We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for one night 29/5/2014. Had a meal here a few years ago and we always said one day we woukd go back and stay for a night. Food excellent, rooms very clean and good size. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. Going back again. Would highly recommend !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nik6323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    50
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
193
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Lifton Hall Hotel. We were so impressed and found it to be stylish, comfortable but with so much character. The taster menu on our first night was sublime, clearly this hotel maintains high standards and knows how to impress. We felt like we received a 5 star service, the staff could not have been more friendly of attentive.

You won't be disappointed, well done to the Lifton Hall for a truly great trip..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisalou789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 24th & 25th May, we took our dog with us as this is a dog friendly hotel and we were all made to feel welcome by the extremely friendly staff, we were able have sit in the bar and have food & drinks and there was even dog chews for Bonnie which was a lovely touch. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel) the breakfast is top class and it's clear that fresh locally sourced produce is used and the homemade preserves are the special detail that sets this hotel apart from the others (BTW we bought 3 jars to take home it's so good) the evening meals were just as good, we eat in the bar both nights. The hotel is in a great location for visiting towns in Devon & Cornwall and the village is very pretty. I would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dalehbwlboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked a 2 night break at Lifton Hall and were delighted with the experience.
The building is full of character and our bedroom was spacious with a lovely en suite bath and enough room for a settee
The whole place was spotlessly clean
The breakfast was possibly one of the best we have ever had
Quality, wholesome food perfectly cooked and professionally served and presented.
The bar was cosy, friendly and reasonably priced
Ham, Egg and chips with a Stilton sauce was delicious
What ensured that the break was memorable were the charming owners Robert and Richard and their friendly, professional staff
This was our first visit but we hope to return very soon
Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms were different but best to choose whether you prefer a bath or a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on a KGB deal which included a four course taster menu. We were given a lovely ground floor room which had a walk in shower, ideal for anyone who is less than mobile. The room was big enough to have two arm chairs so we could sit and read or watch T.V. without having to sprawl on a bed. Even tho they were very busy on the day of our arrival our food was served promptly and was so good we happily ate at the hotel on our second night. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Just for fun nearby is a collection of working fairground equipment, go back to your youth and ride the Noah's Ark or the Ghost Train.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for two nights and we were made very welcome. We didn't use the bar or restaurant as we had other engagements but they looked very nice and the menu seemed as though we would have enjoyed a meal had we had one. The room was quite large and yet quaint in a modern kind of way. The bed was big, substantially built and very comfortable. There was a large bath in the bathroom with powerful electric shower. A couple of minor things in the room like the universal soap on the wall, UHT milk and fact that the shower was embarrassingly noisy have knocked off one rating point but the breakfast was very good too, served by a very cheerful young lady, and it is obvious that this hotel is run by people who are trying their best to be at the top of their game and are clearly getting there so, based on our experience I am happy to recommend The Lifton Hall Hotel..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartH475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Live locally but have stayed rather than driving home after a great meal and excellent wine…The staff are friendly with a great sense of humour and the food is first class…The bar has a great atmosphere, they have a standard menu but also daily specials . I can't fault the food - it's just so good and well priced. By far the nicest and friendliest pub in Lifton and probably overlooked by most people passing through. We often take friends here for dinner and they are always impressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
13.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
19.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing