We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ness
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Hotel(Teignmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunswick House(Teignmouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cliffden Hotel(Teignmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cockhaven Arms(Bishopsteignton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
173
58
33
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
58
33
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmugglers tunnelnautical themepiehall and woodhouseteign estuarylovely locationcopper bathsunday roastsea viewan evening mealmain buildingfish and chipswonderful staystayed for one nightshort breaknight staytea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As the title suggests. We rang for a meal for two and was made to feel as though they had done us a massive favor by letting us eat there as they claimed it was full. When we arrived we unexpectedly found rows of empty tables that were not used for the entire evening. The food was very nice and enjoyable. However the the service was non existent. No staff were coming to our table and we had to find someone to settle the bill with as the staff were too intent on clearing the tables and going home way before closing time. To pay this sort of money I expect good food and good service I only got the food side of it. Would not go back. I think they over rely on there being a limited number of competition in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank craig e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

visited The Ness whilst on holiday, as a treat we ordered 2 of the specials aged fillet steak at £322 per head, when it arrived it was barely warm. We complained to the waitress who took it back the the kitchen.... the response was that they woul give us fresh chips etc but the fillet steak would have to be the same ones warmed up... totally ruined the steak and the meal when it finally arrived.

Must say that the one waitress that was running round like a headless chicken was very nice and we felt really sorry for her. gave her a tip for her trouble.

We told everyone that mentioned going there not to bother as the bill came to nearly £65 with nothing nocked off for cold food.

Room Tip: did not stay here
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dragonlady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have regularly visited Teignmouth and thought we would call in and have a cream tea. The only staff we saw on arrival was a waiter almost falling over as he rushed around serving, we found one of many empty tables and my partner went to find a menu, This is when we experienced an un welcoming manager, we had committed the crime of expecting a table without booking then sat down without waiting to be seated, no sign tells you this. We explained we only wanted to enquire if they did cream tea. "We only do food" was the reply, funny but I thought that was what we asked about, must have been lost in translation. Poor service, poor attitude and would rather spend my money somewhere that understands customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeggibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I booked a table at the Ness for my husband's birthday and was very impressed. Cassandra was our waitress and was very efficient and friendly. The food arrived promptly and was of an excellent standard. The fillet steak was perfect and the fish and chips was ample. Would highly recommend eating at the Ness. Without a doubt the best place to dine in Shaldon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed for a short break May Day bank hol. Have stayed several times, but wanted a late break in one of my fave UK holiday places.
I just love the restaurant, ( we always request a seat in the conservatory - overlooking the sea and across to Teignmouth). Picture postcard view. Excellent choice of food, always prepared and presented well. The hotel bar and restaurant was refurbished earlier on this year, beautifully done, it is a beautiful Georgian building, and retains its quirky charm! Staff attentive, hard working and polite.
Room 3 is the best, deluxe room with free-standing bath, but was booked for our stay, so we were in room 4. Very nice, quite spacious, but a very tiny bathroom. Manager said the other rooms were due for re-curb at the end of the year. Lovely long balcony with great sea views thoug. Beautiful!

Room Tip: Room 3 is the lovely deluxe room. Excellent sea views and great balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews