We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on a KGB deal which included a four course taster menu. We were given a lovely ground floor room which had a walk in shower, ideal for anyone who is less than mobile. The room was big enough to have two arm chairs so we could sit and read or watch T.V. without having to sprawl on a bed. Even tho they were very busy on the day of our arrival our food was served promptly and was so good we happily ate at the hotel on our second night. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Just for fun nearby is a collection of working fairground equipment, go back to your youth and ride the Noah's Ark or the Ghost Train.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    53
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
201
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and we were made very welcome. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as we had other engagements but they looked very nice and the menu seemed as though we would have enjoyed a meal had we had one. The room was quite large and yet quaint in a modern kind of way. The bed was big, substantially built and very comfortable. There was a large bath in the bathroom with powerful electric shower. A couple of minor things in the room like the universal soap on the wall, UHT milk and fact that the shower was embarrassingly noisy have knocked off one rating point but the breakfast was very good too, served by a very cheerful young lady, and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people who are trying their best to be at the top of their game and are clearly getting there so, based on our experience I am happy to recommend The Lifton Hall Hotel..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartH475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Live locally but have stayed rather than driving home after a great meal and excellent wine…The staff are friendly with a great sense of humour and the food is first class…The bar has a great atmosphere, they have a standard menu but also daily specials . I can't fault the food - it's just so good and well priced. By far the nicest and friendliest pub in Lifton and probably overlooked by most people passing through. We often take friends here for dinner and they are always impressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were recommended by our hosts for a sort of gastropub meal. We were staying elsewhere.
The bar is really oldy worldy and as i remembered from times past- but not in a twee way.
We ate from the specials (Chicken and mushroom pie and asparagus, broccoli and salmon tart- both were tasty.
It was just what was needed after a long day, informal, enough buzz and friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

First class in EVERY respect. Superb accommodation,and food to die for. All staff exceedingly helpful, friendly and enthusiastic - particularly, Alison. Will certainly return, especially if there is a similar KGB deal. If in the area again, would definitely avail ourselves of the facility for non-residents to enjoy the exceptional dining menus.

Room Tip: Spa bath in Churchill room, together with excellent sofa & generous space for relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This small and very friendly hotel was one of the best KGB deals we have had. Easy access to all parts of Devon and Cornwall, an ideal base to get the most of sea and countryside. Eden project within an hours drive. Lovely walk around the village, tranquil and calming after a busy time. Wonderful food served by friendly and knowledgable staff. Nothing to fault! Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were on a kgb deal which included B&B and a taster menu on first night of two. The hotel is very close to the A30 and therefore easy access to Bodmin Moor and Cornwall. It was a bank holiday weekend so we expected an element of delay and it was very busy on Sunday. The food was excellent even if you end up eating it in your room because the wait was long! The staff were excellent and that goes a long way when there are problems. We would certainly go back again and recommend Lifton Farm shop nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
19.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
17.6 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing