We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,relaxing and perfect break”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked a 2 night break at Lifton Hall and were delighted with the experience.
The building is full of character and our bedroom was spacious with a lovely en suite bath and enough room for a settee
The whole place was spotlessly clean
The breakfast was possibly one of the best we have ever had
Quality, wholesome food perfectly cooked and professionally served and presented.
The bar was cosy, friendly and reasonably priced
Ham, Egg and chips with a Stilton sauce was delicious
What ensured that the break was memorable were the charming owners Robert and Richard and their friendly, professional staff
This was our first visit but we hope to return very soon
Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms were different but best to choose whether you prefer a bath or a shower
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Lifton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on a KGB deal which included a four course taster menu. We were given a lovely ground floor room which had a walk in shower, ideal for anyone who is less than mobile. The room was big enough to have two arm chairs so we could sit and read or watch T.V. without having to sprawl on a bed. Even tho they were very busy on the day of our arrival our food was served promptly and was so good we happily ate at the hotel on our second night. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Just for fun nearby is a collection of working fairground equipment, go back to your youth and ride the Noah's Ark or the Ghost Train.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and we were made very welcome. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as we had other engagements but they looked very nice and the menu seemed as though we would have enjoyed a meal had we had one. The room was quite large and yet quaint in a modern kind of way. The bed was big, substantially built and very comfortable. There was a large bath in the bathroom with powerful electric shower. A couple of minor things in the room like the universal soap on the wall, UHT milk and fact that the shower was embarrassingly noisy have knocked off one rating point but the breakfast was very good too, served by a very cheerful young lady, and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people who are trying their best to be at the top of their game and are clearly getting there so, based on our experience I am happy to recommend The Lifton Hall Hotel..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartH475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Live locally but have stayed rather than driving home after a great meal and excellent wine…The staff are friendly with a great sense of humour and the food is first class…The bar has a great atmosphere, they have a standard menu but also daily specials . I can't fault the food - it's just so good and well priced. By far the nicest and friendliest pub in Lifton and probably overlooked by most people passing through. We often take friends here for dinner and they are always impressed

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were recommended by our hosts for a sort of gastropub meal. We were staying elsewhere.
The bar is really oldy worldy and as i remembered from times past- but not in a twee way.
We ate from the specials (Chicken and mushroom pie and asparagus, broccoli and salmon tart- both were tasty.
It was just what was needed after a long day, informal, enough buzz and friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First class in EVERY respect. Superb accommodation,and food to die for. All staff exceedingly helpful, friendly and enthusiastic - particularly, Alison. Will certainly return, especially if there is a similar KGB deal. If in the area again, would definitely avail ourselves of the facility for non-residents to enjoy the exceptional dining menus.

Room Tip: Spa bath in Churchill room, together with excellent sofa & generous space for relaxation
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This small and very friendly hotel was one of the best KGB deals we have had. Easy access to all parts of Devon and Cornwall, an ideal base to get the most of sea and countryside. Eden project within an hours drive. Lovely walk around the village, tranquil and calming after a busy time. Wonderful food served by friendly and knowledgable staff. Nothing to fault! Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
517 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,353 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
8.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range: £96 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing