We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early April break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Potters Mooring Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingswinford, West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Early April break”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights & wished we could have stayed longer it was like a home from home. We booked a double room; this was a late booking; we were surprised & delighted to be upgraded to one of the self-catering cottages overlooking the courtyard, with a small balcony leading from the bedroom. The cottage was very clean & well appointed & we were very comfortable which was a bonus as the weather was not very kind to us during our stay. The hotel owners, Linda & Robert were very welcoming & the staff were very helpful too. Breakfast was wide & varied with a bottomless coffee pot, if needed. Fantastic! We left our car in the hotel car-park for the duration of our stay & walked around the quaint, picturesque village of Shaldon & across the bridge to Teignmouth which really is an easy walk, or used the ferry. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends & relatives & definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    40
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
189
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely B&B with great attention to detail and care for the comfort and enjoyment of the guests.
I was particularly grateful,as a coeliac, to find a variety of gluten- free food on offer as a norm, and the breakfasts were delicious. Our hostess and her staff were efficient but relaxed, particularly impressive when we found that her husband had been taken ill during our stay. Do hope he is now recovered. Thank you for a lovely rejuvenating 2 night stay. (And we loved Todd the dog!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the best B&B I've ever been to with my family! The staff are very helpful! The breakfasts are very tasty! The service is brilliant! The cottage is absolutely spotless! It is in a great location and there is lots to do! The owners are very kind and very helpful! The beds were also very cosy!

Room Tip: Rooftop windows bang when there is rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Really looking forward to our room described as "Overlooking the river, this stunning room enjoys magnificent views of the River Teign and with a beautiful fully tiled ensuite. It is a great room for the couple who like a bit more space". It was alright the view was part blocked by another roof - there wasn't much space either. It was clean but certainly not the place to stay and relax. £95 phew! Paying for Shaldon

Room Tip: Check your room when you arrive - go though the description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Potters Mooring for 1 night with my Mum and Sister. We was allocated a two bed cottage in the courtyard. The place was spotless, very cosy and the breakfast was excellent. Very friendly staff and would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a lovely run hotel in the very pretty and quaint village of Shaldon. The place was spotless and the breakfast was fab. I had Scrambled Egg and Salmon on the first morning and my partner had a full English Breakfast and on the second morning we both had the smoked Haddock which was so tasty and cooked to perfection, along with the poached eggs. Nothing was too much trouble from the owners.

We stayed in room 3 which had a large en-suite bathroom with a large shower cubicle.

It is only a short ferry ride or about a 30 minute gentle stroll across the bridge to Teignmouth from Shaldon, where there is lots of activity. In Shaldon there are plenty of pubs, all serving food and a variety of different beers, lagers and cider and most of all wine!!

The beaches are clean and tidy.

Thanks to the owners and their staff (and the Retriever!!) at Potters Mooring for making our stay very welcoming.

Happy days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipflop-Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a voucher break. Excellent quality B & B in the lovely village of Shaldon, 10 minutes from Teignmouth. Room really comfortable & cosy with good heating system which was welcome as cold & rainy on arrival. Good quality pubs/restaurants within easy walking distance of Potters, each one serving very good & varied food.
Breakfasts were freshly cooked with local provisions & more than adequate portions.
Very friendly & efficient hosts & nothing was too much trouble.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.9 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
87 reviews
7.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Mooring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Mooring Hotel

Property: Potters Mooring Hotel
Address: 30 The Green, Shaldon TQ14 0DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Potters Mooring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Potters Mooring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Mooring Hotel Devon/Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing