We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food and awful service”
Review of The Ferryboat Inn

The Ferryboat Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Shaldon
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food and awful service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A group of us visited for lunch today and will certainly not be returning. We ordered our food and started receiving some of the order 50 mins later. After complaining and still waiting for food 1h15 later we were acused of not ordering all of our meals and trying a fast one. A quick show of our receipts stopped this discussion and we were told our remaining meal would about another 15-20 mins. We asked for a refund instead.
Appalling service with no apologies and no customer service..... Avoid!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

It was so good on Friday we went back on Saturday and considering how rammed they were the quality hadn't dropped at all.
Great range of fish dishes that we enjoyed and some comforting looking main meals. All at very reasonable prices.
I understand the kitchen is under new management. What a good thing as the food is a transformation on last year.
Mark.
This Restaurant is now called Catch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Food was excellent, all home cooked. Very nice seating area outside overlooking the beach, great heaters also (it was winter)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently met up with friends at the Ferry Boat, it was warm, friendly and the food was good. The fish was well cooked and all in all we had an excellent lunch time reunion. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ferryboat shaldon”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Really good food although i couldn't say best meal I have EVER had in a restaurant as I have been to some really pucker ones. But was absolutely lovely and the setting is just fabulous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ferryboat Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ferryboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing