We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best staycation ever - especially for little...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
3 Gull Rock Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Dining To Kitchen
3 Gull Rock Woolacombe Holiday Cottages Beautiful View From Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loulocket
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best staycation ever - especially for little families!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Best apartment, best view and a place where once you arrive you can leave the car put (which you want to as its tight parking).
Everything you need is within 10/15 mins walk.
We also topped it up with a Sainsbury online shop so we were fully kitted with food, drinks, nappies (and wines) with minimal fuss.
We have a 10 month old who's trying to walk so this place was ideal. No tricky stairs, nasty corners and plenty of space. The quiet bedroom in the back was also ideal for him, and us! And early evenings on the balcony after his bedtime was bliss...we didn't miss being cooped up with him at all with that greedy view...full Panoramic of all the local beaches and sun from morning til night on an huge balcony.
Very thoughtful place too - you are provided with windbreak, sun umbrella, blanket for outside and on arrival milk in the fridge and a sweet treat delight. Also other guests must have left spades and bits so they are all there to borrow. They also provide bin bags, some starter dish washer tablets, washing liquid, olive oil and washing powder for the washer/dryer amongst other bits around the kitchen.
The high chair (with tray!) was excellent and a really comfy travel cot with on top change mat too!
It's so spacious, light and bright...a delightful holiday base for a family of 3 or 4!
Also Woolacombe and all the various beaches are literally a 10 minute walk down the stairs, or 15 mins back along the road.
And if it's a bit grey the pubs and local shop up the hill in Mortehoe are a 10 minute stroll.
You must try the Barricane Beach between 5-7:30pm (take your own tipple!) for the best Sri Lankan curry and chilled on beach dinner!
And pretty much every pub and restaurant around is terribly child friendly!
Our only grumble was no wifi, due to provider changeover, but I believe this is now fixed.
We are defo coming back here next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review. We are so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful holiday at 3 Gull Rock and found the accommodation to be perfect for your family. We are glad you found the property to be well equipped and that you thoroughly enjoyed the views from the balcony! We are most certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, beautiful views”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful week's holiday with our two year old daughter staying in this apartment. The weather was lovely and we spent a lot of the week on the balcony enjoying the fantastic views. The living room is beautiful - slightly bigger than it looks in the pictures - the kitchen is very well equipped and the apartment is generally pretty high spec - great showers etc. The only downsides were that (as mentioned in other reviews) the parking really is exceptionally tight, even with our relatively small car and also that there is very little storage space - just one very small wardrobe (the other is full of equipment eg ironing board) and hooks on the back of doors. A large set of drawers, even if they had to be in the living room, would definitely be a welcome improvement. It would also have been useful to have Wi-Fi as the phone reception in this area is pretty poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at 3 Gull Rock. We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment but could be so much better!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at 3 Gull Rock, the views from the apartment were stunning, the kitchen was very well stocked and the beds were very comfortable.
There were a few details which could be improved to make the stay so much more enjoyable, for example:
1) No house number, we found which we thought was number 3, unpacked and then sat down to read the welcome book only to find it says 'Welcome to 2 Gull Rock' Huge panic set in and lots of running around the other apartments to see if we were in the wrong apartment!!
2) In the welcome book we were asked to leave all rubbish in BLACK BIN BAGS, there was only one provided to us which we filled quite quickly as there wasn't a separate place to put recycling, we then had to go and buy more bin bags which isn't something you want to do when on holiday. The same thing goes for the dishwasher, you are asked to run it before you leave but you aren't left any dishwasher tablets?!
3) Lack of storage - there is one very small wardrobe in one of the bedrooms, in the other bedroom the wardrobe is used as a storage cupboard for cleaning products/hoover/ironing board etc. There seemed to be far too many tables in the bedrooms and no drawers or practical storage options. There are no shelves or cabinets in the bathrooms either.
4) Parking - what a nightmare!!!!! I hate to think how bad it would be if all 4 of the apartments had cars there at the same time!

Overall despite my complaints, it is a very lovely apartment, it just lacks finer details which wouldn't cost a lot to put right and make the stay so much more amazing!
I would recommend this rental to a friend but I would make sure they knew they had to take lots of things with them!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the apartment
Liked least: Parking and lack of storage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at 3 Gull Rock. We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property with amazing views”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

As another review said, the images you see are exactly what the property was like. immaculate throughout and beautifully done. The terrace is stunning and it's unbelievably quiet.

Less 5 minutes down to the beach and no more than ten minutes to the heart of Woolacombe - and those timings were with slow walking children! Even a bottle of wine and milk in the fridge on arrival.

Only thing I would say is, if you are fussy about pillows, take your own - they were a bit on the thin side. But that's honestly the only complaint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the terrace
Liked least: Pillows
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at 3 Gull Rock. It is a wonderful property in a perfect location. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest, Ocean Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice appartment and oh the view....!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Husband and I stayed here for a short last minute break in March, booking made 2 days before through Ocean Cottages who were excellent, extremely professional and courteous. We are both in early 50s and just wanted a place to chill and relax from our busy jobs. Weather cool with showers but then it was England in March! Photos of the apartment accurately display it, it is lovely, light and modern and the view of Woolacombe bay is really a wow, beautiful. Once we had worked out the central heating, the apartment warmed up nicely. Bedding and bathrooms very clean. Location is situated on a hillside so there are several steps down to the apartment and it wasn't clearly indicated as number 3 so we struggled to find the right door at first. The parking area for the apartments, believe there are approximately 5 apartments from the marked bays, was the only negative for us - it was situated at the end of a single track road and barely fitted our A3 in the designated space with the turning space very tight - fortunately for us there was only one other car there as it was low season but in high season even us, as competent and experienced drivers in a fairly small car, would struggle we thought.

It took us about 10 minutes walk down some more steps and along the path into Woolacombe itself. The main beach is about 3 miles long and clearly with the shops and bars in Woolacombe there is a leaning towards surfers, at least whilst we were there, but perhaps in summer families would love the place too.

Mortehoe is the little hamlet perched high on hill above the apartment (within 5 minutes steep uphill walk) and is very quaint and picturesque with a little shop and 3 pubs, useful to provide somewhere to go to for a drink or evening meals. We visited Barnstaple, a small North Devon town about 10 miles away, usual and wide mix of standard retailers, not particularly attractive in our opinion but pleasant enough for a short visit if shops are desired.

Would recommend the apartment for its comfort and amazing sea view and Woolacombe area if you like walking and beach activities and a relaxed time. Just go in the Mini rather than the Mercedes !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sea and coast view
Liked least: the very tight parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on this lovely property.
We are so pleased that you had such a great time.
Since your stay we have ordered and about to install, in the car park, a plaque displaying the number and directions to number 3 Gull Rock, thank you for this feedback. The parking is tight here and we understand your comment about the mini during peak season!
We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The images of the property are completely accurate. The property was large, very comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The views from the property were amazing. Only stayed for long weekend, would definitely recommend and return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Hi There

Thank you for your lovely review, this is a beautiful apartment with stunning views over Woolacombe Bay.

We are so glad you enjoyed your short break and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Cottages in the future.

Many Thanks

The Ocean Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing