We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for one night on our cycle from John OGroats to
lands End. A friendly welcome and our bikes quickly out in a dry secure garage.
Very clean room with comfortable large bed, and nice hot shower.
A good nights sleep as the house and area is very quiet.
Next morning a wonderful breakfast with more friendly chat with Margaret.
Would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
63
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved every minute of our stay. Margaret is an absolute gem, and her breakfasts superb. The room was spotlessly clean and quiet. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a place to base for visiting the local attractions, Lands End an easy days drive there and back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Margaret and Paul are very friendly and perfect hosts. The room was a good size, comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, the only thing was a dodgy catch on the bathroom door which didn't really bother us. Breakfast was excellent with attention to detail and a lovely log fire burning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john2953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I spent three nights at this lovely B&B last weekend, whilst attending a photography course in the area. Tinhay Mill is a lovely old building and has been beautifully maintained by the very welcoming hosts, Margaret and Paul. As soon as I arrived i was glad that I had booked here.

My bedroom was of a very reasonable size with en-suite shower room, also of a good size. The room was nicely and tastefully furnished, including a recliner chair and king sized bed - both of which were extremely comfortable. Bed linen and towels were of very good quality. All the usual amenities were provided including tea and coffee - fresh milk is available if one prefers it to the UHT packaged milk. Bathroom amenities - shampoo and shower gel are again of nice quality. A hairdryer is also provided and a small TV. The room was very quiet and I slept extremely well. There is also parking available on site - if the front is full there is more behind the house.

The whole place is spotlessly clean and rooms are serviced daily.

Breakfast was excellent. There was a good choice available and as Margaret is a trained chef, all was very nicely cooked and presented. I was also pleased to see that local produce is used - and the sausages particularly were very good as was the bread.

No evening meal is currently served here, although I understand there are plans for the future, but there are also a couple of places in the village which are a short walk or even shorter car journey.

There is Wi-Fi available with no charge, but I did find it difficult to connect in the bedroom as Margaret had warned it might be. However, using the system downstairs was fine.

Finally, I use a walking stick and struggled a little bit with the stairs. It's an old building and that's fair enough! However, those with walking difficulties are catered for as there is a ground floor room - only not available this weekend because it was being decorated.

In summary this is a lovely establishment which I would have no hesitation in either recommending to others or returning to myself.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all to the same high standard. I overlooked the road at the front, but it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Margaret (joint proprietor) came into the car park to welcome us and escort us to our room, and gave us personal service for the whole stay. The room was very well decorated and comfortable, Margaret asked us if we would prefer fresh milk for our tea/coffee rather than the long life cartons on the hospitality tray. When we said yes Margaret duly fetched it and returned with it in a china milk-jug along with the access code for the free wi-fi. We were then given unbiased information on the two local places to eat (2 minute drive or 10 minute pleasant walk).
The king sized bed was very comfortable with soft pillows and a snugly duvet. The en-suite toilet/shower room was spotlessly clean and the complimentary toiletries were of a high quality.
Our room was quiet with a view over the garden.
Breakfast next morning was superb, from the array of starters (cereals, fruit, yogurt and fruit juices to the cooked meal and the choice of toasts with preserves. Fresh ground coffee and a pot of tea. During breakfast we met Paul the other part of the joint ownership who also demonstrated the couples commitment to a warm welcome and service of the highest degree.
The bill was settled very efficiently with no surprises. This B&B guest house is first class for welcome, hospitality and very good value for money .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A lovely couple run this quaint ancient B&B. Its a quirky building with sloping-floored bedrooms, winding narrow staircases, a magnificent fireplace that you walk round to get to the breakfast room. A beautiful place to stay in. Fabulous breakfast. Worth stopping off here for a night and while they no longer serve dinner, within walking distance is a great pub (Lifton Hall Hotel) and the sensational Arundell Arms Hotel for dinner

Room Tip: There's a king-size bedroom on the ground floor if you can't use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackbearDevon, Owner at Tinhay Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments Paul and I are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us at Tinhay Mill Guest House.

We would like to tell future Guest who want to stay at Tinhay Mill from the end of May 2014 (Bank Holiday) it is our intention to offer optional Evening Meal/Dinner for our Guest.

Warm Regards

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Tinhay is advertised by three booking agencies – EXPEDIA, HOTELS.COM and LASTMINUTE.COM as having a restaurant (for evening meals) and bar – IT DOES NOT - and has not had these facilities for some considerable time. As booking agencies these people have a duty to their customers to ensure that the details of the establishments on their lists are correct and they should regularly contact the owners, say every three months, to obtain updates on the facilities etcetera.

I booked through Hotels.com and having had a long drive from North Wales to Lifton was looking forward to a meal and a drink, at the ‘hotel’, only to find, to my horror, that neither were available as the Tinhay is a B&B. I had to walk (8 minutes minimum) to a pub/hotel to get this. Yes I could have driven but I wanted a drink…

My advice to travellers – read the details the booking agencies give, then call/e-mail the establishment to ensure they are correct. Quite often you will get a better rate booking direct!!
The Proprietor, Margaret, is a lovely lady and was obviously upset that I had been misinformed (although their Web site and e-mail addresses state ‘restaurant’). I’m sure she will take steps to rectify things.

The Tinhay is a nice place in which to stay and if I’m in the area again I would definitely go back there. It is clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llegnalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.5 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 23 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Countryman Inn
The Countryman Inn
#1 of 1 in Langdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinhay Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Property: Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Address: Tinhay Mill Guest House | Tinhay, Lifton PL16 0AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinhay Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 2 miles from Cornwall, 10 miles from Dartmoor, 1 mile from the A30 and 38 miles from the M5-J31. Recently refurbished throughout, Tinhay Mill sets new standards for guest house accommodation. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tinhay Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing