We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLANT LOCATION GOOD VALUE”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View from Balcony
Another sunny view from Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rose C
Launceston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLANT LOCATION GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Most enjoyable stay, excellent location, the welcome pack was above and beyond we could not have wished for anything more. WE WILL BE BACK..

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Good evening
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
In an attempt to improve the experience we are obtaining a mattress topper which we hope will make the bed more comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Wendy & Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyW1976
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views are worth the climb”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great accommodation for active families. The views are worth the steep climb up and down to and from the pretty Georgian and Victorian village of Shaldon, which is utterly perfect. The larger town of Teignmouth is a walkable distance - shorter still if you take the pedestrian ferry across the estuary. If you can't manage the hills, you'll end up driving EVERYWHERE, even for a pint of milk or a loaf of bread. The park is quiet but friendly, and has nice bar/cafe where you can get a real cup of coffee (or a real ale) and a great pool.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and also enjoyed the surrounding area which we also think is very beautiful.
we hope to welcome you back in the future
Wendy & Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posyposy
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a brilliant stay in this very comfortable chalet with wonderful sea views. Wendy and Barrie went out of their way to help us. We were spoilt by the number of televisions, and being able to watch whatever programme we liked!
We went into Shaldon on the bus which stops directly outside the site, also Teignmouth, and Torquay in the other direction. Oscar the dog had lovely walks on the golf course. There was a temporary bar in the marquee because the club is being rebuilt following the winter storms. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future
Wendy and Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therut
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wanted for nothing”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely chalet with beautiful views over the coast very well equipped with everything you need we will definitely book again. Thank you very much for the chocs, wine and lager very thoughtful and very enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location with beautiful views
Liked least: Hard mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
You were more than welcome, We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay for your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Wendy & Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardG6...
Stratford upon Avon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super chalet in a great location with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A very comfortable chalet, very well equipped and with superb views. Wendy and Barrie's welcoming pack was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. Walking down to Shaldon, which is a lovely little village, was very good via the golf course, the entrance to which was through the hedge directly opposite the park entrance and took about 10minutes. Walking back, via the same route, up the very steep hill was "fun" to say the least, but clearly not for people with mobility issues. However, the bus stops right outside the park entrance so getting anywhere, using public transport, should not be a problem. What ever you do do, DO NOT attempt to walk down the main road. People with pets can walk/ exercise them, on a lead, around the golf course with no problems at all. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and cant wait to return. Thank you Wendy & Barrie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress to firm for our liking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, you have made a very good point about the walk down to Shaldon which I will definitely be including in the information letter in the future. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Wendy & Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerenaF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable retreat for a chilled holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My mum and I had a fabulous holiday, accommodation was very comfortable and the view was fantastic. Verandah made it very safe for my dog to sit outside.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Hi
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you and your mother enjoyed you stay,
We hope to welcome you back in the future
Very best wishes
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable chalet and the sea views
Liked least: hilly nature of the site
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Very best wishes
Wendy & Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing