We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets welcome - at a price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sourton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our second visit at this Travelodge, convenient place at the north-western corner of Dartmoor and a short drive from Bodmin Moor, the Jamaica Inn & Cornwall.
Refurbished rooms have greatly improved beds and bathrooms, and the price was very reasonable at £44 per night. However, the better rooms came with an unexpected sting when we were charge £20 per night per dog (two border collies), and there wasn't even a bed for them. Great news was that under 16s stay free! Maybe I should book my dogs in as "under 16s", then at least they'll get a bed!

Room Tip: If you're taking your pet/pets... shop around because this sure isn't value for money!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank archies-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I love Travelodges, this one at Okehampton was clean and spacious, easy to check in to and had a very comfortable bed.

The room we had was very quiet despite the Travelodge being near a busy road, and we looked out onto a field.

We chose Okehampton because we wanted to go and visit various places in Devon and Cornwall and so it was well positioned for our purpose; however, Okehampton is a nice town with independent shops selling local produce and worth a visit. There is also a castle ruin managed by English Heritage that is a interesting site.

We booked early and got a great price. Travelodges are not super luxe but clean, convenient and have a kettle, tv, enough towels and hangers and are usually next to a Little Chef or Weatherspoons. This one is next to a Little Chef.

Unless we are going abroad or want a special treat we go to Travelodges and feel happy that we've not been ripped off and had a really good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel facing the fields and if a family it is easier to stay on th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The check-in staff were extremely unhelpful , the upstairs reaked of sewerage, fire doors were propped open with piles of dirty laundry, and I swear there was an elephant in the room above us. The only good thing was that the bed was comfortable. Mobile phone reception was not their fault - but it was non-existant for T-mobile.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Shar0n1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay Shar0n1201. Our staff understand how important it is to provide a helpful and friendly service at all times and aim to ensure all of our guests feel welcomed and looked after. Our Hotel Manager also ensures that the hotel is kept tidy and clean so it is regrettable that on this occasion you were unhappy with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good size room, very comfortable bed, excellent shower. Even had a view of the sheep! Slept well. Good parking. Would stay here again. Best Travelodge I have stayed in to date. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GG20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

One thing with Travelodges is that you know exactly what you are going to get for the price.

To be honest my expectations were exceeded, the bed was very comfortable the room was spacious, there was very little noise bearing in mind how close you are to the A38.

There a pub close by who server good home cooked locally sourced food and real ale, unfortunately it's the other side of the A38 ( dual carriageway) so unless you want to play 'dare' the only other option is to drive there. To walk involves walking along roads without paths and under a motorway bridge.

I don' t like the fact you have to pay for wifi although it's only £3 for 24 hours and you also get 30 minutes free a day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The interior has recently been refurbished and our room was extremely comfortable, new beds, pillows & duvets. Outside needs to be refurbished now! The children had their own beds rather than a pull me out which was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a very quiet and comfortable two night stay here whilst visiting friends and family in Okehampton and Liskeard. Our room was on the first/top floor at the back of the property, overlooking fields with horses and sheep and lovely distant views. The facilities are good for the price you pay, clean and comfortable rooms/beds/bathroom, including a tv and tea/coffee making facilities. We forgot our hairdryer but the receptionist happily provided one. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buttonbonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sourton
9.2 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
3.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
259 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross

Address: Sourton Cross | Okehampton, Sourton EX20 4LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sourton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sourton
Price Range: £37 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross 2*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross Hotel Sourton
Travelodge Sourton
Travel Lodge Sourton
Sourton Travelodge
Sourton Travel Lodge
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing