We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing, clean and friendly - perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warcombe Farm Camping Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a superb site. From the moment we first phoned to enquire about booking to the moment our holiday ended, the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, always with a smile and wave around the site and they often stopped for a chat, when we seized the chance to ask about walk directions or best eating places! Reception staff also very knowledgable and welcoming. Pitches large, mainly flat and with hook-ups, water, grey water waste where stipulated. Regular patrols and visibility of staff ensure there is no noise at night or too early which is undoubtedly helped by no bar/entertainment on site. Toilet / wash blocks are exceptionally clean and are testimony to the sheer hard work of everyone at Warcombe farm. Even with 24 hours of torrential rain, the facilities were spotlessly clean. Small shop for essentials, Londis in Woolacombe and village stores in Morthoe with larger supermarkets in Ilfracombe. There are some super walks from the site. Roughly 30 mins walk (steep in places) is Lee Bay, small sandy cove full of rockpools, shallow and very quiet, worth the walk for the views. Woolacombe is 25-30mins, again steep going down, either via Sandy Lane opposite site or through Twitchens site is also a pretty walk down. If you prefer something smaller than Woolacombe, Coombesgate Beach (towards Morthoe from Woolacombe) is great for children, rock pools and lovely huge warm pools when the tide goes out, much quieter than Woolacombe (no facilities though, beach only). Rockham is also worth the walk (from Morthoe), again, secluded, lots of rock pools, but no facilities. Have stayed in and around the area for many years and will certainly return to Warcombe as our first choice in the future. The friendliness, cleanliness and peacefullness make it an excellent family choice.

Room Tip: Pitches towards the top of the site may experience more wind however the views make up for that. Pi...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcazemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always nice to know that we are getting things right and that people appreciate all the hard work. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Warcombe Farm Camping Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

There is nothing they don't have and can't accommodate - even a bath! Great campsite for everyone and especially if you have children or a dog or both. Clean everything, well fed fish on spam and sweetcorn, takeaways on site with different themes, 14 acres for the dogs and loads of room for the kids to play. Super shop and morning orders of fresh bread and croissants - fabulous stay, we extended twice!! Great views of Wales too.

Room Tip: At the bottom of the site is the quieter (but it is NOT noisey at all) bit in the trees - lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie_Lillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Warcombe is large but friendly campsite, has all the amenities you would require. A say a large campsite because it is but it doesn't feel that way if your down the bottom end in the secluded pitches we had a very private pitch which was a walk to the toilets but worth it. Toilets and showers are very clean and never had to wait for a shower. The woodland walk was excellent for the dogs great to able to let them off the lead and have a good run round We also walked into Woolacombe one evening not far to walk little steep in places but ok.
All the staff on site very friendly and had a great recommendation for food.
We will be returning thank you Warcombe for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you and your dog had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have just come back from a 11 night stay at this wonderful campsite. After returning here for about the 7th year running, it still didn't let us down !! Staff are all really friendly and will help in any way. Agree with other reviews that it is less windy the further you pitch down the site. We had some lovely weather but also 2 days of torrential rain and the improvements to the drainage system seemed to have done the trick. We love this site as it is quiet and peaceful in the evening, so if you are looking for a rowdy get together into the late evening, this is not the site for you. ps. we didn't mind the guitar playing doughnut lol. Lovely clean showers etc in the main toilet block, though we found the family changing rooms a bit smelly(maybe young children missing the loo)
Will definitely be returning again next year

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a lovely review of the site, and also thank you for being such loyal customers. We always take on board any feedback that we receive. As you know we are always constantly cleaning the facilities and check on the cleanliness throughout the day I can only pressume that the smell that you are referring to was coming from the drains. Sometimes in peak season this has happened ( depending on the wind direction) because the septic drainage tanks are suddenly experiencing a huge surge in activity after a quiet start to the season. As a result of you raising this issue we are going to install air freshners. We also requested that our head grounsman check all the drains for any blockages or backup- none were found in this instance. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The campsite as a whole is very well laid out and the facilities are very clean and plentiful. Fishing in the lake is great with the kids and you cannot fail to catch at least some tiddlers, although I did see some monsters being pulled out. Shop is stocked enough for essentials, but has the usual campsite shop mark up on prices. There are some mobile take-away shops that visit on various days of the week, and although the pizza is nice, it is basic and very expensive for what you get. The fish and chips were better value, and we did not try the 'street food' stuff so cannot comment.
We had great weather but suffered one or two days torrential rain....so much so that there were weather warnings and localised flooding but our pitch (87) did not flood at all, and was very well sheltered from the wind that comes down the hill (felt for the people at the top near the entrance). We were in a very large tent.
I was under the impression that on our pitch was a brick built barbecue, but it is not....it is just a stand for your own BBQ, maybe I read it wrong?
Staff are all very friendly and there was very little noise after 10, apart from some doughnut with a guitar who felt the need to entertain us all whether we wanted it or not!
This campsite is a bit pricey but you are paying for the facilities etc. but it could do with more things for the kids to do, or maybe another playground nearer the centre of the site....the only one on the site is right next to the exit and entrance gates...i.e. road.
If you come here make sure you go to Woolacombe beach, Mortehoe village (turn right out of main exit) and dine at the Chichester Arms (serve food from 6pm)..... Also try the Rockleigh in Mortehoe for their takeaway food. The Red Barn in Woolacombe is awful for the food and service with a grimace.
This site is worth your money, try it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love this place, the staff are friendly and will do their utmost to make your stay pleasant. We had a caravan and awing and all of the facilities where on your pitch so no need to continue breaking your back and emptying the waste and refilling the water.
The facilities are very clean and there are take away companies that visit nearly every other night if you don't want to cook.
The fishing is excellent and even for a novice we caught 20 fish, bread and spam are the way forward.
There is a play area for the children as well.
The location is great with an good choice of beaches. Ignore the weather forecast for this area, showers can pass you by very easily and it could be chucking it down 2 miles away.
Brilliant - hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: Good for a top of the range pitch if you have a caravan..
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just come back from an enjoyable 6 days at Warcombe. The pitches are fabulous, they are spacious and well spread out. Our pitch was nice and quiet and close to the toilet facilities. Toilet facilities were very good. We were by the smaller block and there was always toilets and showers available. Shower rooms/ large wet rooms were very spacious and well thought out, with loos, sinks and paper towels too, the squeegy was a great addition. The park is great. The fishing lake was amazing, we caught 22 fish!! Will definitely be coming again. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. Would give 5 stars if the taps were free running and didn't keep turning off after 2 seconds and if the shower temp was adjustable. They were very generously warm, which is ideal for a cold day, but too hot on a hot day!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments regarding the showers have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
865 reviews
4.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
118 reviews
8.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warcombe Farm Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warcombe Farm Camping Park

Address: Station Road | EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Warcombe Farm Camping Park Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing