We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damaged legs”
Review of Damage Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Damage Barton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

People are right, this is a lovely site, great views and facilities, showers, toilets although there could be more of them, had to queue occasionally but they are well kept and clean. The site is quite, nothing other than aforementioned showers, toilets and site shop- just a couple of gripes and these to me are major gripes, the trouble is the pictures of the sea are misleading, the site is at least two miles from the nearest beach over vale and hill and over one mile from the nearest pubs - both are along paths that are narrow and muddy and the hills have made muscles work on my legs I didn't know I had! Ideal if you like hiking, needless to say, I don't, not even to the pub. You could walk along the road, which we tried, but you take your life in your hands with the traffic whizzing past at breakneck speed. we got a taxi back, the buses tend to stop running about five at night, yes five at night. The weather didn't help because on one of our 'hikes' we got absolutely soaking wet. Most of the time we went out in the car which defeats my idea of a relaxing holiday.

Great site if you plan on walking for miles to reach any kind of amenity, beach, pub, etc or if you plan on sitting outside your caravan, tent etc reading or contemplating the views because there is absolutely nothing here to do.

If you like a casual stroll of meters rather than miles look for somewhere nearer the action!

Room Tip: Get a pitch near the shop and amenities, the hill is quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HibbsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

This campsite is set on a gentle hill overlooking a beautiful view of the Atlantic (when it's not misty!) and surrounding countryside.

It is well maintained, and the toilet/shower facilities are kept spotlessly cleaned. Each sink in the toilet block and washing up room has a cloth to keep the sinks clean after use, and it appears everyone staying here clears their mess ready for the next person.

A major bonus for me is that there didn't appear to be any children about, probably on account that there are no facilities catering for children, unlike other nearby campsites. This means that it is very peaceful and quiet, day and night. The only sounds to be heard are the local sheep, gulls and wind blowing against the tent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Immaculate site with open views to the sea. 5 star facilities include 2 spotless shower blocks. On site shop stocks all essentials. Fabulous walk down to Lee Bay from site

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daddyruffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Great campsite. Clean & tidy, great views and really nice pitches. Showers & toilets were the best I have experienced yet. Dog facilities were great too. Nice walk down to small village, which has a nice pub. Will be coming back here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grassroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This campsite is 1st rate. From when you check in with the reception staff to the moment you leave - I couldn't reccomend it more!

The views out to see are superb - try to get the 3rd row up as they have the best views. The WC's are clean and exceeded my expectations. Also the shop owner is very friendly.

5  Thank nanagrampy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mortehoe hotels
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View Farmers
Bay View Farmers
#3 of 4 in Mortehoe
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Grange
#4 of 4 in Mortehoe
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damage Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damage Barton

Address: Mortehoe Station Road | Woolacombe, Devon EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mortehoe
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damage Barton Caravan and Camping Site, situated on the North Devon coast on a working beef and sheep farm. Offering panoramic sea views from every pitch. Open to Caravan & Motorhome Club members, Camping and Caravanning club members and non members welcome too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Damage Barton Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing