and the staff waited around for us to check us in. The check in was quick and easy, such a friendly girl on reception that night who showed us to our beautiful room (The Devonshire I think with a 4 poster bed).
We had drinks in the hotel bar on the Saturday night, prices very reasonable and again the staff were really friendly. There were some locals in the bar at the same time which gave it a welcoming atmosphere.
The breakfast on Sunday was great, we chose an english breakfast which was cooked perfectly and there wasn't a long wait for it either.

The decor of the hotel is very impressive and clean and tidy.

Only thing I would say is that the bathroom in our room could do with an update to fit in with the high standards throughout the rest of the hotel but by no means was it unusable or anything like that.

All in all a fab little hotel which we will definately be recommending to others, as it was recommended to us. :)

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

A good country inn with plenty of quality touches and management/staff that care. Comfortable, well appointed rooms, free WiFi and excellent food for dinner and breakfast. Good value overall.

Minor downsides are road noise (intermittent - but intrusive in some rooms due to proximity) and a bar which can be quite noisy and with a cliquey feel (this is possibly due to its popularity with the locals, which is also a positive sign of course).

Room Tip: If road noise is an issue for you, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Hello and thank you for posting a review about Lifton Hall Hotel. It's always great to hear that we're hitting the mark.

We agree with you totally about requesting a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper or may be bothered by noise. It's not a major road at all, but if you're not used to any road noise you may find it intrusive. The windows on to the road all have secondary glazing, but this isn't always enough.

Our bar tends to be quiet and relaxed, which is the atmosphere we've tried to create. On occasion it can get more noisy, and I'm sorry if this was the case when you stayed. There's always the lounge area if you prefer it a bit quieter.

Thanks again for your comments - I will pass them on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spanish point co clare
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have been to The Lifton Hall a number of times over the last few years, when in the area, and have always found it a friendly place to go for a drink or a bite to eat but this was the first time I had the pleasure of staying.
The rooms were nice and spacious and the beds very comfortable, but what stands out particularly in this hotel is the standard of housekeeping , it is absolutely superb.
We stayed at the hotel to celebrate my brothers birthday and I was pleasantly surprised that they offered us the full menu despite there been 9 of us on a Sunday evening, when I'm sure many small hotels would have offered a limited menu.
They set up dinner for us in a separate small dining room and really nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
510 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,267 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
19.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing