We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the risk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was in two minds whether to risk turning up on Friday afternoon for a chance space at this site...we did and it was worth the risk as the views of the ocean are just stunning.

Good things about this site.........
Waking up to the view of the ocean and the sunsets
Staff on reception and shop were helpful and friendly
Laundry worked, shop was good
Toilets were always clean, well lit and showers were hot and clean with hooks for clothes and a little seat in so your clothes don't get wet....and they drained
Good value for money
Nice play areas for children
Nearby beautiful village of Mortehoe


Not so good things about this site..........
The access road is super small which means when you walk to the town you are constantly passed really close by cars, not so good with young kids.
Most of the site is VERY HILLY and not flat so you would be in luck to find a flat pitch
The site is VERY EXPOSED so you are subject to high winds and rain if the weather turns

On balance I think for a short stay in a tent it is a lovely site - I had a look at the touring pitches and they were less inclined so if I were in a caravan and could brave the access road this site would be on my list. I am not sure I would take my family tent but in a campervan or smaller tent I would be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigercake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

North Morte Farm campsite is a wonderful get-away for anybody, whether you are old or young, single or with family or friends. The campsite itself is off a small road in Mortehoe, and is easy to locate, with numerous signs along the incoming roads. The pricing seemed very reasonable, with no added extras( such as shower tokens). The location is fantastic, with stunning views overlooking the sea, my favourite being when I woke one morning to a bright, warm summer's day to catch the outline of Lundy Island, and a ferry jetting of in its direction, under the cloudless sky. You are not allocated a pitch per say, but rather you can choose anywhere on free on the campsite to pitch. The areas to pitch vary tremendously, with very few overly flat pieces of land. As the campsite is on the peak of a hill, you can end up right on top, where you are closer to the loos and on flater land, or lower around the edges, where it is slightly less flat and further from the loos. It is worth exploring the campsite on arrival before pitching to find your perfect spot, especially around the edges, where there are nice, secluded spots with flat ground and splendid views of the surrounding fields and ocean.

The open view of the ocean can be a disadvantage, due to the wind, which is usually always present. It was only light wind during the day for us, however we had hot, sunny weather everyday. It was more noticable in the evenings, when it became a bit chilly, but certianly not a hazard nor did itaffect our grilling or gourmet cooking. In stormy conditions however you certianly would be at nature's mercy, and cooking would be a no go, although we didn't actually experience this ourselves. The wind here was definetely the biggest gripe for us.

The toilets and showers were clean, with many toilets, showers and sinks for when the campsite was busy. The showers themselves were a bit old school, with a push button which only provided flowing water for a short space of time, we would of much preferred to have payed for a token in exchange for say 10 mins of continous flowing water. There is also a washing up room for cleaning up which did its job. For water there were taps dotted around the campsite, and bins for rubbish and recyling were also present.

In terms of things to do, you can go into Woolacombe where there is the main beach, which is accessible by foot or vehicle. The walk is about 25 mins, but is a good way to become accustomed to the local area. A cab from the beach back to the campsite is about £5, which is good value. This beach is huge and is mainly a surfing beach, which gets busy. For swimming there is another beach, about 5 minutes walk from the campsite, down a little path, called 'Rockham Beach.' It is quiet, and catches sun down at night! There are also nice coastal paths around the area, where you can go one way to the lighthouse and back round to the campsite or the other way into Mortehoe.

Mortehoe itself is a small village, which is home to three pubs, of which two we visited, and can safely say are gorgeous, with some of the tastiest ales and lagers around. We liked the Chicester Arms, and suggest you check it out too.

Overall we had a very positive experience, and would definitely visit again, dependant on the weather. The area surrounding is calm, with numerous things to do, and the campsite was clean, with brilliant views. If you are looking to visit, go ahead and visit for a couple of days, and be prepared to enjoy!

Overview
GOOD- Great views, spacious campsite, clean loos, good pricing, lovely, calm area.
BAD- Windy, not the flatest pitches, showers need renewing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We've stayed at North Morte Farm before but this was the first time we camped for a week. Love this site, ticks all the boxes. Excellent on site facilities (showers/toilets/recycling/shop), walking distance to the village pub (always a bonus) and 20 min walk down to Woolacombe beach.We stayed the week of the 15th July and had cracking sunshine everyday. Beaches and small coves are great and walked to Ilfracombe along the coastal path, 5 miles but well worth it plus you get to see "Verity" Damien Hirst's sculpture.Fantastic sunsets and amazing sea views from the campsite. Do have fish and chips from the chip van that comes on a Sat. evening, best fish and chips ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was my first camping experience and what a great place to stay. Views and walks were fantastic. Site was so clean and the showers/toilets were spotless, even had hair dryers. Dogs allowed and mine made plenty of new friends. Get to the shop early to get fresh croissants. Fresh fish van visits the site and has a great selection. You can even order BBQ platters which they will deliver to your door (or flap in our case). People who run the site were really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank softemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had brilliant time at North Morte campsite again, perfect location on a perfect site, great facilities, great staff and great shop with a young boss in waiting ! Thanks Keith and Rachel and Toby the dog from Lochwinnoch.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We've just come home from 5 days staying at North Morte Farm. In this weather, it's like heaven on earth! Staff are all polite and friendly and the shower and toilet facilities always so clean. The shop has everything you could need and isn't over-priced as some convenience shops are. We hired iceblocks everyday which was really cheap. We walked to the beach most days and got the bus back up the steep hill for £1.25 which i'd recommend if you don't fancy the walk! If you appreciate good views, this place is for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect location with stunning views and the most delightful sunset. Camp site very clean, shop well stocked and not to overpriced. We were quite away from the shower and toilet block so needed to plan toilet runs and the access to the beach us very steep but worth the trip as the beach is secluded and full of rock pools as well as being shallow enough for children. Will definitely return but will pick a spot closer to the loos !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Purpleweej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
4.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
4.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 24 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mortehoe
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
North Morte Farm Caravan And Camping Park
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park Hotel Mortehoe
North Morte Farm Caravan & Camping Park Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing