We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We've had a lovely stay, everything is just right, we've had a very relaxing stay. Linda & Bob make you feel very welcome & we will definitely be back again next year. The room is lovely & our breakfasts have been tiptop!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    40
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
189
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from 6 nights at this great little B&B hotel. Comfortable room that was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Excellent breakfasts with a good choice on the menu.

Linda & Bob were charming hosts, full of friendly advice on the surrounding locations. We couldn't have expected better! Parking a little bit tight but ok if taken carefully.

Shaldon is a great location for a relaxing week with easy access to all the best of Devon (don't miss Buckfast Abbey, Dartmoor and the Teignmouth/Paignton/Dartmouth train, steam-train & river Dart boat trip). And for a really good hostelry pop along to the The Coombe Cellars in Combeinteignhead (a couple of miles away).

So 'Thank you' to Linda & Bob for a really nice relaxing week; wish we lived closer so that we could visit you more often!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volketswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The guest house is very well situated in the nice little village near by the water. Unfortunately the cottages has to be refurbish, especially the bath. The size of the cottages was generously. The temperature in the breakfast room was too cold, breakfast was o.k. The hosts were nice but not to hospitably.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda2688, Owner at Potters Mooring Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us in June, I am unable to ascertain when you stayed as a name hasn't been given. I am surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had you approached us during your stay we would have done our utmost to make you more comfortable, regarding not getting what you paid for again with out a booking number or booking name it is difficult for me to trace your booking, you were however booked into a cottage suite it appear from your comments and not a room, you could not of possibly paid for anything more than a cottage suite. All of our cottages were re-decorated in March/April of this year. Regarding the cleanliness our staff are extremely thorough and our rooms and cottages are spotlessly clean at all times and serviced everyday, had you of brought to our attention the slightest complaint about the cottage it would have been dealt with immediately. I am also sorry that you found the Dining room cold during June!! We welcome everbody to our home with open arms and like all our guests to feel at home, we will bend over backwards, determined to make their stay a pleasurable one, we are all mortified to here that you did not find us hospitable for this I can only offer our sincere apologise, perhaps it was purely a language barrier? Although not an excuse. Kind regards Robert & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently had a lovely time at the Potters Mooring, a medium sized Bed and Breakfast in Shaldon, the rooms were clean and of an extremely high standard (we had a twin room - No.4), the en suite bathrooms were also well equipped and of a good size. It was clear to see that the owners Linda and Bob take a lot of pride both in their home in general and in the service they provide. The breakfast was simply superb with nothing being too much trouble and a vegetarian option being available on request. Parking is available directly at the front and although the approach road requires caution it is not really a problem - unless the annual family fun festival is on of course !! The town beach is just around the corner and there are plenty of places to eat out although they do get busy very quickly in the evenings so either booking in advance or a trip over the bridge / ferry to Teignmouth may be necessary. The location of Shaldon is important here as it is only 10-15 minutes away from Torquay, Paignton etc. And only a little further to both Brixham and Dartmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Could not fault this hotel. very clean nice roomsand all you needed. Breakfast was well cooked and great choice. Linda and Bob were very welcoming and accomodating, would stay again for sure. The view we had was over the harbour, this was room 6 a double room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A lovely peaceful hotel in a beautiful setting. Breakfast was almost too much to eat and delicious! Our family room was delightful with views across the estuary. The owners greeted us each day on our return and were kind and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: Family room at the back of the hotel has a great view and has no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_sims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The river Teign flows out to sea between Teignmouth and Shaldon. Shaldon is by far the nicest of the two locations, and if you are not using your car, there is a small ferry boat running between the two places. One of Shaldon's many pleasant cottages, shops, cafes and pubs is the "Potters Mooring" Bed & Breakfast. We spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our host and hostess were charming and helpful, and provided excellent breakfasts. Our attic room at the top of the house was comfortable and clean, and the en-suite WC/washbasin/shower room, though very small, was perfectly functional and very clean. The bedroom window looked out over the river towards Teignmouth. Don't come here if you don't like the sound of seagulls! But, hey - this is the seaside! There is a small private car park (a bit tight, so don't come with a stretch limo!). To sum up, no complaints at all. We'd recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Property: Potters Mooring Hotel
Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Devon/Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing