We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Experience”
Review of The Ness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ness
Ranked #1 of 7 Shaldon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Food was good! however the meals came out staggered, some people had finished their meals before others had come out.. we had to remind the waitress that we had meals missing.. some of the late meals were stone cold.. the waitress did reveal the kitchen was too small, they should not of taken out table booking of 13 people! the service was ok however all staff were friendly!

overall, poor experience! however in a smaller group I'm sure it would have been a better evening!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    51
    28
    23
    13
See reviews for
68
128
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Even though we had booked a table upon our arrival there were no staff available to welcome us or take us to our table. On the reception desk was a sign saying that they were recruiting staff...never a good indication of positive things to come!
The staff on duty were very professional and friendly but over worked. Watching the staff running around like natters did not help us to relax. We were surprised that they were so busy with 80% of the tables being empty (God knows what it would have been like it they were full).
I had the steak pie with chips. The pastry tasted very bland and the gravy resembled bitter tasting water. The chips came in a small camping style metal mug filled with grease proof paper but very few chips. My veg consisted of a small dish of boiled cabbage - not enough to feed our tortoise! At £13.50 I thought it was very expensive. Desserts were tasty but very small and expensive. Drinks were expensive - my 2 half pints of beer cost £4.20.
Unfortunately they do not offer afternoon cream teas otherwise we would have called back later in the week.
On a positive note we loved travelling there and back on the little ferry from Teignmouth, views were superb and the hotel is nicely decorated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Decided on homemade pie,whilst family had Sunday roasts, grandchildren had chicken and chips. Pie arrived and looked nice,however once digging in found pie was 80% gravy, staff asked me what was wrong i asked if the pie was always mostly runny gravy they replied it was. I was asked if I wanted something different and quickly swapped this liquid pie for a roast. Top marks for customer care.food in general was good,bit pricy but average for this area. Would go back again and possibly have the lobster.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My Family stayed in a room with sea view in a second building for three nights. Parking spot beside the hotel. The room was nice, large with TV and a large bed and private bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast was nice as well as all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Recently stayed at The Ness Hotel. Booked a single room, which on arrival had not been prepared (unmade bed, used coffee makings on the bedside table, bathroom dishevelled etc). When queried, told that room had not been booked the night before and therefore must have been made up ready for my stay. It wasn't. Manager checked the room, agreed that it wasn't ready, no surprise to me, and offered alternative double, which had a nice balcony with views over the mouth of the estuary. Unfortunately, this room while made up correctly, was grubby. Decorative pillows on the bed smelt strongly of BO, but thankfully the bed itself was okay. The walls were also grubby, while the vanity stool by the dressing table was heavily stained (not nice). In terms of the evening meal, this was fine, but have to agree with previous reviews that the staff seemed more interested in clearing up ready for the off rather than looking after the guests. Having said all this, the location is second to none, with direct access to all that makes Shaldon the most amazing place to visit (Wildlife Conservation Park, Approach Golf Course, Smugglers Tunnel to Ness Cove, Goats Path to Torquay and so much more !). Having been told that The Ness Hotel had recently been refurbished and bearing in mind the bar / restaurant were very well decorated and looked lovely, it seems a shame that the rooms I experienced were so poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As the title suggests. We rang for a meal for two and was made to feel as though they had done us a massive favor by letting us eat there as they claimed it was full. When we arrived we unexpectedly found rows of empty tables that were not used for the entire evening. The food was very nice and enjoyable. However the the service was non existent. No staff were coming to our table and we had to find someone to settle the bill with as the staff were too intent on clearing the tables and going home way before closing time. To pay this sort of money I expect good food and good service I only got the food side of it. Would not go back. I think they over rely on there being a limited number of competition in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

visited The Ness whilst on holiday, as a treat we ordered 2 of the specials aged fillet steak at £322 per head, when it arrived it was barely warm. We complained to the waitress who took it back the the kitchen.... the response was that they woul give us fresh chips etc but the fillet steak would have to be the same ones warmed up... totally ruined the steak and the meal when it finally arrived.

Must say that the one waitress that was running round like a headless chicken was very nice and we felt really sorry for her. gave her a tip for her trouble.

We told everyone that mentioned going there not to bother as the bill came to nearly £65 with nothing nocked off for cold food.

Room Tip: did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonlady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness

Property: The Ness
Address: Ness Drive | Nr Teignmouth, Shaldon TQ14 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Devon/Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing