We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately test your tent!”
Review of Damage Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Damage Barton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed here for only two nights as a short break, on arrival it had started to rain so we joked with the receptionist whether we really wanted to book in!
A warm welcome was given with all the relevant information required for our stay and the location of our allocated pitch, which we quickly found and paused in the car hoping the rain would abate, it did not so we were forced to pitch the tent in it as well as a howling gale, which has to be experienced!
Finally we managed to get dry and all our stuff in the tent and sorted!
Be aware this site is very exposed and open so any wind will rip through the site, the first night we spent it was particularly windy and didn't sleep well due to worrying we were going to be blown away! Having read previous reviews this was to be expected so not a problem!
The site itself is very well run and maintained, the shower blocks are absolutely spotless and cleaned or checked regularly by staff who seem to be able spot any dirt at thousand yards!
The pitched are also well maintained with a mowing schedule keeping the grass at a pristine level

Overall we had a very pleasant if short stay at this site and would not hesistate to recommend it to anybody, the owners clearly take a lot of pride in keeping a tidy and well maintained site!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monteeymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Have stayed at this site a number of times in a tent over the years as it is a favourite. On this last visit I was a little sad that more hardstanding had been created for caravans . A great attraction of the site before was the magnificent sweeping slope of green grass . Now this been spoilt somewhat by caravans, awnings and cars on raised hardstanding areas. I appreciate this will increase revenue over the year but am afraid it has been achieved at the expense of the countryside in what is an area of outstanding beauty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guyrope12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

People are right, this is a lovely site, great views and facilities, showers, toilets although there could be more of them, had to queue occasionally but they are well kept and clean. The site is quite, nothing other than aforementioned showers, toilets and site shop- just a couple of gripes and these to me are major gripes, the trouble is the pictures of the sea are misleading, the site is at least two miles from the nearest beach over vale and hill and over one mile from the nearest pubs - both are along paths that are narrow and muddy and the hills have made muscles work on my legs I didn't know I had! Ideal if you like hiking, needless to say, I don't, not even to the pub. You could walk along the road, which we tried, but you take your life in your hands with the traffic whizzing past at breakneck speed. we got a taxi back, the buses tend to stop running about five at night, yes five at night. The weather didn't help because on one of our 'hikes' we got absolutely soaking wet. Most of the time we went out in the car which defeats my idea of a relaxing holiday.

Great site if you plan on walking for miles to reach any kind of amenity, beach, pub, etc or if you plan on sitting outside your caravan, tent etc reading or contemplating the views because there is absolutely nothing here to do.

If you like a casual stroll of meters rather than miles look for somewhere nearer the action!

Room Tip: Get a pitch near the shop and amenities, the hill is quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HibbsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This campsite is set on a gentle hill overlooking a beautiful view of the Atlantic (when it's not misty!) and surrounding countryside.

It is well maintained, and the toilet/shower facilities are kept spotlessly cleaned. Each sink in the toilet block and washing up room has a cloth to keep the sinks clean after use, and it appears everyone staying here clears their mess ready for the next person.

A major bonus for me is that there didn't appear to be any children about, probably on account that there are no facilities catering for children, unlike other nearby campsites. This means that it is very peaceful and quiet, day and night. The only sounds to be heard are the local sheep, gulls and wind blowing against the tent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Immaculate site with open views to the sea. 5 star facilities include 2 spotless shower blocks. On site shop stocks all essentials. Fabulous walk down to Lee Bay from site

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daddyruffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Great campsite. Clean & tidy, great views and really nice pitches. Showers & toilets were the best I have experienced yet. Dog facilities were great too. Nice walk down to small village, which has a nice pub. Will be coming back here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grassroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This campsite is 1st rate. From when you check in with the reception staff to the moment you leave - I couldn't reccomend it more!

The views out to see are superb - try to get the 3rd row up as they have the best views. The WC's are clean and exceeded my expectations. Also the shop owner is very friendly.

5  Thank nanagrampy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
846 reviews
4.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damage Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damage Barton

Address: Mortehoe Station Road | Woolacombe, Devon EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mortehoe
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damage Barton Caravan and Camping Site, situated on the North Devon coast on a working beef and sheep farm. Offering panoramic sea views from every pitch. Open to Caravan & Motorhome Club members, Camping and Caravanning club members and non members welcome too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Damage Barton Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing