We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a site with the most helpful team!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warcombe Farm Camping Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I guess the problem is with a 5 star review of this wonderful site is that it will become more popular and then we won't be able to book!! That's just me being selfish. So, what about the site? Well, it's a lovely place, not overly big but generous in terms of pitch sizes for touring tents and vans. From the friendly welcome to then being guided to your pitch, everything here is just brilliant.

You have a reasonably well stocked shop for emergency essentials, plus good (and importantly) clean on-site showers and toilets in one block. The layout of the site is also very good, featuring a fishing lake in the middle.

The top end of the site features fairly open pitches, grass and hard standing, most serviced with water, waste and electricity whilst lower down on the site, you can choose a more private pitch secluded by trees and bushes. We elected to stay at the top as we wanted to be close to the play area so we could watch the kids having a good time whilst we sat out front keeping a watchful eye.

The staff always seemed happy to help, and to give them extra credit, when our car decided to break down we knew we would have to extend our stay unexpectedly by one night, the team were more than happy to sort us out and would even help to move us if they needed our pitch (as it may have been booked).

Access to the site is pretty good, the last remaining road up to the site is wide enough in most places for cars to get through, but some parts do narrow. The site is literally half a mile up this road, so no great problems there.

So are there downsides to this lovely site? Well, a few minor points.

The 5MPH speed limit was NOT observed by many irresponsible drivers and on a couple of occasions we needed to stop our 5 year old from crossing the track way when cars were coming as they seemed to pay no attention to the children playing in the park and the possibility one could run out (even though the main areas of the park are fenced, the zip wire is not). I think this could easily be rectified by adding speed humps.

Pitches at the top end of the site are much higher up and are obviously prone to the elements including the wind - be prepared to really tie down your tent or awning.

Local ciders - it would have been great to have the shop stock some local West Country ciders or ales. All that seemed to be on offer was Belgian cider and the usual European lagers!

Noise - although not a major problem, the noise does not really subside until at least 11pm, the park seems to be in use quite late (although there was a note to say this was not to be used past dusk) and I know the site wardens are out and about checking noise levels.

A swimming pool would be nice! (Note to the owners: if you are not making any money from the fishing pond there's an idea!!)

All the above points are very minor, and I cannot say enough good things about this site - Warcombe Farm is thoroughly recommended and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our site. We always take on board any suggestions offered to us by our campers. Our wardens at around 10.30pm walk the site and ensure that any noise is not excessive as we are aware that people are starting to settle down for the night (but let's not forget that people are on holiday). Our staff are constantly monitoring the speed of the cars around the site and we will consider speed bumps for the future. With regard to the play area, annually we are inspected by a independent play inspection company to ensure we comply with all the necessary requirements.
Thank you again for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in this idyllic location and we have only one complaint......I should have booked longer!! We are going to check the calendar and book next years holiday ASAP and for longer!
The site is immaculate; so well set up and all the pitches are great, plenty of privacy and all the amenities you should need (electric, water, picnic tables, etc.).
The welcome was warm and genuine and we were even shown to our pitch by Paul in his golf cart. He didn't offer to put our tent up for us......but did laugh when we asked if he would!!
As mentioned by many other reviews.......the washroom facilities are second to none. Well designed, modern, CLEAN, warm and well equipped. Honestly, having a shower here is a pleasure, not something to dread like at most campsites I've stayed in!
We took our dog and he loved it! This campsite is well set up for dogs with a fantastic dog walking area. Lots of like minded families with dogs to chat to on the walk area and our dog had great fun!
We had half a days fishing on the lake which was great fun. My 9year old son loved it as there are so many fish you are assured of lots of bites. I had a quick go and caught 4 fish in quick succession! The shop even stocks corn/luncheon meat for bait. We hired equipment from them which was fine, and much easier than trying to pack your own.
Talking of the shop....it's jam packed with everything you could think of! Even ice blocks for hire for your cool box/picnic.
There is plenty to do around the area with Woolacombe beach being our favourite. If you go up the end of Marine drive, you can take your dog on the beach without a lead all year. If you want to go rock pooling, the Morthoe end of the beach is better. You can take dogs here but they must stay on the lead.
Ilfracombe is worth a look around.....but it is looking a bit tired these days! The Ilfracombe Fryer is best for fish n chips......the one by the harbour is a bit greasy. Walk up to the top of the hill opposite for a great view.
Sadly packed up today for the journey home......whilst packing found a toad under our car. Showed Paul (one of the friendly workers) who asked if we had paid for him to be camping with us! GSOH. We even got stopped at the gates leaving to extend the joke and asked to come into the reception to pay for our toad!!!! We left smiling and can't wait for next year to return!!

Room Tip: Any pitch would not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you had a great time with us and do hope that you decide to come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Third time here and again it was perfect. This campsite spoils you completely from the 5 star amenity blocks to the tranquil setting. We love that the site is quiet and is so peaceful in the evenings.

The staff again have been fab, always friendly and going above and beyond for everyone. There is lots do to in the surrounding areas, this time we did the tractor and trailer rice, a 12 mile bike ride, hubby fished on the lake for a couple if days and hubby and son went down to the trout farm near Barnstaple and caught us tea. We also took a trip to Padstow to sample Rick Steins delights. I would highly recommend. New additions this time were the different food wagons that came in. All were Fab, stone baked pizzas matched the standards in Italy, Paella from The Cauldron was as nice as what I've sampled in Barcelona and I have to say Miles fish and chips were nicer then Magpies in Whitby! I'm sure I've missed so much out but I cannot stress how lovely and perfect this site is for couples and families. We love it!! Thank you for making our holidays full of memories, we are planning next years visits already!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Gemma it is always a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again soon. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a week at this campsite and I have to say its the best site we have ever stayed at, the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble the toilet and shower blocks are first class. I did find myself trying to find fault with the site but could find a thing wrong, I thought I found one small fault as I went to the toilet block and there was no soap in the dispenser... I thought aha got ya... Only to find a guy standing behind me waiting to fill it up. I will be going back to this site for sure, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a fabulous week here 10-17th August. The campsite is lovely, we had a pitch by the lake and it felt very special. Sampled the pizzas - almost thought we were in Italy!! The wash facilities are 5* and the staff are great. Enjoyed surfing at the local beaches, just quite sad to leave really. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuddyswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do try very hard at Warcombe Farm to make everyone feel welcome and also ensure that the facilities are kept clean. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at this campsite and can highly recommend it. The facilities are excellent, particularly the washrooms of which a hotel would be proud!! Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff who are always on hand to help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that all our hard work is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a superb site. From the moment we first phoned to enquire about booking to the moment our holiday ended, the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, always with a smile and wave around the site and they often stopped for a chat, when we seized the chance to ask about walk directions or best eating places! Reception staff also very knowledgable and welcoming. Pitches large, mainly flat and with hook-ups, water, grey water waste where stipulated. Regular patrols and visibility of staff ensure there is no noise at night or too early which is undoubtedly helped by no bar/entertainment on site. Toilet / wash blocks are exceptionally clean and are testimony to the sheer hard work of everyone at Warcombe farm. Even with 24 hours of torrential rain, the facilities were spotlessly clean. Small shop for essentials, Londis in Woolacombe and village stores in Morthoe with larger supermarkets in Ilfracombe. There are some super walks from the site. Roughly 30 mins walk (steep in places) is Lee Bay, small sandy cove full of rockpools, shallow and very quiet, worth the walk for the views. Woolacombe is 25-30mins, again steep going down, either via Sandy Lane opposite site or through Twitchens site is also a pretty walk down. If you prefer something smaller than Woolacombe, Coombesgate Beach (towards Morthoe from Woolacombe) is great for children, rock pools and lovely huge warm pools when the tide goes out, much quieter than Woolacombe (no facilities though, beach only). Rockham is also worth the walk (from Morthoe), again, secluded, lots of rock pools, but no facilities. Have stayed in and around the area for many years and will certainly return to Warcombe as our first choice in the future. The friendliness, cleanliness and peacefullness make it an excellent family choice.

Room Tip: Pitches towards the top of the site may experience more wind however the views make up for that. Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcazemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikenJudith, Manager at Warcombe Farm Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always nice to know that we are getting things right and that people appreciate all the hard work. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
4.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 24 in Ilfracombe
448 reviews
4.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warcombe Farm Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warcombe Farm Camping Park

Address: Station Road | EX34 7EJ, Mortehoe, Woolacombe, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Warcombe Farm Camping Park Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing