We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you next year!”
Review of Cleeve House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleeve House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“See you next year!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

David and Anne Strobel are the perfect hosts! They could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Wine Room with a lovely en-suite shower room. The room was absolutely spotless and the bed was very comfortable.

We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast choice, I do not think there was anything they did not offer for breakfast from the usual full English to smoked salmon and kippers! The only thing that would have made our breakfast experience nicer (for us) would have been to have some background music. My husband and I are quite sociable people, some of the other guests were very quiet and we found the silence quite uncomfortable, especially when your trying to eat your toast quietly! However, we appreciate that is just our opinion, we should think there are just as many people that would not like background music so you cannot please all of the people all of the time!

Next time we come we will request the Blue Room as there is a view of the sea. Although, all the rooms offer views.

We have stayed in many B&B's and we both agreed that this one was up there with the best. We wish David and Anne every future success with their lovely little hotel.

Mortehoe is a beautiful village and is just a short distance from Woolacomb, Ilfracombe and Lynmouth and Linton and many other attractions in North Devon. Mortehoe offers some lovely village pubs with very good restaurant facilities.

Thank you David and Anne, we had a lovely short break and hope to return soon.

Linda & Bruce Wallace.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindarose1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great stay at this guest house, the whole place was immaculately clean, our room (peach) was the best, sparkling brand new on suite, lots of hot water for baths etc, nice and quite at night.
T he breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel or guest house we have stayed in, all the food came hot and most locally bought, anything extra you needed was provided by David with a smile.
The owners David and Anne could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay anything we needed they tried there best to provide it.
The guest house is in a lovely little village called Morthoe, nice old country pubs and a great fish and chip shop, the walk to Moorcombe is about a mile all downhill, but you can get a bus back. If you enjoy walking then this the place for you, there are some super walks on the national trust land especialy coastal walks. If you want a nice quite country stay with lots of fresh air then don`t hesitate and book the Cleeve house.

Room Tip: Peach room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EDWARDO187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A warm welcome, very customer focused service, first class breakfast choice of menu and quality of food, spotless rooms with all required amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed for 5 nights, in a charming large room with everything you need, with wonderful views from both of our windows.a very peaceful place to stay.
Anne and David are lovely people, who really care about the guests, and look after you so well, nothing is to much trouble.
The breakfast is served in a nice room where you can watch the sheep on the hill, while you eat, great menu, we enjoyed all the choices over our stay.
The best place to stay in Devon without a doubt!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jake37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Anne and David made every effort to make us feel at home. The food was excellent, with lots of local ingredients, fresh vegetables, home made bread, indeed a real treat. Such thoughtful hosts, lovely small touches.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were given a very warm welcome by Anne & David the en suite room was very clean & comfortable. The food was delicious with a lot of choice for breakfast.Mortehoe is very attractive with plenty of nice walks.

A & J Wood Stockport

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The quality of this hotel is excellent,You would after to go agood way to find service and quality this hotel has to offer.The food is excellent home cooked and served personally by the proprietors themselves nothing was to much trouble,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabeljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
799 reviews
4.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#10 of 21 in Woolacombe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleeve House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleeve House Hotel

Property: Cleeve House Hotel
Address: North Morte Road | Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the sea and minutes from Exmoor, this small Hotel/Guest House is in a great location. Fantastic food made from local ingredients. Friendly hosts who will help make your stay memorable. A place you will want to return to. Free parking, but no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleeve House Hotel Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing