We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Georgian Manor with Grand Accommodation - Great for Cyclists”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Tawton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nichols Nymet House
Ranked #1 of 1 North Tawton B&B and Inns
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Georgian Manor with Grand Accommodation - Great for Cyclists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

In addition to B&B, Nichols Nymet House also provides self catering apartments and Manor House rental (over Christmas and New Year).

The B&B accommodation is contained within the main body of the grand Georgian Manor House. A magnificent double staircase sweeps you up to the rooms which are large, spacious and very well decorated and appointed. The bathroom was warm and comfortable and accessed through what almost felt like a passageway. Apparently though, this is just the thickness of the wall through which the doorway has been cut: Paul, the host, informed me that the house is part cob construction, which is unusual in a manor house of the period.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept deeply and soundly. Having arrived in the dark I wasn't quite sure were I was but the absolute silence spoke of being deep in the countryside.

Paul was very amenable and provided me with an early breakfast so that I could get away early to cycle the 122 miles to my next stop. The breakfast itself was fantastic. Cereals, muesli, porridge and toast, washed down with orange juice and coffee. By the time the cooked breakfast arrived I was already near capacity. Now I know why it is called a 'full' English - I could barely move. I'm not normally a breakfast person but it was delicious. And all served in the huge kitchen. I think my entire house could have fitted in it.

The hosts, Muriel and Paul, were excellent: very accommodating but with just the right balance between helpful assistance and leaving you alone, which is just what you need after a hard day's cycling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoystonWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
9
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a lovely evening here complete with music concert. Lovely setting with amazing views and avery warm welcome from our hosts Paul and Muriel.Comfortable night and one of the best Breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK2492010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nichols nymet offered us a very scenic and peaceful stay. The owners are very welcoming and helpful and even helped with first aid for my daughter who had fell at a park, cutting her knee!
The breakfast was superb; very tasty and fresh.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryandDan1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at Nichols Nymet for 5 nights. We received a very warm welcome and quickly settled in. Our rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean, room 1 had stunning views from the huge window. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, fresh fruit, cereals, full English breakfast, orange juice, coffee and an abundance of toast! The food provided was clearly of a very good quality and we cleared our plates every day. Muriel introduced us to their rescue dogs Brace and Nash only when she realised we were dog lovers, 2 gorgeous dogs who have found their forever homes.
We were made to feel very welcome indeed and both Paul & Muriel have good knowledge of the area and things to do. We will definitely stay here again, the house is full of character and we loved our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the cottages with my family for a weeks holiday. Great accommodation. Great views from the house. We would definitely go back again! The owners were brilliant if we needed them. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed the cottage.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at the weekend and it was very convenient for our needs. The breakfasts were good and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The house itself however, I would say, is very tired and needs a significant amount spent on it to bring it up to date. Also the standard of the finish leaves a little to be desired. We were in room 1 which has an absolutely fabulous view across the Devonshire hills and the sheep in the adjoining field were charming. This kind of made up for the bed which was pretty uncomfortable and being an old wooden four-poster made the most embarrassing banging noises when all we were doing was turning over!

Room Tip: Book room 1 for the most stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindianabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSG100, Owner at Nichols Nymet House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about us and the stunning views that we have at our home - Nichols Nymet House. We were surprised and sorry that you found the bed comfort not to your liking, as we have never had negative comments about it before - indeed the previous review of this room says they "slept like a log".

We are also sorry that you thought the bed was a little noisy, and had you pointed this out after your first night we would have been happy to investigate this for you.

However. we are glad that you had a lovely weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed here just one night after a family wedding but really loved it. Sat on the garden chairs looking over the view with a glass of wine before bed, then slept like a log and woke to a fabulous breakfast the next day. Lovely family and the dogs were great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateSMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nichols Nymet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nichols Nymet House

Property: Nichols Nymet House
Address: Higher Nichols Nymett, North Tawton EX20 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > North Tawton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Tawton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Georgian Manor House offering Bed and Breakfast, in the heart of Devon with lovely views - close to Dartmoor. Peaceful location. 3 spacious rooms (including 4 Poster and family suite) all with full size en-suite bathrooms. Full English Manor House breakfast. Large Gardens with Georgian Summer House. Overlooking open fields and lakes - set well away from the road. Large driveway with ample parking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nichols Nymet House North Tawton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing