We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Called in by chance for lunch. Spotlessly clean, a welcoming landlord, good beer, a great steak and nice ambience. I'm sure the locals know all about it but useful to know if out and about as we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potsnpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi there and many thanks for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Be sure to tell all your friends where we are too!!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    50
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
193
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here on a voucher scheme for two nights, dinner was included on the first night, but sadly the main menu is not available to voucher guests, it was replaced with a sheet of A4 with a very limited and un-inspiring selection. The room was very nice, clean, spacious, and the en suite was the same, again very clean. The bed was very uncomfortable, time for a new mattress we think. The staff were very friendly, and the location was great as it was central and within a shortish drive to a lot of Devon and Cornwalls attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietcoupleHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We're glad you had a 'pleasant stay' and sorry there were aspects of your visit that you were less pleased about.

I'm not sure which room you stayed in, and as you've chosen to air your moans online rather than mention them during your stay, (when we have a chance to put them right for you) there has to be a degree of detective work to identify the offending mattress! If I'm correct, the mattress in the room you stayed in has already been replaced. Although we check our mattresses regularly, it's only by customer feedback that we know what they are like to sleep on!

I'm sorry that you found the menu 'limited and uninspiring'. As you will see from other reviews from the many people we've had stay using the same £99 deal, you are in a bit of a minority. We appreciate that it isn't our full menu, but you were given the opportunity to eat from our main menu for an extra supplement.

I will pass on your comments about our freindly staff and let the housekeeper know how clean everything was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osmotherley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a delightful stay , everything was there to make it enjoyable , we took advantage of the garden to greet our friends , and excellent for the youngest one to play in , it was a very safe environment. for children . I would'nt hesitate to recommend the Lifton Hall hotel, or Cottage , an excellent experience all round

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana f F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two nights here on kgb deal. Very good value -.deserves a higher rating. Really enjoyed our stay. Well-positioned for visits to Cotehele, Eden Project, Lydford Gorge and North Cornwall (Boscastle, Port Isaac, Padstow, etc.). With just 10 double rooms, the hotel is quite small. but meals (two breakfasts and dinners) were delicious and the service was excellent. Our en suite room was large with nice decor (tho' the bed wasn't the most comfortable we've ever slept in).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horganism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hello and many thanks for your great review.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay (apart from the mattress - that has now been replaced).

It seems like you managed to get out and about to see many of the attractions that are within easy reach of us. Hopefully there are still some for you to see so that you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just had a wonderful stay, we only live about 13 miles from the Hotel but took advantage of a KGB deal to try it out. It was excellent, the room, the staff and of course the food. The evening meal was freshly prepared and delicious. Each of the three course a delight, feta, olive and salad. Followed by Grey Mullet and roasted veg, home made steak and ale pie then to finish the best spotted dick suet pudding and custard we have had for years!! There was a good choice for Breakfast, once again fresh, piping hot from the kitchen and helpful and happy staff. We intend to return to stay as there are some excellent walks around the area and will being going over for a regular evening meal to try a few more dishes from their tasty menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiddlydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Manager at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

For the third time we visited Lifton Hall hotel and again we loved very much! The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the food is great and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. It's a place where it is quite easy to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own, different character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnekalsbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with the family in the cottage attached to the hotel excellent stay the staff were fabulous and very helpful lovely place to stay would love to visit again and again. The cottage gave us the privacy but if we wanted to go into the hotel it wasn't a problem one of the places I have stayed and would definitely recommend the the hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie2751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Sandie - really glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. It's our first year renting the cottage, so it's good to hear that we're hitting the right mark.

Hope to see you again . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
13.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
19.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing