We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing exciting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“nothing exciting”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

room large but boring decor, stuck in the 80's. dining room felt like a coffin, full of cheap ornaments, too much, too outdated. hosts came in and out with little facial expression, no efforts were made to talk, converse to anyone. breakfast was nothing special, kipper was cheap quality, bland, unappealing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Potters Mooring Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your 1 night stay with us and are rather surprised by your comments as on leaving you said that you had a pleasent stay. We accept people into our home with open arms and endeavour to make their stay a pleasurable one, we are never rude to our guests, but accept that you are free to be rude about us and our establishment.
All our produce is purchased from local suppliers and is of the highest quality, all fish is purchased from Jacksons Fishmongers of Newton Abbot, the kippers/haddock/smoke salmon are all oak smoked locally by Jacksons after being sourced from Brixham fish market, they are not mass produced or injected with dye or atificial flavourings. The fact that the kippers were not to your liking is unfortunate I can assure you they are not ''Cheap'' we have never had a complaint about the fish we serve at the breakfast table, yours is the first.
Had you given us a fair chance and complained at the time of your visit we would of been able to either change your kippers or given you something else more to your liking. The dining room is authentic oak panelled dining room.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    40
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
189
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed in Room 6 for three nights during the last week of June 2013.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with chairs and a table situated in front of a bay window which provided a lovely view of the estuary. It was wonderful watching the sun come up over the water. I also had the added pleasure of observing a mother gull with her chicks as they made the dormer outside my room window their home. It was a lovely treat to see them.

The powder room was small with only a stand up shower, but it was very clean and the toiletries and towels provided were of very good quality.

One final item of note is that the in-room tea tray provided was well stocked with a various assortment of teas, as well as coffee, quality hot chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk. I can not speak to the breakfast service as I took the opportunity to have my breakfasts at some of the many wonderful cafes and restaurants in Shaldon.

I spoke with Linda frequently during my stay and found her to be a charming lady who made me feel very welcome.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrazyCanuckOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We've had a lovely stay, everything is just right, we've had a very relaxing stay. Linda & Bob make you feel very welcome & we will definitely be back again next year. The room is lovely & our breakfasts have been tiptop!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from 6 nights at this great little B&B hotel. Comfortable room that was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Excellent breakfasts with a good choice on the menu.

Linda & Bob were charming hosts, full of friendly advice on the surrounding locations. We couldn't have expected better! Parking a little bit tight but ok if taken carefully.

Shaldon is a great location for a relaxing week with easy access to all the best of Devon (don't miss Buckfast Abbey, Dartmoor and the Teignmouth/Paignton/Dartmouth train, steam-train & river Dart boat trip). And for a really good hostelry pop along to the The Coombe Cellars in Combeinteignhead (a couple of miles away).

So 'Thank you' to Linda & Bob for a really nice relaxing week; wish we lived closer so that we could visit you more often!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volketswil, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The guest house is very well situated in the nice little village near by the water. Unfortunately the cottages has to be refurbish, especially the bath. The size of the cottages was generously. The temperature in the breakfast room was too cold, breakfast was o.k. The hosts were nice but not to hospitably.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda2688, Owner at Potters Mooring Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us in June, I am unable to ascertain when you stayed as a name hasn't been given. I am surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had you approached us during your stay we would have done our utmost to make you more comfortable, regarding not getting what you paid for again with out a booking number or booking name it is difficult for me to trace your booking, you were however booked into a cottage suite it appear from your comments and not a room, you could not of possibly paid for anything more than a cottage suite. All of our cottages were re-decorated in March/April of this year. Regarding the cleanliness our staff are extremely thorough and our rooms and cottages are spotlessly clean at all times and serviced everyday, had you of brought to our attention the slightest complaint about the cottage it would have been dealt with immediately. I am also sorry that you found the Dining room cold during June!! We welcome everbody to our home with open arms and like all our guests to feel at home, we will bend over backwards, determined to make their stay a pleasurable one, we are all mortified to here that you did not find us hospitable for this I can only offer our sincere apologise, perhaps it was purely a language barrier? Although not an excuse. Kind regards Robert & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently had a lovely time at the Potters Mooring, a medium sized Bed and Breakfast in Shaldon, the rooms were clean and of an extremely high standard (we had a twin room - No.4), the en suite bathrooms were also well equipped and of a good size. It was clear to see that the owners Linda and Bob take a lot of pride both in their home in general and in the service they provide. The breakfast was simply superb with nothing being too much trouble and a vegetarian option being available on request. Parking is available directly at the front and although the approach road requires caution it is not really a problem - unless the annual family fun festival is on of course !! The town beach is just around the corner and there are plenty of places to eat out although they do get busy very quickly in the evenings so either booking in advance or a trip over the bridge / ferry to Teignmouth may be necessary. The location of Shaldon is important here as it is only 10-15 minutes away from Torquay, Paignton etc. And only a little further to both Brixham and Dartmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Could not fault this hotel. very clean nice roomsand all you needed. Breakfast was well cooked and great choice. Linda and Bob were very welcoming and accomodating, would stay again for sure. The view we had was over the harbour, this was room 6 a double room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
87 reviews
7.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Property: Potters Mooring Hotel
Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Devon/Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing