We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If carlsberg made a caravan site”
Review of Damage Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Damage Barton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If carlsberg made a caravan site”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Just had our 4th week hear in as many years and we love it.lovely well kept site more for couples as there not much for children .but washing and toilet facilitys allways clean , gravel pitches allways well maintained and realy nice staff .adrians shop has better prices than off the camp and he is a real gentleman .my only critique is the first time we arrived we were offered a tea or a coffee while booking in a tradition they shoulc never have stopped which was a welcome my wife and i have mever had before or since . After most vistors arriving have been on tbe road some hours . Every pitch does have a seaview .keep up your standards Damage

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank try2bclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

stayed on this beautiful site for 6 nights but didn't want to come home! Very peaceful and immaculately maintained. The shop was very well stocked and the views and sun sets over the sea were amazing. Have booked another break and can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The site has great facilities, exceptionally well presented. All the staff couldn't do enough to help,would recommend this site to everyone. The shop is always well stocked. Great walks nearby, and a short walk to morthoe which has a lovely local pub. Woolacombe with great beaches a very short drive

Room Tip: Great site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APRIL w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon girl
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here a couple of times when we've been visiting friends in the area. Great views - lots of sky and sea except when the fog rolls in! Pretty exposed though - we have a VW and have felt the rocking effect of the wind on most visits so if you have a tent or awning be prepared.
Friendly staff and huge pitches, either hardstanding or grass. Whole site is kept very clean and tidy. Good walks from the site and the bus apparently stops just outside. Good clean shower block and washing facilities. Lots of information in reception. Just a word of advice if you walk to Mortehoe from the site down through the fields when you get to the next campsite and the signs disappear you need to walk straight through the campsite and not head out to the road!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Wonderful site, great sea views with spacious pitches.

Very friendly staff with an excellent well stocked shop (hot pastries and pizzas on offer).

Great walks from the site to near by beach with sand and rock pools (30 mins).

Shower block and dish washing area very large and extremely clean.

Site is exposed so be prepared for strong winds!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yatton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Really spacious site friendly owners fantastic sea views and brilliant four dog owners.Just outside of Woolacombe 5 mins drive. Make sure you go to The Red Barn and have the breakfast it's fantastic. Park up on Marine Drive with fantastic views over Woolacombe beach you can walk down thro the sand dunes to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plymouth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just back from our (I think) fourth stay at Damage Barton in our trusty VW T4 camper van, and once again it was a fantastic stay. Caveats: this review presupposes you love walking the wonderful north Devon coast, and also that if you are tenting it you are adept at erecting a tent that will withstand a bit of gusty wind (and we're not talking the after effects of the scrumpy).

The site slopes gently down from the road, reception and recycling (yes, you can recycle everything here!) to the terraced camping fields, and to the farm and the coastal paths below. It is totally clean. The washroom, toilet, shower, washing up and laundry areas are spotless, well laid out, accessible and well lit. The shop at the top of the field is well stocked and even does hot food (Pizza and Pasties - over cooked not microwaved) on demand.

There's not normally a lot to say about a field, but this one is immaculate. The grass is mown and cuttings removed. The gravel beds are raked after each visit. There is a play field for the kids but not a playground, and in general it's a quiet site (unlike one quite nearby), and there's a dog 'walking' area. There's not a bit of litter.

The site is excellent for access to the coastal paths, but it is fair to say there's a very steep walk down from the site to the coast (and back up again). If, however, you are a walker or at least not totally wed to the couch it is a good way to enjoy the countryside and cliffs. The coastal path to Woolacombe via Mortehoe Point is worth a day, even if Woolacombe itself is a bit busy for us. Lee is likewise a good place to visit, with a good pub (The Grumpas) via an excellent walk through the Borough Woods, and back via the farms.

As I said earlier, we use a camper van. The wind off the sea can be a bit bracing at times, and tents can be shaken. I doubt you might lose one but it's probably wise to pack an extra peg or two. This is of course standard for any camping field so close to the coast. You do get to see the Sun go down over the horizon too.

There's no doubt we'll be back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incredibish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
1.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damage Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damage Barton

Property: Damage Barton
Address: Mortehoe Station Road | Woolacombe, Devon EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mortehoe
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damage Barton Caravan and Camping Site, situated on the North Devon coast on a working beef and sheep farm. Offering panoramic sea views from every pitch. Open to Caravan & Motorhome Club members, Camping and Caravanning club members and non members welcome too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Damage Barton Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing