We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaldon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coast View, Shaldon
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Coast view during the first two weeks of October 2012, in a 'Starfish' chalet. I booked it mainly because it offered smoke- and pet-free accommodation with a bath. The chalet was cosy and clean enough, although a purple stain on one of the mattresses - which I had assumed to be old and dried in - turned out to be fresh and by the time we put our three-year-old to bed it had oozed through the sheet. Luckily there was spare bedding, but I did think this should have been picked up when the chalet was cleaned earlier in the day. We had booked a cot which wasn't there on arrival, so had to ask at reception. On payment of a £10 deposit it was brought to our chalet for us promptly. We also had to go back to reception later to get a tv remote control for a further £10 deposit. Take lots of cash with you on arrival for all the deposits! We couldn't figure out the timer on the boiler so just left the heating and hot water on all the time - at least it was lovely and warm! The view from the verandah at the back was stunning, and it was a real luxury to have a dishwasher.
The swimming pool was very disappointing; there was black stuff that looked like mould in the grout, which was worse in the baby pool than the main one. The changing facilities were quite dark and dirty and the toilet was appalling. We could only stay in for about 10 mins before the kids started shivering as the water was quite cold.
The soft play was okay but we couldn't find a light switch anywhere in the room and pieces of the laminate flooring were missing. The outdoor play area by the laundry/shower block looked like great fun but unfortunately it was too wet to take advantage of it during our stay. Our two small children did enjoy the smaller play area in front of the swimming pool though.
The dryers in the laundry didn't dry, despite spending a small fortune and about an hour on them. As well as using the laundry I wanted to wash my hair in the shower, so asked at reception to check opening times. The staff were very helpful and arranged for the block to be unlocked for me, so be sure to ask if you are there off peak and want to use these facilities in the evening or early morning.
The on-site shop closed a couple of days after our arrival, and there was nowhere else close by to get milk and bread. We didn't try out the entertainment or food available on-site, so I can't coment on that.
The location of this park is fantastic - really close to Shaldon and Teignmouth and a short drive to Torquay - so there were plenty of activities to keep our two small children busy, even off-peak. Just as well as we ended up having to go off-site for swimming, laundry and soft play, which we hadn't anticipated! Shaldon is very pretty but there is no pavement on the main road, so you have to walk alongside the golf course over the road to get there on foot. This is very steep and in the wet is also quite muddy and slippery as there's no actual path. Tricky with a buggy, so we only did it once!
I should point out that we didn't make any complaints about the problems we had as we don't like to make a fuss, but the staff were very helpful whenever we asked for information. In short the location is wonderful but the facilities were less than we expected for the amount we paid. Based on this experience, we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review of your recent stay with us. I welcome all feedback from our holiday-makers, be it positive or negative, as this helps us to improve and evolve.

Indeed, since your stay in 2012, we have now reviewed our deposit system since the start of the current season as a direct result of feedback and requests from our guests.

I would urge you, and any other guests who experience shortcomings during their stay to speak to me directly while they are on Park or before they leave. This would not be considered 'making a fuss', but rather gives me an opportunity to resolve any problems at the time.

Really pleased to note that you found all our staff to be helpful. We have a great bunch of people working here at the Park and our mission is to give everyone a fantastic holiday.

Once again, we are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your holiday with us but we hope you will come back to us in the future as we have noted that you love the area. If you wish to discuss any aspect of a future booking please contact me on 01626 818350.

With Kind Regards

General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Coast View, Shaldon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

we have been holidaying here a few times in private accomadation, we decided this time we would rent directly from coast view as they advertise 3 bed gold lodges which sounds nice, DONT BE FOOLED
when we arrived and got given the keys i went back to reception to ask if we had the correct accomadation as i thought this surely cant be what i booked,
aparently it was and this was the best accomadation they have on site, and i was asked if id like to downgrade of all the cheek, downgrade if this is gold what on earth is the rest of it like,i asked if there was a private accomadation avalible i didnt mind even paying extra, oh aparently they are all booked yet there was hardly anyone on site all the time we were there.
i felt sick to the stomack these people need to book into other parks as they obviuosly do not no what luxury gold acomadation means,
we had ripped duvets stained duvets (yellow stains ) we had stale milk all spilt in the fridge, they did come straight away and change and clean fridge, BUT the point is they shouldnt have had to do this it should be ready for guests,
the cooker ignition didnt work so couldnt light the cooker
the cooker knobs was all melted, the temprature was all faded so couldnt see to cook,
the place was a disgrace it had 80s furniture scratched etc and lampshades collection dust, curtains that didnt fit,
the dirty filthy fridge freezer was only big enough for 2 people
the bath sealent was non existant leaving all gaps and cracks mould etc, the bathroom loo holder and mirror was rusty,
there are drawers with handles missing so you cant open them
the matresses dont fit on the old pine beds properly,
the interia doors dont open and close easily meaning you have to bang them,
the veranders are unsafe for small children only made out of about 4 peices of wood,
yet they knew we had small children as it said on my booking form,
there are nails sticking out the shack on the outside, we banged one in ourself to stop my little one being cut,
we had a view of a bush areil and bins and small sea view when i particually asked for a good seaview when i booked they completely ignored this, yet this was the only reason why we go here,
the old sofa that was in the shack stank its years old i doubt it even has fire lables its that old, not only that we are a family of 6 and we had 4 dining chairs, and a 2 seater sofa and a armchair, so half the party was expected to sit on the floor all week, the recpetion agreed with me yes they have to sit on floor as this is what all our shacks are like,
we had 2 dirty white plastic patio chairs on the verander for our family of 6,
the oven was greasy and so was the kickboards in kitchen,
theres a massive crack running through the bathroom floor tiles,
the laminated flooring was all split in front room,
tv does nothing but loose signal all week,
no work tops in kitchen hardly for preparing food,
doesnt even have the basic utensils in the kitchen,
we had 4 bowls and 4 plates for a family of 6,
the kitchen worktop was all chipped,
the hand shower mixer tap doesnt work properly,
beds were not even made in a GOLD lodge just chucked in a bag for you to do yourself,
no welcome pack at all not even a sachet of coffee,
there is a basic white plastic kettle and toaster just about worked,
no mop or anything to clean the filthy place,
next doors verander is so close you may as well have them round for dinner, you can touch them, hear everything they say. and viser versa,
the fridge had all ice in it and made all food go off before sell by date had even run out which cost us a fortune as i had to throw it all out,
theres a bed side table in the front room what ever that is in aid of i have no idear,
the walls are all marked,
the double glazed verander doors does not shut properly causing a draft,
you are given one flat pillow only each,
the place is a absolute disgrace and i cannot belive they are renting such dirty filthy run down 80s awful shacks out to the public,
i am considering reporting this holiday park how they have the bare face cheek to call what i stayed in a luxuary gold lodge is beyond me,
i dont reccomend this place
i certainly wont be returning ever our holiday was completely ruined by the bad surroundings of this dirty filthy shack.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kally6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. I welcome all feedback from our holiday-makers, be it positive or negative, as this helps us to improve and evolve.

During the same week that you stayed with us we received many extremely positive comments and feedback, as we usually do. I can therefore only apologise that our usual high standards were not fully met during your recent stay.

I would urge you, and any other guests who experience shortcomings to the extent that you have listed here, to ask to speak to me directly while they are on Park or before they leave. We can then come to an amicable resolution, as is usually the case.

Once again, we are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your holiday with us on this occasion, but we hope you will come back to us in the future as I have noted that you have previously enjoyed good holidays here. If you wish to discuss any aspect of a future booking please contact me on 01626 818350.

With Kind Regards

General Manager
Coast View Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

myself , my husband and our four kids came to coast view in august 2012 for a 7 night stay in the top camping fields. oh my god...its a very steep walk up there! so do be warned if you camp and struggle with hills...my husband has astma so was a bit of an issue with him, and from the top the its quite a walk down to toilet blocks - BUT apart from that no complaints...the view from the top fields is more than worth it if you you dont mind the slopes and id go to the very top...as the pitches are great up there. Toilet blocks were very clean, nice hot showers too....no complaints.

theres a nice little shop on site selling all essentials and staff were very friendly and chatty.

the club house is a nice size with stunning views, theres an ice cream parlour and food to be served - we had no complaints, enjoyed our food and the prices were reasonable. The entertainment was basic - there was an entertainer/magician for the kids and a disco - but it was more than adequate and all we needed for a family holiday .

theres a park on site and an assault course that my kids loved.

The pool is a great size and again with amazing views!

theres a coastal walk to shaldon sea front where you get a small ferry boat over to teignmouth, we thought this made for a lovely trip into teignmouth - beats travelling by bus! lots to do in teighnmouth and great beach. but shaldon was also lovely with places to eat and drink along the beach...there was a music festival on the green and a water/boat carnival along shaldon beach which was a fab day, a great atmosphere and something they apparently do every year.

overall the park makes a good getaway with breathtaking views, we would come back but perhaps stay in a caravan this time not so high up the hills!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauradee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us. Really pleased to hear you had such a good time with us here at Coast View, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

With Kind Regards,

The Coast View Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

we decided to visit coast view last year the clue is in the name, i love the sea we arrived late due to travel and staff were amazing, and i couldnt be more happier when i woke in the morning to see the view i couldnt believe my eyes i love the place the pool is a little shabby but who cares you can swim in it and its clean and the kids love it there was animals the kids loved but i heard there not there anymore, the only downfall was car park a little small and we had to park and walk to nearly the other end with little ones but to be honest this didnt ruin the holiday, the entertainment was fun the kids park etc the kids loved it was a lovely reasonable priced holiday we mostly used as a base but i loved the view so much we stayed on site alot, i reccomend to all and we are going back again in 4 weeks and i cant wait,

Room Tip: we are staying in a luxary lodge this time ill update on my return
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kally6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastViewHolidayPark, General Manager at Coast View, Shaldon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest

Thankyou for reviewing your holiday with us and great to hear you had such a good time here. We look forward to welcoming you back this year where we will endeavour to meet our high standards of service which you have experienced and enjoyed.

With Kind Regards

The Coast View Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

One of are favourite caravan parks We have been to.
The staff are real nice. Bent over backwards to help.The food and drink is good,and a good selection. They have a good mixture of entertainment throughout the holidays. And the views are amazing where we have are caravan.
We didn't use the swimming pool but it was well maintained with a lifeguard on duty,
Overall in are opinion a little gem in Devon.
Glad we got a pitch there for the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We are caravan owners,(my husband has waited a long time for them to be sold) and have been coming to coast view for at least 15 years.We love the area,the simplicity of the village and the views etc, and we were really looking forward to seeing improvements this year under the new management but we have been disappointed. We stayed over Easter weekend and with 4 young children to amuse we found the top play park to still be tiny and the assault course has seen better days. We used the pool facilities, the toilets are still positively disgusting (we thought they would have been a priority) and there still stands one COLD shower!! The pool had not even been given a coat of paint around the top, and the awful fake plants that have been there as long as we have visited are still there!! The water was freezing and not even filled to capacity, finally one particular lifeguard really needs to relax, far too strict and needs to let the children have fun - it's a pool after all, our children were well behaved and supervised at all times,yet still he moaned at them more than once!!
It's a real shame that it seems the new owners are focusing on the money making rather than the small things that could be easily fixed and would keep people coming back year after year and make their holiday nicer.We love Shaldon and will keep returning, I'm just disappointed!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank 120sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I was a bit hesitant to return just in case it wasn't as good as the first time, but I needn't have worried. We all had a great time again - there's not much you can do about the weather! As before, there's loads to do whatever the weather and the staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the General Manager, Helen. And, as the name suggests, you won't get a better view!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K8MLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaldon
0.5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
102 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ness
The Ness
#1 of 7 in Shaldon
280 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast View, Shaldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast View, Shaldon

Address: Coast View Holiday Park Torquay Road, Shaldon TQ14 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Shaldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Shaldon
Hotel Class:5 star — Coast View, Shaldon 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast View is the perfect place to unwind with spectacular views of the Jurassic Coast or treat yourselves in some of the finest wine-bars and restaurants that the West Country has to offer. Ideally located for Dartmoor and the English Riviera, Exeter and Torquay, plus a whole range of fantastic on-park facilities, you will be spoilt for choice. Coast View is situated on a hill top, offering spectacular views of the scooped-out bay, peppered with luxury yachts and motorboats ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coast View Holiday Park Hotel Shaldon
Coast View Holiday Park Shaldon
Coast View, Shaldon Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing