We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best breakfasts ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Tinhay Mill Guesthouse is a very comfortable, well appointed and exceedingly well run establishment, Close to many attractions in the area, a good stop over, out of the way, noise & bustle if you want some peace and quiet, with some great walks nearby. Plenty of parking, large and comfortable rooms, breakfast is a real treat.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back overlooking the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in Tinhay Mill for one night, we picked this B&B based on the reviews. So first let me warn you that there is no restaurant! From the reviews we thought there was a restaurant (a very good one) and in fact that was not true anymore. For some reason they closed it and not it is just a B&B.
We had driven around Cornwall for a week before, and let me let you this was the best cooked (English) breakfast. The ingredients were very good and cooked to perfection.
About the room, it was big, comfortable, traditionally decorated, good tv, great tea and no noise. Had a great night sleep. Plenty of space to put you luggage in case you want to stay there for some days while you visit the area. The bathroom was ok, a bit small (no place to put you things), but very clean and with a big shower, although I really don’t like shower curtains.
Also for people like us that like to organise their lives in the evening (email, sat nav, facebook, get a place to eat or decide on the nest place to visit) there was not internet in the room, and no mobile phone coverage. There was internet (wi-fi) in the lobby, but it was very slow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

On the devon/Cornwall border not far from Launceston this guest house has lovely clean rooms and above all Margaret the owner cannot do enough for you. I was there for 5 nights and cannot praise it highly enough.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank JR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

End of a hard day's cycling was rewarded by a superbly appointed king-size room which I had to myself for a very reasonable £60. Safe, secure accommodation for my bike, a superb breakfast and a friendly send off on my next stage of Lands End to John O'Groats. If I'm ever in this part of the country again I shall certainly book here. Wonderful!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Tinhay Mill. Paul and Margaret are the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble and our stay very relaxing. Margaret makes the most amazing breakfast using fresh local produce - just divine! Our room overlooked the garden, was beautiful and spotlessly clean. We also had the best nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. We had a hospitality tray in the room with tea/coffee making facilities. Margaret even offered us fresh milk to have with our drinks should we wish. These small touches can make all the difference and this very much a fabulous place to stay. The location is perfect right in the middle of both coasts. We had a day trip to Plymouth too which is less than an hour away.

All in all we had a truly fantastic stay, would definitely stay here again, it was very much a home from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinx0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is the third time I have stayed with Margaret and Paul, and they have never disappointed me.
The accommodation is absolutely spotless, and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The breakfast menu enabled all tastes to be catered for, food appeared very quickly and was beautifully presented. Margaret will always go the extra mile for guests, nothing is too much trouble. Could not fault it at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for one night on our cycle from John OGroats to
lands End. A friendly welcome and our bikes quickly out in a dry secure garage.
Very clean room with comfortable large bed, and nice hot shower.
A good nights sleep as the house and area is very quiet.
Next morning a wonderful breakfast with more friendly chat with Margaret.
Would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lifton hotels
0.5 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
364 reviews
0 mi away
Kelly House B&B
Kelly House B&B
#2 of 2 in Lifton
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Frankaborough Farm Holiday Cottages
0 mi away
No photo provided
Roadford Lake Campsite
#4 of 4 in Lifton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinhay Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Address: Tinhay Mill Guest House | Tinhay, Lifton PL16 0AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinhay Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 2 miles from Cornwall, 10 miles from Dartmoor, 1 mile from the A30 and 38 miles from the M5-J31. Recently refurbished throughout, Tinhay Mill sets new standards for guest house accommodation. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tinhay Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse Lifton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing