We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to chill - by the river”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devon Valley Holiday Village
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just chill and watch the bright river, rippling silver on the tide by day, wide and gold in the setting sun. The bridge to Teignmouth to the east. the high moors to the west. A train trundles by on the fas shore and locals in big wellies go musseling at dusk below the bar. Boats potter. Seagulls squall. Children play.
The park itself: Friendly. Quaint. Clean. Food just Ok (lovely setting but a bit last decade pub grub). Pool nice (.Craig the life guard was brill with the grandchildren)
Our Caravan (228) a Tardis with amazing views.
Do try the fish and chip shop in Shaldon village, the Zoo on the Ness and the clipper inn for lunch on the beach.
Take the ferry across to Teignmouth (park up on the Ness and walk down) - the Ferry man has some great stories to tell. There's much to do there - the Ship Inn by the Quay has great beer and food and views back down the river - the childrens playground on the prom is a must for youngsters.
For shopping - Morrisons is over the bridge - sharp left and 500 yds on the right.

So. A bit let down by the food.. but it all felt sort of right.. sort of quaint. Muddled along. And the setting tells you to just chill - and we did (and so should you).

P.S. we suffered 2 ripped dresses on a sticking out edge. The edge was fixed without fuss and the dresses mended perfectly by the sites own seamstress.. Lots of apologies. Nice people. In fact staff and those staying were all pleasant.. I think that's the river's influence. Chill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris-Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Devon Valley Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed a Sun break here. We had a caravan no 6 which was very clean and comfortable. Site itself very quiet. Would definitely go again. Devon Valley itself is fantastic and area has plenty of places to visit.

Room Tip: Didn't experience a chalet but caravans were very good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rain789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in a basic caravan (108A) which was spacious, had great views and well equipped. Unlike other caravans we have stayed in this one was had a plenty of cupboard space in both bedrooms and in the living area, there where coat hanger supplied and something to hang wet washing out on.

The site itself was clean and it a lovely location, you didn’t mind opening the curtains in the morning and watching the boats bobbing in the water! There is plenty for the children to do, there are 2 separate play areas, a soft play (which also has different actives going on during the day), the swimming pool and an arcade - we used the soft play, play parks and swimming pool.

The swimming pool was a nice size and was lovely and warm. We went on a couple of occasions in the afternoon and it was never over busy, the pool area and the changing rooms were always clean. The lifeguards always greeted you with a smile and where friendly.

There is a pub and restaurant onsite with decking outside with lovely views of the river. We ate in the restaurant on 3 occasions for dinner and couldn’t fault the food at all. It was reasonably priced as well, I think we paid around £25 for the three of us to eat – this was only one course each but I think this is a fair price.

There is also a take-away onsite offer a wide variety of food, we visited here once for Fish and Chips and it was lovely. I was a little worried it would be greasy but it wasn’t at all.

We visited a few places around Devon and would recommend Pennywell farm (a fantastic day out for all not just the kids), South Devon Railway (we was lucky enough to be their 2,000,000 customer and have a free day out) combined with one of their other great attractions and last but not least Shaldon Zoo.

Overall we had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived early at the part and was met with a smile. Our caravan was not quite ready however we could park up and enjoy the facilities. The caravan overlooked the river and hills to the east, brilliant view. The caravan was very clean and well positioned; parking was allocated just in front which was great. The Staff at the park were very friendly and helpful; the staff at the shop were always on hand if you needed anything - bit pricy but you expect that - the nearest shop is a good walk into Shaldon or Tesco express & Waitrose in Teighmouth. On the whole we had a great holiday and are considering booking again next year. Don't forget your towels and dish cloth/liquid!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BrianNortern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our chalet was extremely dated, the entertainment was horrendous worst I have ever seen. I love bingo that was also a nightmare. The area around valley was beautiful. We never stayed around devon valley, we travelled by car and walking, visited Dawlish, Paighton, Torquay and to local town Teignmouth. We tried to eat several times on site but it was tasteless, really was. The only thing about site was dog friendly, Devon and surrounding area is really dog friendly. The pool to be honest was nice, right size if you just swim and chill. Would definitely go to Devon again but not to Devon Valley.

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cobi-leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed fri- fri in a basic caravan (306) great spot with views of the river and all the basic requirements in the van that were needed.. the site is clean and tidy and the setting amazing... the pub restaurant is great with an amazing spot alongside the river bank.. the kids loved doing a spot of crabbing as the adults supped a few ciders.
The breakway club was good and the kids loved capt DV .. the entertainment team were great with the kids..drinks priced ok for a holiday park at 3-40 a pint of cider... was fairly quiet for our week but can imagine its packed out early during kids holidays... Shaldon village is a nice 10 min walk away so own transport is handy.. we used asda for a 'home delivery' for food ect but shop on site is ok ... great holiday had and will be back in October for finals weekend having won a free break!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Tomcook-davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The food served onsite was awful and extremely overpriced...... entertainment was mind numbing, killer Queen night was correct, they killed every queen song they sang.. we had a basic chalet but you still expect to be able to sleep in the beds, they were so uncomfortable we were glad to get home to our own for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darrelge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
337 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
7.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Holiday Village

Address: Ringmore Road, Shaldon TQ14 0EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shaldon
Price Range: £13 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devon Valley Holiday Village is set in a stunning riverside location with suberb views of the River Teign. Our self catering chalets and caravans to suit all budgets, superb family entertainment, heated indoor pool and great facilities ensure you will have a holiday to remember. Ideally situated for nearby beaches and attractions, we are only 6 miles from Torquay and the fabulous English Riviera and a short drive from the dramatic tors of Dartmoor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Holiday Village Hotel Shaldon
Devon Valley Holiday Village Shaldon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing