We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Shaldon Wildlife Trust
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The small zoo making a big difference! Set in an acre of woodland garden above the attractive coastal village of Shaldon, we look after, and help preserve, some of the rarest and most endangered animals in the world.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It's a small zoo, but there is enough to make it worth your while visiting. The nocturnal bit was particularly interesting to us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank careerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    68
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, has improved massively over the years”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We went here with the grandchildren and had a great time. The walkways are mostly wooden decking. We were able to maneuver the buggy around without too much difficulty. The animals are well presented often with multiple viewpoints. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great zoo doing wonderful conservation work”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We took the ferry from Teignmouth and walked up the hill to the zoo. The views were amazing. The little zoo is set on the hillside above Shaldon. The animals are obviously very well cared for and informative staff were on hand to answer questions. We did not recognise most of the animals which made it even more interesting. No big cats or giraffes - just small, unusual creatures cared for in a beautiful leafy and airy environment. My grandson, aged 7, was particularly interested in the noctural house. Once your eyes get used to the dark there is a lot to see. The very tiny bright yellow frogs are amazing. The world needs more zoos like this doing their wonderful conservation work. Shaldon Zoo offers experience days of various kinds and this will be an ideal gift for my grandson's birthday. A bonus is that you can go in and out of the zoo all day if you hold on to your ticket which means you can go to the very reasonably priced cafe across the road or to the pub just further on where you can sit inside or outside and enjoy the scenery. We had a lovely day and plan to return. We paid using Tesco Days Out vouchers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Mainly monkeys here, who were very sweet, but felt they needed a little more room to move around in. Lots of interesting information and they do good work by working with zoos within Devon by helping to keep certain breeds from becoming extinct.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“small but lovely-great value”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Don't go here and expect lions and tigers. This is a small zoo but it really benefits from it. There's a decent range of animals for the sight which includes various primates and marsupials. There enclosures are mostly of really good size and the animals clearly have a lovely relationship with the keepers. It will fill up between an hour to 2, depending on how your pace w
(We took around 1 3/4 hours). We would (and hopefully Will) return on subsequent visits to Devon. There are experience days available that I hope to do when my daughter is a little older. At only £7.50 for an adult I found this excellent value, especially since you had such good views of the animals. The only reason it is not a 5 is some pebbled areas made it a little more challenging for a stroller (though in am being nitpicky) but great nonetheless.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcamidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaldon Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to Shaldon Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing