We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful evening at Number 1”
Review of The Strand Cafe

The Strand Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Shaldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Boutique cafe and bistro serving brunch, lunch and afternoon tea specialising in continental cuisine. The Strand Cafe specialises in barista coffees, loose leaf teas, homemade cakes and pastries and food prepared fresh every time. Beautiful beachside garden where customers can sit outside and enjoy the sun.
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Everything about Number 1 makes for a wonderful evening. The chef, Paul produces such imaginative dishes, marrying flavours superbly. The reception from the owners and staff is friendly and the ambience is warm. We thoroughly enjoy our evenings at Number 1 and would recommend it. We have also had some really good lunches both inside the restaurant and also on the patio with its marvellous views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Not so many tables crowding the room. Service excellent. A more expensive menu than other café/restaurants nearby but a lovely ambience. Food definitely improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Popped in really to dodge the shower. However it is delightful. Lovely cool beach colours. Very friendly service. Yummy and very rich cupcakes. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a lovely meal at this restaurant, even though there were no other guest's we decided to sit outside as it was a beautiful evening,

The service was excellent as was the meal. The only downside was we could tell what everybody else had eaten at that table before us. The tables have a glass top inserted into the table, it wouldn't take long to take these glass tops off & clean the food away. The wasps loved the strawberry jam & baked beans.

However we will come back to you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank maxe_feasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilson66, Owner at The Strand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for pointing out something we have missed although I cannot imagine why you did not point it out at the time! We will certainly be addressing this and ensuring this is not repeated.
Throughout a beautiful long summer we have had countless diners outside both during the day and in the evenings and yours is the first comment of this sort.
In our defence it sounds like you were dining early in the evening and chose your own table in the garden, I am guessing the table was not laid up for dining (I hope!) as it would have been cleaned properly. We have a very small number of people working as we change from daytime 'cafe' menu to evening fine dining, often only one person. Our priority would have been to set up the inside for evening service as all of our bookings would have been for inside. Having said that the excellent weather has given people like yourselves the opportunity to sit in our garden enjoying the views and sunset over the estuary. Whoever served you should have noticed that your table had not been cleaned properly and either done so or simply swapped the table (they are so easy to move!)
I can only apologise and hope that it did not spoil your enjoyment too much. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we await a review from the wasps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ate here whilst visiting relatives, very friendly modern restaurant. Great food in the evenings when it changes from a cafe to fine dining. Try it you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fordsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Strand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing