We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small hotel”
Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great small hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and it exceeded our expectations. Very friendly welcome by a young girl who ended up serving us in the restaurant and we commented on how friendly she was during our stay, she is a real asset to the hotel. We had a 4 course meal on the first night which was great. The highlights were the homemade pate, chutney starter and a lovely soup made from produce from their garden and a cheese scone washed down with a lovely rioja. The cooked breakfast was also amazing followed by homemade jams and marmalade, which you can purchase to take home. We ate their the second evening and the venison burger and beef pie were lovely. Nice seating area outside to enjoy local beers. The room we had was lovely, I think it was the beckford. Would definitely go back if it was on some kind of offer.

Room Tip: Away from the road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    56
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
209
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had to travel to Bodmin for a family event and was recommended this hotel as being convenient. Booked it online for one night, pleasantly surprised by the low cost £90 including breakfast. I arrived around 1430, probably too late for lunch, but the proprietor was really helpful, offered to make me a sandwich and invited me to their themed supper evening that night, which was fully booked, but he offered to fit me in. The room was very pleasant, the bathroom a little dated, but for the money it was fine. In the morning the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful and I had a very good cooked breakfast. All in all, very good and very good value. Might be worth looking closely at the rooms on line as I get the impression some are more modern than others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great hotel, friendly staff, room spacious and clean, light and airy, shower room/bathroom spotless and spacious. Information on hotel policy safety etc very clearly stated. Menus very easy to understand, breakfast ample, tasty and served by friendly staff, always pleasant and willing to help. We will definitely be going there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shawell room, lovely aspect, plenty of room, very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently had a KGB 3 night stay at this country pub/hotel.

Lovely character building and consequently some quirks and uneven floors, which added to its charm.

Pleasant village setting, really well situation for Devon & Cornwall coasts and Dartmoor.

Plenty of parking, 2 bar/lounge areas and a dining room. Offer included a 4 course set taster menu on 1st evening which was very nice, and can be changed if necessary due to dietary needs for example. You need to ask what menu consists of though, as no notice was particularly given and although we did ask what dessert was, something completely different turned up – however everything was lovely. General menu available on line, reasonable choice and hotel rather than pub prices. We did eat in on the 2nd evening also and that was ok too.

We stayed in the Woodstock room, twin room, bit dated and tired, but think hotel owners are working their way around the property, and this obviously is on the ’todo’ list. Shower cubicle quite small. Room very hot but we pinched a fan from our family in another room. Towels changed daily if required and also the refreshments tray was replenished. Beds very comfy, but too hot in this summer’s pleasant weather, we just took the quilts out of their covers. Located on main road , and we did experience some road noise, but overnight, as it is in a village, not really too bad - It did get busy quite early though. Our visit coincided with roadworks directly outside the property which caused some disruption to access and increased noise. The secondary double glazing was really very inefficient for either allowing air circulation or excluding noise from outside.

We popped our head into the Churchill Room nearby and that was larger and much brighter. The Beckford room was also much brighter and appealing.

The bar area had a selection of board games and tourist information leaflets.

Breakfasts very nice indeed, with choice of coffees, cereals, juices & preserves. Cooked breakfasts could be made up of anything off quite a good selection, and would meet anyone’s preference. Pleasant Dining Room and good service.

There was no phone signal on the service providers we use and although free wi-fi available this seemed to fluctuate in availability. Good check out time at 11.00 am.

If out and about around Okehampton, and considering a change in dining, try the Clovelly Inn at Bratton Clovelly – excellent country pub with lots of choice and reasonable prices. 8 miles back to Lifton Village.

We had a lovely break and would recommend this property.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travisgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this through a voucher deal for 2 nights and a taster menu for £99 so was unsure what standard we would find. This pub/hotel was a little gem. We could not have been made more welcome and although there was no choice in the taster menu, the main course was altered for me as I cannot eat cream. We had a lovely room (Caledonia) which had a window on each side of the room so in spite of the hot weather we had a cool breeze blowing through.We had not planned to eat there on the second night but the quality was so good that we ate in the garden - It was quiz night and we expected one or two quizzers but the place was heaving,lovely to see when so many village pubs are ailing This must say something for the hospitality.
The breakfasts were second to none and once again the quality and freshness was outstanding.I dont normally eat full english but enjoyed it all on both days!! A special thanks to Hayley for her cheery face during breakfast and despite everyone turning up for breakfast at the same time she calmly served everyone in turn so that each order was individually cooked and served very hot - the fried eggs were prefect. Thank you Richard, Robert and the whole team

Room Tip: If you need a room with pleny of space and fresh air ask for Caledonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My partner, her brother and his wife and myself stayed at the Lifton Hall hotel from 2nd August 2014 for 3 days on a bed and breakfast basis. My partner and I were allocated the "Beckford" room which was excellent. It was clean, spacious with a comfortable double bed, plenty of storage space, and a flat screen TV. The towels were changed each day and room was very delightful. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was excellent.We were offered a "Taster" meal on the first nigh which was vert tasty. Overall our stay was very good and would not hesitate in staying there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eamon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fantastic well equipped cottage. Its beautifully decorated but child friendly with a games room and two bathrooms. Lovely garden. Could do with a barbecue though. Great farm shop up the road and a village shop too (pricey). Tesco in Launceston for bigger shops.
Lifton Hall is centrally located in Cornwall so about an hour to most of the beaches and sites. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
502 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
428 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
17.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifton Hall Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing