We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome, Amazing, Epic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cromlech House

front room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front room
kitchen/dining Floorplans
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
front room
kitchen/dining
Floorplans
bedroom 1
front entrance
bedroom 2, in Aug 2011 before it was furnished
bathroom 1
bedroom 3
bedroom 4
bedroom 4
bedroom 1's bay window and french doors to private balcony
The Crecent, Mortehoe
Mortehoe church
Grunta beach
Woolacombe, Barricane Combesgate and Grunta beaches
The Crecent, Mortehoe
bathroom 2
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brito_34
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome, Amazing, Epic”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went on holiday to Mortehoe. We found The Cromlech House online. We were SO HAPPY with the house and location. Morte Point offered amazing hiking. You must hike to Bull Point lighthouse.
The house was perfectly located, and exceedingly comfortable for our family (Grandmother, Parents, 2 children). Our children loved the house - so spacious and plenty of games.
Views from every window were so refreshing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo J
1 review
“Great holiday Accomodation within easy walk to beaches for two families”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our second stay at cromlech and have already booked again for next year.
The rooms are all good sizes and the house well equiped and very comfortable for two families. A big plus was having bedding and towels provided.
The house is ideally located in the centre of mortehoe which offers all the amenities including several pubs and the best cream teas locally at Town farmhouse. The village shop offers a great selection of local food and the fish from the chip shop which has recently been taken over was amazing.
The house does not have recreational us of the garden but with the park in the village, the headland across the road and the beaches within 5-10 min walk down the hill this was never an issue.
Overall great holiday property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zski2
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a long weekend at Cromlech House with a small group of friends. The House is very well appointed, and is in superb decorative order. Clearly there has been a lot of attention to detail and there isn't anything we would have changed!

Dealing with Dominic was very easy and straightforward and the information provided to help support our stay was just right. The area itself is beautiful and Mortehoe is well positioned as a base to explore the surroundings.

Without doubt we will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita G
Aldridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious modern and comfortable house finished to a high standard in one of the best locations in the UK.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Cromlech house last weekend - Friday to Sunday. Although we had only booked a two night stay the owner Dom allowed us to check out as late as we wanted on Sunday which made it a lovely long relaxed weekend. I have to say that Dom has been most helpful throughout the whole booking procedure, full of useful information and even asked for ideas of how to improve future stays - of which I couldn't think of many! Any suggestions I did make were welcomed and acted upon.
We previously stayed at Cromlech in 2008 prior to Dom and Iona's conversion in 2010 when the property was a rambling 10 bedroom house in need of some TLC. Although we enjoyed our previous stay vast improvement has now been made and despite the fact that the house has been split in two still retains the feel of spaciousness with a breakfast kitchen that easily seats two families with children. The master bedroom is very spacious as is the twin room with additional sofa bed which makes up into a large double - ideal for children. The further two double rooms are also extremely comfortable with plenty of storage and comfortable beds. The two bathrooms - one on each of the bedroom floors are finished to a high standard with a really good shower on the first floor one and a bath on the second floor one. Other plus points to the house was the free wifi of which the children made good and constant use! Also lots of books and games are provided which gives the place a real homely feel. Although we spent most of the day times out and about it was lovely to come back to Cromlech in the late afternoon/evening for a home cooked relaxing meal around the large kitchen table and then a comfortable seat in the lounge.
Needless to say this will not be our last visit to Cromlech house and hopefully next time it be a longer one! All credit to Dom for his attention to detail and excellent communication throughout. All in all a fantastic place :))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel and modern but comfortable feel of the place.
Liked least: If you are bringing dogs - I suppose it's a bit awkward letting them out or leaving the kitchen door open. But not a big problem really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Dominic was fantastic to deal with, being very helpful and organised, so much so that the housekeeping deposit is already back in my account. Cromlech house is in a great location on a quiet road, in the centre of the village. It was well cleaned and has an excellent family kitchen. Dominic kindly arranged, for a reasonable fee, for the house to be cleaned at the end of the first week, during our two week stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janejones...
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house in a fabulous location! Lovely views in a great village atmosphere, a stone's throw from the pub. Nice to be near Woolacombe (literally 5 mins drive) but a little bit out in the lovely village of Mortehoe. A very comfortable house with lovely interior decoration. The owner is so helpful and friendly and fabulous to deal with. The only minus is there is no outdoor area or terrace, but when you're all day at the beach and you have the pub garden over the road it's not too much of a problem! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and interior design
Liked least: No outdoor area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatDen90
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, perfect house.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Cromlech House as a surprise for my very chilled out and relaxed hen do. I was over the moon when we got to Mortehoe and walked in to a beautiful, huge house with great bedrooms and amazing views. It was very clean and well looked after, it looked newly decorated and very well furnished. We stayed the first weekend of June 2013, and were extremely lucky with the weather. We walked to the beach every day. The trek back up the hill was a killer but well worth it for the location and the views- Plus made us feel better for lying around on the beach all day!
The village of Mortehoe was lovely, with three little pubs and a great pasty shop! I would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: The big hill! But i'd do it all again and again!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing