We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Ness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ness
Ranked #1 of 7 Shaldon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this Hotel 17th-20th June,we booked last minute,we were booked into room 4,didn't know what to expect,we were pleasantly surprised,very comfortable double bed,bathroom was small but adequate,lovely sea and garden view from private balcony,chairs and table so you could sit out.We ate in the restaurant food was very good service excellent,friendly staff.We had a very relaxing three days,will return and recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony and sea view the other rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcole1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    29
    23
    13
See reviews for
70
129
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel while driving down the coast looking for somewhere to stay for the night. We booked 2 fantastic rooms and experienced superb service. We ate in the restaurant which was exceptional both in quality and service. Had I read the trip advisor reviews I would not have stayed here and missed out on a great place to stay. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PiersBravery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived at 6.15pm on a Thursday and were told by one of the bar staff, not very politely, that there were no tables left except for those in the 'Boatyard,' a back room with no view and little light. As the place was nearly empty, we asked a friendly waitress if there were really no tables left and she showed us a choice of four unreserved tables in the main restaurant.
The food wasn't great, and was overpriced. The beef lasagne contained almost no beef, the garlic bread was dry and almost entirely without butter or garlic (surely essential ingredients in garlic bread!) the salad consisted of a small heap of undressed tired and limp rocket leaves that had been sitting around for some time. The Harissa chicken was ok. Our pudding of Eton Mess took over 20 minutes to arrive and only did so because the friendly waitress noticed that the bar staff hadn't brought it. It arrived with no apology and consisted almost entirely of cheap frothy "cream" mixed with sweet red syrup and a barely detectable quantity of meringue. The cook has obviously not been introduced to a recipe book.
It was all very disappointing, the more so because these basic pub meals can so easily be cooked well with just a little bit more effort and some elementary knowledge of cooking. Bar staff can so easily be taught how to be polite and efficient. I would recommend this place only if you want to eat expensive beef burger and chips while taking advantage of the great views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

my partner and I decided to try the ness for dinner so we phoned up late afternoon and booked a table for 7pm. When we arrived the gentleman that seemed to be in charge looked on his computer and told us that we had no table booked. what a great start i thought, so he proceeded to take us to a table that was stuck behind a screen in the corner with no view of anything!. even better, i thought. After forgetting we were there, someone eventually got us some drinks and took our food order. Food eventually arrived, cold, tasteless and looked very unappealing. it was, but my partner ate it because he was starving! After he had finished his starter it was at least 40 minutes before the plate was cleared. They had totally forgotten about us. for my main course i ordered just vegetable sticks and hummus and a side salad as i am pregnant and couldnt eat much at the time. the standard of the food was unbelievable, half peeled dry carrots, skin on the hummus and the worst olives known to man. I also had a side salad that arrived in a mixing bowl which contained 3 large dirty leaves and a bit of grated carrot and dressing. i was totally shocked. i dont need to continue with how bad my partners food was but we were both so disappointed as it was a very rare occasion for us to get to go out for the evening. After complaining the manager apologized and didnt charge us for our meal which was something at least but it kind of ruined our evening. we thought what a shame as the place itself is stunning and could have been packed if the standard was there. Another example of a beautiful pub thats trying to be something that its not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights here and thought it was excellent value. We had a family room as my 16 month old grandson came with us. We thought the ground floor room was good, the bathroom was fine with nice toiletries provided. And we had a lovely sea view! Breakfast was anything you wanted really so that pleased everyone!
Location is great with nice walks to Shaldon or catch the ferry to Teignmouth. Try the Coffee Rush and The Clipper Cafe for tea, coffee and cakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a table for four adults and a toddler, we arrived on time, we're greeted well and shown to our table,which a baby chair as requested, so far so good. Got the menus and ordered drinks and food from a friendly waitress, again so far so good.

The food arrived in good time, however, the quality was not what it used to be, all just ordinary and like pub grub, but more expensive. The Ness used to be the place to eat, but no more, service good, views excellent, food, try somewhere else. Think the takeover by Hall and Woodhouse has been a backward move, probably run by accountants now who have no idea that customers have a choice and will not return if they feel they are not getting value for money, we will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location of the Ness is superb. Stunning views, outside sunny space. Inside is also very nice as were the staff. The food, however was very disappointing. It was mass produced which showed in the dryness and flavour. Management just need to get this right and the whole experience will be wonderful.

Room Tip: Eat early for fresher food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Kent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.4 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
226 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ness

Property: The Ness
Address: Ness Drive | Nr Teignmouth, Shaldon TQ14 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Shaldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ness 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ness Devon/Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing