We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cleeve House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mortehoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cleeve House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Mortehoe B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst touring Devon and wished we had found this hotel earlier. Warm welcome and cream tea on arrival , room was spotlessly clean and excellent breakfast. Beautiful location, would highly recommend. Hope to visit again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This holiday was planned as a relaxing short break in pleasant surroundings for my husband, my mother and myself and Cleeve House Hotel did not disappoint, in fact it exceeded our expectations.
On arrival we were welcomed on the doorstep by Anne, who invited us into her home and offered us a delicious cream tea.
After a good nights rest in spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, we were served a wonderful full english breakfast by David, complimented by a selection of cereals, fresh fruit and home made yogurt and preserves.
Anne and David made us all feel very welcome, and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay with them.
Many thanks Anne and David, to you both for your warm hospitality
We hope to visit you again soon

Room Tip: The Pink Room on the ground floor is excellent for guests that are disabled or struggle with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was the third time that we have stayed at the hotel and the 5 star rating says it all. The owners David and Anne are very welcoming providing a cream tea when we arrived. The food, rooms and service and attention to detail are excellent. It is quite obvious that they take every care to ensure that your stay with them is first class.
We walked and cycled in the area, using the efficient local bus service to travel to Braunton and Saunton Sands.

Room Tip: All are good, very quiet situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I spent five relaxing days at Cleeve House. We could not have chosen a better place to stay with regard to personal service and wonderfully cooked meals. Our room was cleanly presented with a correspondingly high standard of cleanliness in the en-suite facilities.
The owners David and Anne are obviously caring people and it was a privilege to meet them.
If you are looking for a hotel in N.Devon where you will be able to quietly relax and enjoy delicious food, then you need look no further!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maurice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just returned home, having spent a week at this hotel and can honestly say that it has been the best break I have had in years.

As for the food, well, I just couldn't rate it high enough, from the generous breakfasts to the excellent 3 course dinners. All cooked to a very high standard and all delicious.
I would definitely return here with my family.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tbark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My 97 year old father, my husband and I have just returned from another lovely break at Cleeve House. Once again Anne and David made us feel very welcome with their fantastic food and very comfortable accommodation. The setting of Cleeve House in the beautiful village of Mortehoe is both breathtaking and peaceful. We cannot recommend this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: The Blue Room at the back of Cleeve House has a great view of the surrounding hills and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElandDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A beautiful location.From our room we could see the sea,looking over a hill crowned with gorse.The room was squeaky clean,well furnished and the bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was ample,freshly made with very little oil used in the cooking and tasted delicious.We will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortehoe
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 5 in Mortehoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View Farmers
Bay View Farmers
#3 of 4 in Mortehoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleeve House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleeve House Hotel

Property: Cleeve House Hotel
Address: North Morte Road | Woolacombe, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe > Mortehoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mortehoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the sea and minutes from Exmoor, this small Hotel/Guest House is in a great location. Fantastic food made from local ingredients. Friendly hosts who will help make your stay memorable. A place you will want to return to. Free parking, but no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cleeve House Hotel Mortehoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing