We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Victoria House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria House
Ranked #4 of 5 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a four night stay in the beach house and have to say what a lovely place Victoria House is - there are so many plus points to mention!!

From the moment we got there the attention to detail was faultless - there are fresh towels and a chocolate on the pillow and freshly baked cookies which are divine (they magically re-appeared every day too!!). The breakfasts really set you up for the day and Heather's pancakes are one to try.

The sun deck and day bed round off an all-round fantastic experience (together with the twinkly lights at night which is a lovely touch and a very comfortable bed), with great pubs, coastal walks and scenery this is a great place to visit.

Thank you for a lovely memorable stay and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Beach House at this B&B, and totally loved it. It is a small, cosy and enchanting beach house, nicely furnished, beside the main house so feels very private. The views of the sea are amazing as it is set on the hillside overlooking the magnificent North Devon coast. There is a deck area outside the cabin almost as big again with seating and also a day bed (one of those round beds with a mattress and a half covering which means you can shelter from the breeze and yet still sit snug and warm and watch the glorious scenery). The sunset was glorious and although the weather was not too warm we snuggled up into the day bed with a glass of sparkly and waited for the pizza delivery! (There are eating places within walking distance also). What more could you want? Heather was lovely and the breakfast the next morning was great, with a good range of fresh food and produce. We would certainly go back and my partner's special diet was very well catered for - we think it is a little hidden gem. Some reviewers have mentioned that there is a house to the left of the deck which blocks the view in that direction - personally we did not find this an issue as there was still loads of coast and sunshine/sunset available and we did not notice any problem with road noise even when we were sitting out on the deck. Definitely would recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: There only is one room - light, airy, beautifully furnished with a great decking area in front of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenbuster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The perfect place to escape the rat race. For a quiet weekend to unwind and relax Victoria House was fantastic. The stunning view rivalled only by the warm hospitality of Heather. The “Beach House” was well appointed and the breakfast sufficient to see you through the day (no need for lunch!). Beautiful beaches, stunning coastline, a nice country pub just up the road in the postcard village of Mortehoe, we could not recommend a weekend here highly enough and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am glad you enjoyed your break. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A lovely comfortable pre Easter stay and the attention to detail is very thorough. It really feels like a home from home. What the photos and web site do not show is the fairly quiet road beneath the terrace and the overly large roof of a property opposite which does partially obscure that fantastic view from the beach house. Heather's large dog could put some people off but I found him enthusiastically welcoming. Parking was tight. A careless driver could find small scratches from the unforgiving slate retaining walls.That aside, the small details are more than made up for in the highest quality of the food, accommodation, and level of comfort. That bed was like sleeping in Irish moss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetreatSeeker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
As I've had prospective guests put off by this review, I shall have to address the issues. There is no problem with parking, we have a double garage and a large parking space that I can park our 5 berth motorhome in very easily. These guests parked in our garage and it was the only car in there. North Devon has slate walls on every road and the width of these roads varies greatly. In 12 years of trading, nobody has every scratched their car on any wall in the vicinity of our establishment.

We tell guests on our website, by e-mail and verbally that check-in is between 4pm and 9pm. This is not unreasonable, we are a B&B, not a hotel. We have had guests arrive at midday expecting their room, when check out is between 11am and noon. I have been verbally abused because a room wasn't ready at 1250 and I didn't invite the guests to wait in our private living room and provide them with afternoon tea whilst they waited. I've had a guest arrive at 1030 because her previous B&B was check out at 10, so she came straight to me and got abusive because " where was she supposed to go, it was raining". If you arrive early, we will still be servicing the room or carrying out any maintenance required. My dog may well be outside if you arrive early otherwise, the ONLY way you will meet her is if you have asked to. She is trained to go nowhere near a guest unless we say she can.

PLEASE Google earth us, you can judge everything from there. Our website is not misleading in ANY way. It is obvious there is a road, how else would you get here? Yes, there is a roof which occupies 5% of a 180 degree vista of the Atlantic Ocean.

I am sorry you found the sleep quality so poor, I can not address this issue with the information you have given me as your last sentence says it was like sleeping in Irish moss. If there is a problem I don't know about, please let me know so that I can rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My Partner and I stayed overnight in the Beach house at the Victoria House B&B on Sat night.
well, what can i say! it was perfect, the photos really do not do it justice, Heather has put her heart and soul into this and all the tiny touches make it a wonderful place to visit, the bed was soooo comfy and the chocs on the pillow was a lovely extra, laying in bed watching the storm unfold outside was lovely. Breakfast was a really good meal! lots of cereals and fruit to choose from along with pretty much anything you can think of being freshly cooked to order!
we had a fantastic time and will certainly return, hopefully leaving the rain at home this time :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We usually discourage people from staying one night as you don't get a proper feel for our place. It's about relaxing, being spoiled and getting thoroughly chilled. I am glad that you were able to get a taste of this in your brief stay with us and hope that we can spoil you again for a bit longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria House B&B in Feb this year for the first time and it will not be our last. As soon as we arrived Heather & David made us feel at home and showed us the lovely beach house where we would spend the weekend, and simply asked us to pop a note through the door with what we would like for breakfast and when we would like it which was great.
The beach house itself was perfect, there was fairy lights inside and out on the decking which we had control off as well as amazing home made cookies, a fridge, a great selection of teas, coffee & hot chocolate and wine glasses too. The bed was perfect and so comfy, it was great to lie there and look at the amazing view when we woke each morning.
The breakfast was simple awesome, a great choice of fresh fruit, cereals and juices as well as homemade bread! We cooked breakfasts are fantastic and will set you up for the day, the eggs benedict comes highly recommended but I am sure had we had stayed long enough we would have tried everything on the breakfast menu - nothing disappointed.
Heather & David were fantastic hosts add to the information in the room by giving advice & recommendations on where to eat in the area for tea and also stops for lunch and a coffee along the Tarka Trail, we couldn't ask for more.
Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Great view from the Beach House and sole use of the deck & pod with the views you get cannot be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xx, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review and the kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our first visit to Devon, a place we have wanted to visit for a long time, but the long drive down has often put us off choosing as a destination. This year we finally made the trip, which yes, was long & dreary, but from the moment we arrived at Victoria house, made it all worth it. We were met & greeted by Heather as soon as our car drew up, who, I have to say was an outstanding hostess for the entire duration of our stay, although I think she was a little disappointed that we never managed to finish breakfast once! It was not through want of trying I may add, nor any reflection on the outstanding choice r quality of the breakfasts, simply a classic case of our eyes were bigger than our bellies! Not any more!
The Beach house is a charming, romantic little place, in a beautiful location. Morthoe ditto, but be warned! There is a steep uphill climb to the village, so if you are at all unsure on your feet, you would need to get the car out or take a taxi. Heather was really helpful throughout our stay, giving us lots of information and tips about places to visit, eating establishments and she helped us make the most of our 5 day stay there, including the loan of her well-worn OS map, which came in extremely useful more than once! We were lucky enough to enjoy 5 days of sunshine whilst we were there, and spent most of our days out & about walking the beautiful coastline paths, but you would be just as happy I'm sure lying on the day bed (sooo comfy), in the sunshine, doing nothing, just lapping it up. A great place to stay, in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.1 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
4.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
817 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: Victoria House Victoria House Chapel Hill, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning sea views fill every window of this small, family run B&B on the dramatic North Devon coast. A special place for honeymoons as well as a relaxing environment for all guests. Recommended as a Special Place to stay by Alastair Sawday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria House Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing