We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a group in stunning area!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Crescent, Mortehoe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Crescent, Mortehoe
The Buttery and Cromlech House, The Crescent, Mortehoe Grunta Beach, a short walk down the hill through National Trust land
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
23 reviews
The Crescent, Mortehoe
The Buttery and Cromlech House, The Crescent, Mortehoe
Grunta Beach, a short walk down the hill through National Trust land
Kitchen in The Buttery
Bedroom 1 in The Buttery
Front room in The Buttery
Rear balcony in The Buttery
bathroom 2 in The Buttery
Blue car is outside The Buttery, silver car is outside Cromlech House
Kitchen in Cromlech House
Front room in Cromlech House
Cromlech House entrance
Bathroom 1 in Cromlech House
Bathroom 2 in Cromlech House
ground floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery, 2b is Cromlech House)
1st floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery, 2b is Cromlech House)
2nd floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery, 2b is Cromlech House)
Buttery dining table in 18-seater configuration
Buttery dining table in 14-seater configuration
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hicko83
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a group in stunning area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I organised a stag group to stay at The Crescent for the weekend and it was perfect. The adjoining houses are perfect for a big group and the place has been fitted to a high standard. The information and tips from Dom is the lead up to the weekend were excellent and I would definitely recommend the Crescent to other large groups. Mortehoe itself is a very picturesque village with loads of sea-based activities on offer at the many beaches including the amazing Woolacombe Bay. Can't recommend the area and The Crescent enough, it was a FANTASTIC weekend!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJMN1983
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and spacious houses in a fantastic location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

All the rooms are decorated beautifully and are very spacious. It was ideal renting both houses for our group of 18. Everyone had a good bed (the couple of sofabeds were large and comfortable) and there were plenty of bathrooms. The village of Mortehoe is lovely with several nice pubs, a village shop and more. You can get straight on to the stunning coastal paths. Woolacombe is a short walk away along the road or coast path, although we tended to drive as we had picnics and bodyboards! We could have stayed a lot longer and would love to return. The owner's communication was excellent.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful, spacious rooms and sunny balconies
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haddons
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Ideal house for large groups, interconnecting, plenty of space for little ones to explore, and National Trust headland walk within seconds. Lovely pub across the road for a swift one. Really nicely appointed had everything we needed for a fantastic weekend.
You can walk into Woolacombe along the beach which is about a mile, which all of the kids managed and the walk round Morte point is dramatic. Thoroughly recommend

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the hill
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lankytore...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Crescent for a 70th birthday celebration as a 10 person group and we were all very happy with our choice. The adjoining properties are both lovely and provide plenty of space for large groups. The location is stunning with great access to lots of local tourist attractions. The owners, Dominic and Iona, deserve special mention for ensuring everything went smoothly with our booking.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camus1953
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Crescent offers outstanding accomodation in this beautiful part of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We rented both properties at The Crescent for the whole family (16 in total) to celebrate Mum's 90th birthday. The accommodation is first class - modern, clean and very spacious. It is very well equipped and the large kitchen in The Buttery was perfect for our celebrations. The owner, Dominic, has been quick and efficient at sorting out our booking and answering any queries. Although we didn't get to meet him, he made us feel very welcome through his emails and is obviously very keen to know that his tennants enjoy their stay. The location is ideal, close to all the village amenities and just a mile from the beautiful beach at Woolacombe. The walks across fields and cliff tops are endless and there are places of interest to visit near by. We will definately be returning.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The houses were very spacious, ideal for our large family group
Liked least: The walk up the hill from Woolacombe was a little taxing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana f
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic little corner in North Devon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Cromlech House. The house is spacious and comfortable with the most beautiful sunlight and location. We could walk to the beach, with all amenities nearby.
We did the circular walk to Bull Point & Morte Point, and visited Woolcombe and Croyde.
Perfect place for surfing, walking or cycling or doing nothing at all. I would definitely recommended to anyone and if you are part of a group, you will find a well-equipped kitchen with a large kitchen table too.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: high ceilings, sunlight
Liked least: not having a garden?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Location
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$324
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing