We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peachy lily”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peachy lily”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have been for a lovely break at this hotel, we do travel quite a few places for weekends, but I must recommend this hotel, there was nothing I could fault. We had a lovely clean room, and the meals were delicious and well proportioned. Staff were friendly and very informative. We found several walks for after dinner stroll. The marmalade and jam we they sell is so yummy. Thoroughly look forward to next stay, beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Choose suite with spa so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hello Suze

Many thanks for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our little hotel and the area. Lifton really is lovely (especially in the sunshine) and we're lucky to live and work here.

I'm glad also that you liked our jams and marmalade. They're proving very popular and we seem to be making a new batch every few weeks! Luckily we're heading into fruit season and there are loads of friends in the village with plenty to spare - so there'll be plenty of new, locally sourced flavours available.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    56
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
209
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights, what a fabulous hotel. Staff were excellent as was the freshly cooked home made food. I struggled to eat all of the pie of the day. Pretty little village setting and happily allowed my dog to stay as well. Their home made fig chutney is the best I've tasted.

Room Tip: The Caledonia Room has 2 lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Anne

Many thanks for your kind words. It's great to get feedback as it helps us to improve our service. From your review I think the only thing we could change would be to reduce the size of the Pie of the Day - only kidding, we're not going to do that!!

Thanks again for taking the time to use TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 2 night KGB deal that offered excellent value for money. We also tagged on an extra couple of nights, and very pleased we did - the hotel sits in a lovely little village, very well located for days out to either the south or west coast without too much driving.

The hotel was incredibly clean and our room (Rademon) was a good size. The meals on offer were generous, tasty and always delivered quickly and with a smile. Cooked breakfast was yummy and a particular favourite was the porridge with cinnamon raisins.

All in all, a very well run hotel that we'll have no problem recommending to others! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Tripteasy

Thanks for your great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit to Lifton Hall and to West Devon.

It was a shame that you left behind your jams - when you visit next time you'll have to buy some more.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Hi visited 7th 8th May..Churchill room.Food. Everthing 100% PERFECT could not recomend this hotel enough..... Please go and enjoy...Will be back please email..Handy for north coast cornwall also Dartmoor for fishing or just looking.First time review any where

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheese99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi there and many thanks for making us your first ever review - we really appreciate it!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay so much as to say it was 100% perfect - we're really chuffed to read that. I will pass on your comments to the team, who all like to read our reviews.

Thanks again - and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

What a lovely surprise and experience! Unfortunately we booked in for only two nights but wished it had been longer. Service was excellent - not ostentatious; choice of food excellent - not over described; our room, Beckford - a delight but mind the step; a lovely pint of Otter bitter followed by a very nice Bordeaux Superior, oh and we even took part in the Quiz night. Breakfast offered a lovely choice - whatever you choose, you will not be disappointed. And that's exactly what Lifton Hall gave us - NO DISAPPOINTMENT. We'll be back but please don't tell anyone about the Devon Gem - we want to keep this our secret.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Manager at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Richard - many thanks for your lovely review. Although I have to disagree with you on one thing - we want everyone to know - please don't keep us a secret!! Sorry, I hope that doesn't disappoint you?

Thanks again, we really appreciate your review (all of it) and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Small cosy hotel, with excellent food. Good value for money. Stayed their twice now and was satisfied each time. Food I thought was exceptionally well cooked with great care taken for presentation. Will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girishgautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon Wilts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a great weekend at Lifton hall hotel, owners were very helpful as were all the staff. The room was very good, clean top quality linen and towels. The breakfast is fantastic as were the meals we had in the restaurant. Lifton is a great location to explore Devon and Cornwall, 30 mins from beaches.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonWiltsZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
502 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
485 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
429 reviews
19.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing