We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional pub offering Saturday live music.”
Review of Shipwrights Arms

Shipwrights Arms
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Shaldon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quintessential sea side pub, serving 4 good real ales, good wines and Gin inspired, concentrating on quality local home cooked food cooked by our own chef Ray the landlord. Music nights, quiz nights theme nights and bringing back the old pub games shove ha'penny, table skittles, crib, darts ect. We look forward to seeing you. Julie & Ray. Please see our web-site for opening hours and menu's.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Traditional pub offering Saturday live music.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A traditional pub - very welcoming and offering excellent live music. We saw Chris Thomas (acoustic) who was brilliant and really made our evening. Many thanks Val & Tony

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Val h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went here for new years eve, nick, lynda and liam were lovely. Very cosy with a fire, they put up with us till 3am! Would love to go back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Asdfghjklqwertyuio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & Welcoming.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Visited the Shipwright on a few occasions while on holiday in Shaldon for the week. Landlord and Landlady are very friendly and happy to give advice on the area and where to visit. They serve a nice pint with a smile and even made my dog welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A highly recommended local pub”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Nick and Lynda have made this pub into a peaceful haven to pop in for a drink and chat.
Lynda does a delicious crab sandwich as well. The Open Mike night is good entertainment and makes a good evening out. The outside garden area has been improved and is a nice quiet place to meet friends in good weather.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Really trying to rejuvenate this pub. Warm and friendly welcome. Good music on certain nights. Small local pub with a limited menu but good food and drink served with a smile. Nice outlook and garden. Well worth a try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwrights Arms also viewed

 

Been to Shipwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing