We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely warm cottage, great village , will be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy C
Synod Inn
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely warm cottage, great village , will be back”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed here with a friend in March, cold weather but lovely and cosy inside. Lots of logs in the woodshed although we had to buy kindling and firefighters from the village shop. Well equipped plus welcome pack of scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam, a nice touch. Key safe was a little stiff to operate, but we just kept the key out after we got it open the first time. Lots of parking, 2 good pubs within a few minutes walk, both with excellent food and friendly staff, The Chichester particularly became our favourite when we were snowed in for 2 days! Cottage WiFi was good, mobile reception generally patchy in the village otherwise although The Chichester had good WiFi too. Village shop is a gem plus there is a post office shop too. The deli and takeaway weren’t open as a week too early in the season. Good horse riding at Woolacombe stables. Friendly housekeeper Cath who I didn’t meet but who kindly couriered a parcel back as I stupidly left a bag of jackets behind. We will most definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
So glad you had a nice stay, despite the snow!! Look forward to seeing you again (and we'll look into the key safe for next time!) Many Thanks, Cath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
So glad you had a nice time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kirsty j
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I booked Mailscot Cottage as a surprise short break for my husbands birthday. We bought our two dogs with us & all enjoyed a very relaxing time, with afternoon kips in front of the log burner. The perfect place to get away from it all & it was sooooo quite, bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueoutten
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage. Came across by chance for a short break in November. Cream tea awaited us on arrival. Beds all made up. Cottage itself is just lovely. Big wood burner for the cold November evening. Big high ceilings, lovely decor big garden. So so happy we found this gem and will definitely be returning !!!!!!! Dog friendly but you wouldn't know as didn't smell at all !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review and glad you had a lovely time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent three nights here over a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage is well appointed with everything you could need for your stay. The rooms are very light due to the beautiful almost floor to ceiling windows.

The furniture is comfy and fits in very well with the period cottage. Morte point and the lovely village of Morthoe are right on your doorstep and the cottage is a warm, cosy base to return to after a long walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing